We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Richmond hotels

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
61%
Ranked #32 of 82 hotels in Richmond
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (477)
  • Photos (77)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    145
    120
    43
    34
See reviews for
126
92
42
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Chantilly, VA, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel is fine, but no self parking, only expensive valet available at the hotel property. The only other parking for guests, is on your own on the urban streets around the hotel in Richmond. For this reason I would not go back to this property again. I lost sleep that night worrying about my car parked on the downtown street.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Al D, Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Doubletree Richmond. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that our parking options did not meet your expectations. I’m glad you liked our hotel otherwise. We value you as our guest and hope you will return for another visit. Thank you again for writing. Sincerely, Toni Pinto, General Manager More

VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

While our room was pleasant enough, the bathroom was so small it was difficult to dry off after taking a shower. The hotel runs a shuttle within a 3-mile radius which is a nice feature but when we called, as instructed, to be picked up from the restaurant where we had dinner, the person on the phone was rude. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

raftmaster, Thank you for your review. It’s unfortunate to hear of your disappointment with your stay. We sincerely apologize for the frustrations you encountered with the shuttle service; this will be addressed and the comments will be used as a training topic. I can assure you that the only document we slip under the door is the hotel bill, anything... More

Dallas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Room accommodtions were not what was expected. Connecting with front desk was not always easy, at night. Needs to be more customer friendly. The repair staff was great, and the restaurant staff was great, however.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Gloria M, Thank you for writing a review. It’s unfortunate to hear that you did not have a satisfying stay with us. I appreciate your acknowledgement of our great maintenance and restaurant staff even though you did not find our accommodations and all service areas to meet your expectations. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team... More

Knightdale, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very clean rooms, but did not rate excellent because there was no microwave or small refrigerator in the room. This is very inconvenient for families, especially if you have children and need to store milk or snacks inside without them going bad. Also, you should be able to pay cash for your room and your credit card not be charged... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Nathaniel R, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’m glad you enjoyed the clean accommodations and apologize for the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations. We always appreciate hearing from our guests on both positive feedback and opportunities for improving our guest experience. Thanks again for your feedback,... More

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I would tell anyone looking for a place to stay to steer clear. This hotel is comparable to a Motel 8 in all ways other than the price. Make sure you plan an extra $50 a night when booking, as nothing is included in your stay. There is an expectation when choosing the Hilton brand. This in fact is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Asd1134, Thank you for your review. It’s unfortunate to hear of your unhappiness with your stay. We sincerely apologize that we were not able to provide you with the exceptional stay that you’ve come to expect from us. Your feedback provides opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value you as our guest and hope you will give us another... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Decent hotel for the price, but we didn't have a vehicle which made exploring Richmond quite difficult. Taxis are few and far between - the front desk had to call numerous companies before finding us one - and the bus system is quite poor. The area immediately around the hotel is a bit shabby and the more tourist-friendly areas were... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Colleen R, Thank you for your review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us at Doubetree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’m sorry to hear that the transportation accommodations did not meet your expectations for exploring Richmond. Our hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to nearby restaurants and attractions that are located within a 3 mile radius of our hotel. I... More

Clinton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great hotel, found it on priceline. Clean and comfortable rooms, very well-maintained. Staff was also very helpful and friendly. Satisfactory in every way, and a good value for the rate through priceline. Check-in was relatively quick, even though we had a rather large group checking in for a work conference. Limited parking and no "free" breakfast were the only down-side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Marcia B, Thank you taking the time to share your experience with us at Doubetree Historic Richmond. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, our comfortable accommodations, as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate you and your large group choosing to stay with us while attending a conference, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for... More

Oakland, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Rude staff and less than par rooms. Definitely not worth the money. Drain was clogged and instead of offering us a new room they sent a maintenance person over to interrupt us for 15 minutes while he put draino down the drain. STILL WAS CLOGGED the next day and when it was reported i got an apology. Thanks for nothing!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Meagan R, Thank you for your review. I’m very sorry to hear that we did not provide you with the exceptional service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the unresolved maintenance issue you encountered during your visit. We’re working with our maintenance team to ensure this situation doesn't happen again. We appreciate your... More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant waiter Marlin was wonderful and the bar staff was extremely accommodating and professional. We received excellent service. Also the front desk staff was wonderful and understood our frustration with the lack of hot water on Sunday, May 26. Everyone was extremely professional and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

A TripAdvisor Member, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Historic Richmond. I’m pleased to hear you felt well taken care of by our staff during your visit. I’ll be certain to recognize Marlin and the front desk staff for their professionalism and excellence in service. We appreciate your business and hope to see... More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I visited Richmond to attend a friend's retirement reception. I was extremely pleased with the service and the location as I was able to walk to some wonderful restaurants and pubs. The hotel is close to the VCU campus and was the place where the reception was held. I know I will return to Richmond again soon and I will... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

A TripAdvisor Member, We appreciate you selecting Doubletree Richmond Downtown while attending a friend’s retirement reception. We’re pleased to know that our excellent service and central location exceeded your expectations. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest in the near future. Thank you again for writing. Sincerely,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Richmond with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#24 Business Hotel in Richmond
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
230

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer