We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 81 Richmond hotels

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
61%
Ranked #28 of 81 hotels in Richmond
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013
Robert W Alexandria, United States
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    113
    95
    32
    30
See reviews for
93
77
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My overall experience was terrible and upsetting for the $ I paid to stay there. Horrible and you should be ashamed! The rooms were dirty and the lights did not work. When reported I had to call again after 10 hrs when I returned. Chip the van driver was the best!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Richanda K, Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room did not meet our excellence in service. We are addressing this issue with our housekeeping staff inorder to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again so we can win you over with our... More

Alexandria, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We used HH points for a one night stay during VCU orientation for our daughter. Room was large, clean, and the bed was awesome. Drinks at the bar were good but on the pricy side. Overall, a great hotel with a great location.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Robert W, Thank you for sharing your feedback about Doubletree Historic Richmond experience. We appreciate you selecting our hotel while attending your daughter’s VCU orientation, and we’re glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay. Your feedback is important to us so we’re happy to hear from you. Thanks again for writing. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Toni... More

Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It was a great hotel and service was excellent, they even gave you cookies. The rooms however were very bad. We had stains on our sheets, the toilet was broken, and there weren't enough outlets. The location was perfect though

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

ilikevacations24, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your complimentary feedback on our great hotel and excellent service. I’m glad you found our location perfect for your travels. It’s unfortunate to hear of the issues you encountered in your room. I have addressed these items with our housekeeping and maintenance staff. We will make improvements to provide a more positive... More

United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I don't want to share my experience with TripAdvisor, however the website won't allow me to skip the step without completing all the fields. And it says that I have to have 200 characters minimum. This is absolutely ridiculous!!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Leslie R, We appreciate you taking the time to complete the survey and apologize that the system does not enable you to skip to the next step without completing a review. Your feedback is important to us. We value you as our guest and hope you'll visit us again soon. Thank you again. Sincerely, Toni Pinto, General Manager More

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was my first time staying at Double Tree and I am happy to say that my friends and I will be comming back to stay from here on. Everything was wonderful. The staff, the restaurant, The room, accomadations. Everything was great!! I would deffinitly stay again and again.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

A TripAdvisor Member, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and writing a review about your experience. I’m pleased to hear that our hotel, service and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. Thank you again for writing. Sincerely, Toni Pinto, General Manager More

Washington, DC Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We did a spontaneous trip to Richmond and found a very affordable price for the Double Tree on Priceline. The Hotel is well located, the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff were super helpful and the shuttle service is great. The only areas that aren't great, is the bathrooms are very small (and when showering the floor gets a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

peacefulexplorer, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Historic Richmond. It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms as well as our friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback on opportunities for improving our guest experience. We value you as our guest and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to visit... More

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've stayed at many Doubletrees across the US and this property was probably the worst stay and did not reflect the high standards that I've come to expect at Hilton properties. For starters, valet and greeters did not even say Hi and I was little haggard after driving down from DC so that's not a good first impression. The carpets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

SmilingSteve4, Thank you for writing a review. I appreciate you acknowledging that our front desk associates were friendly and attentive and our accommodations comfortable. I’ll be certain to recognize Herb with a special commendation for his timely and friendly service. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us.... More

Woodbridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We called the desk to let them know the TV remote was not working. They said they would send someone to look at it. He was there in less than 8 min. What a shocker. The remote had dead batteries but he had a replacement remote with him. Is that cleaver or what. Then another time the toilet stopper desolved... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Beverley W, Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Doubletree Historic Richmond. It’s great to hear that our friendly staff exceeded your expectations with their excellence in service and quick response time. I’m glad they were able to add a little extra comfort to your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to... More

Bethesda, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was really a terrific experience. I was traveling solo for a conference and felt very comfortable there. The staff were exceptionally polite and professional, and helpful. The crab cakes in the hotel restaurant were also surprisingly delicious, and the sous chef even came out to deliver them personally. Bar was full of lots of kind of people, smiling... More

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Susan C, Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear you had a terrific experience and a comfortable stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’ll be certain to pass along your complimentary feedback to our team. We’re happy to have had you as our guest while attending a conference and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.... More

Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
27 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Visited there several times recently and was satisfied. Comfortable rooms. Helpful staff. Great view from its rooftop pool. Still it seems a little tired. Cookies were terrific. Higher floors were much less noisy from traffic. Free parking on the street was a bonus but just on weekends. Proximity to the historic Hotel Jefferson is great for ambiance and getting taxi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Robert B, Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us at Doubletree Hotel Historic Richmond. I’m pleased to hear that we have consistently provided a satisfying experience on your recent visits. We appreciate your patronage and kind comments about our comfortable rooms, helpful staff, and great location. Please plan to visit us again the next time you... More

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown

Also Known As:
Doubletree Richmond
Richmond Doubletree
Address: 301 West Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Richmond
#31 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Richmond Downtown is an excellent hotel in the heart of Richmond. Our hotel is the closest to the Va Commonwealth University campus, is near the historic business and financial districts and is within walking distance of the Commonwealth of Virginia Capitol building. Guests will enjoy our comfortable hotel lodgings including Sweet Dreams by Doubletree beds, seasonal roof-top pool, complimentary wireless internet, complimentary shuttle service within a three-mile radius, upscale dining at our 301 Franklin restaurant serving Southern-style delicacies & traditional favorites and on-site underground valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel - Richmond Downtown to your Saves list