We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
3.0 of 5
Hotel deals
Hotel website
501 E. Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Special Offer
Book now and save 25%
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Stas P Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    276
    86
    28
    10
See reviews for
193
165
47
365
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (873)
  • Mar-May only
    (262)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (197)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (202)
All months
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed there for a week visiting a conference. Most of all I value people who work at this venue. They are flexible, polite, try to fix any occurred problem, and have a good sense of humor. This is cool. Now, concerning what should be improved: - fitness center is super small, for max 2-3 persons, and the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Stas; Thank you for your stay and visit to Richmond and the USA. We appreciate your feedback and will address your points. I sent you a personal email to discuss a few comments. As mentioned we are actually renovating as we speak to grow to a full-service Hilton hotel by the fall. This will include the exercise room doubling,... More 

Franklin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I highly recommend the downtown Richmond, VA, Hilton Garden Inn. I recently attended an event at the Greater Richmond Convention Center and this hotel is just across the street! The staff were very friendly. Only (very minor) complaint is that the bathroom lighting is a little dim, especially for applying make-up.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jerri; Glad to hear you visited Richmond recently for a conference and stayed with us. We appreciate your stay and feedback. We'll need to review the lighting and / or provide some makeup mirrors as needed, great idea ! Sincerely, John Cario, GM More 

Chesapeake, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was in the perfect location - we walked to the graduation ceremony - only 1 block away and walked to dinner and lunch to the local restaurants - great location, great coffee/tea bar in the lobby, staff was terrific, the room was superb - would stay there again and would highly recommend this hotel

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

We thank you for your recent stay with us for the graduation. Glad to hear you found everything nearby and the hotel convenient for your stay. Hope to see you back soon ! John and team More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed in this hotel overnight on a business trip and overall I was impressed with my stay considering it is Richmond, Virginia. THE GOOD Super friendly and nice staff (front desk, valet, housekeepers) who went well out of their way to smile, answer questions, and greet me throughout my staff. Good location considering it is Richmond but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and comments to Tripadvisor. We appreciate the good and the info. noted, and I sent a personal note to find out more. As mentioned Richmond is continuing to add restaurants, shops, and more. We hope you come back and see the exciting growth in our city. Sincerely, John and team More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Hilton Garden Inn never disappoints. I recently stayed here while attending the Dominion Riverrock festival on Brown's island. The hotel is walking distance to Brown's Island and other restaurants. The rooms are always clean and the hotel always seems to be very busy with weddings! They are starting renovations soon to upgrade the hotel to a Hilton too! Can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you only staying with us !! Thanks for your visit, and we'll share the great review with our team, and continue to ensure all our guests are loyal fans like you. Sincerely, John - GM More 

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Richmond is everything you'd hope to find at a Hilton establishment and more. The presentation of everything was class, but with a healthy dose of friendliness you don't always find in nicer hotels. The staff makes it a point to acknowledge their guests even in passing, and you get the feeling they are truly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Maria; We appreciate your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. Yes, we are in the renovation process and I was glad to learn you were not inconvenienced in any way during your stay. We'll share your feedback with the team, and hope to see you back soon. John and team. More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room, conditions and food are to be expected in a Hilton brand However the exceptional customer service goes above and beyond from each staff member, not just one or two but from each one, Everyone seems to be picked due to their customer service standards the time spent helping me find a driver for a trip was appreciated, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sharyn; Thank you for your visit and feedback. I also enjoyed your wonderful voicemail you left for me regarding your wonderful stay with us. I was glad to learn you met many of our wonderful associates delivering the "light and warmth of hospitality". I shared your voice mail, and this posting with the team. Safe travels, and we hope... More 

Elon College, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would give 3.5 stars if I could based on the banging noise garbage trucks and buses we heard starting at 6am. Avoid room 304!! The hotel rates higher because it's a great location, friendly staff and a shuttle service that drove us around. The website clearly says $23 so no surprises. Just pay it. They were very fast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sherrie; Thanks for your recent stay and post to Tripadvisor. We appreciate the positive comments, however noted you were awakened by the "sounds of the city". We do have interior rooms that buffer the city noises for your next visit, let us know ! We hope to see you back soon. Sincerely, John Cario General Manager More 

Richmond, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We live about an hour away from Downtown Richmond. Occasionally, the wife and I like to attend a show at one of Richmond's many entertainment venues, and "live it up" by spending the night out. We will never stay anywhere other than the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Richmond. The location is central to many of the venues and restaurants in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jimmy M, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Carl, We love Downtown Richmond too! I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope you return soon to visit the venues that Downtown Richmond has to offer. More 

Richmond, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel. This is the 3rd time for us at this facility. My only complaint was the price of the room...is was graduation at VCU and the prices were higher. In to pick up our student for summer break and we spent over $600 for the stay.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
tripdbl, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Yolando; Yes, graduation / move out time is a very busy time in the area, as well other groups and events were in town as well. Similar to most college towns for graduation, our rates do fluctuate according to these market conditions and supply and demand, similar to the airlines. I would advise to plan ahead if able (I... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Valet parking(17)
  • Very nice(14)
  • Convention center(5)
  • Room service(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (137)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities