We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

3.0 of 5 3207 North Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
27
8
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In room 205 I noticed a bug bite on my finger and upon closer inspection of the bed I caught three bed bugs. When I called the front desk they did not seem at all surprised. When I asked to speak with the hotel manager I was told that he is out of the country and would be back in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

sun c: We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our property. On behalf of the Clarion Hotel, I would like to apologize for your experience during your stay at our hotel. We have refunded hotels.com for your stay and hope they have given you a full refund. Regarding the incident in question, the room was immediately taken off... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to change room since we found a bug in the bed. where we were located the rooms were noisy. Not a pleasant expérience. We are not going to use the Clarion hôtels again, my wife says that it was a very bad expérience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. On behalf of the Clarion Hotel, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay at our facility. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We do take every complaint seriously. We have addressed the... More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I got to the hotel, I was told I had a room for two queen beds. I always book King, so I requested a king. The manager on duty, Shawn, told me it would be an extra $10. I told him it was a mistake, as the rate is the same one I've had for dozens of other stays... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shawn T, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, here we do not upgrade guests to higher priced rooms at no additional charge, even to our platinum guests. That particular night, our king bed rooms were $10 more than our two queen bed rooms. You were more than welcome to stay in the room type you booked or pay the additional charge for... More 

Midway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel while in town with my family for the VA Comicon. Hotel was very clean, and staff was friendly and helpful! Onsite Nacho Mama's Mexican Bar and Grill was very good Also. Great experience at this hotel, would stay there again. Price fit our budget perfectly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review for out hotel. We really appreciate it and hope to have you here again soon. More 

Vienna, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The hotel itself is very nice. Everything I would expect even in a Hampton Inn (except for the breakfast), but about $50 per night less expensive. Very clean, high quality decor, excellent bed and bedding, nice flatscreen and free wify. There is a Mexican restaurant connected to the hotel, whose food was mediocre when I stayed. The location of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I understand the area can look scary at times, but it is pretty safe. We hope to see you again here soon. More 

Hopewell, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

My stay was for a night out of drinking and clubbing with friends, and not having to drive more than 30 miles home. Once I was in my room everything was fine. Room was clean , very basic, TV didn't work . ( they fixed that, someone took the HDMI cable). Outside did not feel safe. Bad smells everywhere .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the TV missing a cable, but I'm glad we were able to correct the situation in a timely matter. The smell comes from our hydraulic elevator. I do apologize. We are hoping to get that corrected. We do hope to see you again whenever you are back in town. More 

Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights here & they were the longest nights ever. From the moment we got to check in I wanted to leave, but as we prepaid we had to stay. Most unhelpful , rude, couldn't care less attitude from the man who checked us in. Didn't tell us the way to our room had to find it ourselves. When... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

We do apologize for your experience at our hotel. We have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We had to switch rooms due to poor Internet access. (Had to work remotely). When we got to our room on Tues. Morning there was a tray of left over uncovered food in front of the room we were reassigned to. Wed. morning still there. We got in Wed. night and STILL there. In our room we left a convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

We apologize for what happened during your stay at our hotel. It is the responsibility of the restaurant to remove room service trays when guests are done. We do not have a Sean that works at the desk, but we have discussed this review with the associate that was working that night as well. I have taken this review to... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I can barely begin to explain how dissatisfied we were with our stay at the Clarion (VA418). We had qualms about the overall appearance of the site - poor job of covering years of grime, from the lobby to the room; the elevator didn’t work; the outside stairwell smelled like urine, despite obvious removal of the carpet; mold in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

We apologize for what happened during your last stay. Although we are not currently under renovations, we are constantly trying to improve our hotel's appearance, cleanliness, and guest service. Reviews like this lets us know what areas we need to focus on, and is really appreciated. I do hope your card was credited. If it has not, please call the... More 

Massanutten, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

It was the weekend of a NASCAR race, so I paid a premium for the room - which had no shampoo or bath towels. If there was another hotel close to my daughter's house, I would definitely use it instead of this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shawn T, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Richmond Central, responded to this review

I apologize that the room was not fully stocked with all of our supplies at check in. Although that's not how it is normally at our hotel, it can happen from time to time on extremely busy weekends such as NASCAR weekend. Late check-outs and early check-ins usually cause guests to check in before housekeeping has had a chance to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Address: 3207 North Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Richmond Central 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Richmond Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond
Central Holiday Inn

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay