We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

#30 of 84 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
4303 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    45
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
55
22
18
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (177)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, the hotel is clean and comfortable. The service courteous. But that's were our satisfaction ended. We arrived at 9:00 p.m. after driving for nearly three hours. We were tired. We used our GPS to find lodging. So to be fair we did not have a reservation. There were four hotels at the exit. We first went to the Hampton... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nj
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

decent place. right off 95 so pretty noisy outside. one light was flickering and the tv was fuzzy and kept flickering off, didn't realize until we were in bed that the ac did not work and was blowing hot air. too late at night to ask for another room or have the unit serviced. But these are the kind of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear jerseyguy27, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sincerely sorry for the unusual condition of the AC unit in the room you received. We take comments such as these very seriously and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message to obtain more information. Again, thank you for... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

This is the hotel that the VA uses for lodging veterans who are in town for medical appointments, as was the case with my wife and me. The hotel is in need of a remodel...while it was clean, it could use some fresh paint, new rugs and some better lighting. Definitely need some new, firmer mattresses...I have a bad back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear Matt G, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with u. We are glad to know that you appreciated the service provided by our friendly staff. However, We would like to apologize if our hotel was not able to meet your expectations. Your suggestions are actually good specifically with our interior condition and mattress that is... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Tried two different rooms, they both had a terrible musty odor, probably caused by humidity because they do not run the air conditioners when the room is unoccupied. Horrible smell. I would not return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear Penpen89, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room condition. We will address these concerns. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We... More 

Nuneaton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

We have stayed in three holiday inns so far on this holiday in the USA and we have been disappointed with all of them. This hotel like the others is due a refurbishment. The room we had was uninviting. The colour scheme was bland, the lighting levels low and the bathroom was particularly dark and generally dreary. The house keeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear sevvynuneaton, Thank you for your time in writing feedback about your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations however it is with regret to read that we did not deliver based on your expectations on this occasion due to the refurbishments on going. Your valuable input has been noted and will be addressed... More 

Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Traveling home from Florida with family. Got a good price on Hotwire. The place is clean. It has a restaurant attached. Pretty upset that there is no complimentary breakfast and the pool is outdoor. Average hotel for this price range with les amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear Dale P, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously.... More 

Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Upon check in the clerk refused to honor the rate that had already been approved with our travel agent. When I asked to speak to a manager she told me there wasn't one on duty, so I asked her to call one. She did, but before handing the phone to me she told the manager I was being "irate and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear WorkTraveler480, Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience. Regards, Karen C Case Manager IHGCare More 

Brooklyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This hotel is located right off of I95 in Virginia. The person who checked us in was professional, courteous and pleasant. The room was clean spacious and had a microwave coffeemaker and a small refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size and was supplied with enough titles for two people. The best thing I like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I stay in Richmond regularly, and usually stay at the Hampton Inn across the street. I thought I would give the Holiday Inn a try. I will be returning to the Hampton Inn as quickly as possible. In terms of the hotel itself, it's fine. There are a few "attention-to-detail" issues. The shower head did that thing where it sprayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review

Dear stbass, Firstly let me offer my sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to... More 

McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Very nice Holiday Inn, right off of 95, a few exits south of downtown Richmond. The rooms are up to date with newer furnishings. Very clean and comfortable. An above average mid-range hotel, great night's rest and place to stay for a reasonable price. About 10 minutes from downtown Richmond, as well as 10 minutes from other major shopping areas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (172)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (64)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#24 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond Northwest I-64
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - Richmond
Candlewood Suites - Richmond
#46 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Ready to book?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay