We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 82 Richmond hotels

Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
70%
Ranked #28 of 82 hotels in Richmond
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kristin M Windsor, Ontario, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (353)
  • Photos (66)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (98)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    132
    59
    30
    20
See reviews for
63
66
21
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

They said this is a 4 star hotel, well they lied! The place is dump, plain and simple. First, they put us in a room across from the service elevator and where the housekeepers prepared there carts. It was very noisy! The room had a smell that turned my stomach. I contacted the front desk to inform them, and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear SDJaebird, I sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I apologize that your experience was far from the standard that we have intended to provide. I would like a chance to talk to you further if possible and to right this wrong. This should not happen and at this moment is being tracked and corrected.... More

Windsor, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My experience at the Crowne Plaza was exceptional. It was a perfect venue for the conference and the customer service was exceptional. I was especially please when Amber the night manager went out of her way to return a parcel to me that I had left behind. I am so grateful for her diligence in making sure that parcel made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Kristin M.. thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback as you have returned from your most recent Conference. I believe spending an extended stay allows you a true feel for what our hotel offers. I will pass on your comments to Amber and her team as well. We hope you will have a chance to visit... More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a group of 6 stay at the Crowne in 3 different rooms. The level of this hotel basically reminds me of a hampton inn. The Room was clean, however the AC in my room didn't work well. It was putting out cold air, but it took all night to drop the room 2 degrees once the sun went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mathew, I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your valuable feedback from your group. I apologize that we did not provide the experience you deserve. I would love the chance to make this a much more positive experience. As you return to Richmond please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure your... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My recent experience at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown was non other than excellent. I am traveling a far distance and was just staying for the night but they exceeded my expectations. When I checked the bellman was waiting for my arrival waiting to get all my bags to the room. For $85 the room MUCH better than I thought.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear The Write Review, thank you for your review of our property and choosing the Crowne Plaza Richmond. We hope you will return when you will have a chance to stay longer and enjoy our hotel. More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night for business. I stayed in room 420 which had a "City View".... That means construction on a side street. The hotel was fair. The work out room is very small with a couple of treadmills and weights. The elevators are VERY SLOW. The breakfast buffet was included in my room rate and was really good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lori F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do receive many compliments on our breakfast and are glad that you enjoyed it., as well as the complimentary shuttle service. We continually strive to exceed guests expectations. On high occupancy dates, the elevators do experience higher traffic volume. Thank you for allowing us to host you while in Richmond. We sincerely hope to... More

Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was great and personal service and hospitality was outstanding, especially from the shuttle service which is the best I have ever encountered, especially from drivers Mr. Pete, Thomas, Ramone and Train. I strongly recommend this hotel for those who wish to stay downtown in historic Richmond.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lori F, Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for allowing us to serve you during your recent stay in Richmond. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality. We hope to see you again soon! More

Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is without a doubt, the best hotel experience I have ever had, and I mean from A to Z. Everything about this hotel screams professionalism and customer service. Check in was great, the room ( I stayed in a suite), was awesome...great view of the city. Breakfast at the in house restaurant was a welcome change from the run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Pierre D, thank you for taking the time to provide your review and feedback. Your remarks will be shared with our team today! Return soon to our Awesome Hotel! More

Lake Alfred, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Richmond is Rich in History but Crowne Plaza hit it big Althea. She is the kind of person you feel like you know and would stop by again just to see her. After along trip, she made us feel right at home and truly went above and beyond service (or maybe that is they way it should always be). We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Elisha S, thank you for your comments and feedback. We apologize for any issues with your room however thankful that Althea came to the rescue. We will share your comments with our team today and make sure that we acknowledge Althea's rescue! We hope that you return soon for a longer stay! More

Gilmanton, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon check in I was greeted with outstanding service by Althea F/D. She went out of her way to make sure my mistaken hotel reservation was moved and credited as well as provided me warm service which made me feel that I would very much like to stay at this hotel once again when I return to Richmond.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Mike M, thank you for you comments and input describing your recent stay. We will share your comments of Great Service! Thank you for choosing to stay with the Crowne Plaza as you return to Richmond. More

Baltimore, Md
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am a flight attendant for a major airline and this property is our crew hotel. I could go on and on about the wonderful staff at the bar/restaurant, the clean comfortable rooms, and the friendly shuttle drivers because all of that is true. But I'm not. Instead, I would like to sing the praises of the front desk staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear CaribbeanJunkee, this is how all stories should end! We sinerely thank you for sharing this wonderful feedback describing your experience with our hotel and employees. We are proud! Our Best Staff Ever will celebrate your return. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Richmond with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Style
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
298

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer