We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

#23 of 84 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    218
    177
    82
    42
    30
See reviews for
101
105
30
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (549)
  • Mar-May only
    (147)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (154)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (145)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Altavista, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although EVERYONE treated us like kings and queens, Hannah, in the restaurant, went out of her way to make sure that we were well taken care of. Going to the front desk to get information for us; getting biscuits and gravy off of the buffet (after it had shut down) for my son; remembering what we liked from the morning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Checkin was unremarkable. FIVE stars to their drivers--very polite, friendly and were super prompt!!! Also FIVE plus stars to Daniel Warren who delivered drinks to us when the pool room was super hot--what an incredible surprise!!! Really made our stay a delight! Pool was closed, but woman at the front desk went above and beyond to call the engineer to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you MerVirginia for staying with our hotel and for providing your feedback. Daniel will be delighted to hear your comments that you had A GREAT one night Stay!. Please plan another stay soon. More 

Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely views from the room of Richmond. Comfortable room amenities, I stayed with my family though on this business visit. Nice spread available in the breakfast cafe, attentive staff took great care of our needs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Ajayk23 for your feedback and comments in review of your recent stay. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Our attentive is wishing you a safe trip and hoping your return will be soon. More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off the doors to the rooms do NOT latch automatically when door is shut! This was beyond unsafe!!! We saw several OPEN (cracked) doors in the early AM when checking out, of people who most-likely thought they were safely locked in their rooms!!! Beware!!! Secondly, when checking in, the front desk worker informed us about the breakfast buffet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie K, thank you for providing your valuable feedback. I apologize that the door to your room did not close and lock correctly. Thank you for communicating the need for repair and resurfacing. This will be accomplished today. To offer a safe environment is our number one priority. I would like to communicate directly to address your experience if... More 

Highland park nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We drove our daughter to VCU checking in dorm. Surely we needed a place to rest after the exhausting trip. The hotel is 3 min drive from VCU and very easy to find st parking on Saturdays. The room is nice and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi was located in a strange place next to the elevators. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Irene for providing your feedback concerning your recent visit. We are changing our pool restroom to a family option that will be finalized very soon and I apologize that our new signage has yet to arrived. I will pass along your self serve idea to our Food and Beverage director and I know he will appreciate the input.... More 

Scaggsville, MD (really!)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent an excellent week at this hotel. The room was nice, the breakfast was fine... But, what really stood out was a service they have where they will drive you to locations within two miles of the hotel. We took their shuttle to Redskins training camp, a local cider making place, and a nice restaurant. The drivers were outstanding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello ScaggsvilleScott, our hotel valet and shuttle team will be excited to hear your Five Star review. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are hoping to see you soon. More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good: parking setup, convenience to highway, proximity to Capital Ale House, mostly nice staff, interior is kept up nicely, room was nice. I picked this hotel because of its location and decent guest parking setup for downtown ($15 per day, self enter/exit with room key). However, my main complaint, which will unfortunately prevent me from staying here again, is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear MarkB, my sincere thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Today we are researching your issue with our provider. I apologize that you had to deal with such a frustrating experience. I will work hard to resolve. Again thank you. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Crowne Plaza you have it ALL! GREAT customer service, great dining options, breakfast is awesome, great bar, great location. I especially loved the complimentary relaxation/sleep package. I couldn't ask for a better overall experience. Consistent display of Southern Charm. I was in town for the Richmond Jazz Festival and this weekend has gone down as one for the records thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dvaden1984, Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Deidre B for picking our hotel to stay in Richmond. We are glad you had a great experience of our property and thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay while you attended the Jazz Festival. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Richmond. More 

Covington, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited your hotel for business on Aug 4th and the service I experienced was awesome ! my room was comfortable . the staff was warm and friendly especially Ms Wanda who works the evening shift she went out of her way to make should my needs were meet.We talked about our favor t.v shows and our familes i was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dvaden1984, Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Kennard69 for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay. We are glad our staff was able to accommodate your needs while you visited Richmond. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. More 

Durham, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a wedding that was held there. Room that we checked in to was lovely. Until we wanted to watch tv. The tv did not work. Tried everything we could possibly think of to fix the situation, nothing. Called front desk. The representative spoke as if we were 2 versus in 25+. She then sends... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dvaden1984, Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear laurenluvzu2, Thank you for your feedback and comments concerning your recent stay with our property. I want to apologize again for your experience you had with us during your stay. We are happy that our manager on duty was able to be accommodating and compensate you while you were here during your stay. We will address these issues and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

215 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (139)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond
Omni Richmond
#6 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#13 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#16 of 84 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay