We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jefferson Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Offers & Announcements
The Art of the Flower
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jefferson Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jefferson Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

836 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    614
    144
    51
    15
    12
See reviews for
149
376
34
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (836)
  • Mar-May only
    (221)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (221)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (174)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (220)
All months
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our third time staying at the Jefferson and it seems to get better each time. The hotel is under renovation and apparently has a year to go. To date about 2/3 of the rooms have been renovated. Eventually there will be fewer rooms but all will be larger with more amenities. We had one of the renovated rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night when my flight was cancelled out of Richmond. Hotel is expensive, but worth every penny. Staff was wonderful, not hurried, answered all my queries. Room was very spacious, impeccably clean, with television in mirror in bathroom. Separate dressing area and walk in closet were lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Jefferson when you flight was cancelled. We hope that you'll return for a longer stay during your next visit to Richmond. More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a beautiful hotel and they seem to be bringing the charm back. At the amount of money spent I was disappointed I did not get a renovated room. So a suggestion: even in renovation times, the old rooms should be kept up with a fresh coat of paint and clean lampshades. We were in town for a wedding weekend.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service that our team provided and many of the aspects of your stay. Please do accept our apologies that the traditional room in which you stayed was disappointing. As you noted, we are currently renovating all of our guest rooms. A portion of those have been completed... More 

Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Jefferson is distinctly elegant and a perfect spot for romance. Don't miss out on the Sunday brunch it is to die for! Rooms are of the highest quality and the staff is there to meet your every need. The grounds are lush and the restaurants upscale.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. More 

Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We knew we were going to stay here if ever in Richmond and we were not disappointed. The room we had was renovated and extremely comfortable-big- bright and oozing with old world charm. The bathroom was huge and had all the accoutrements. The service was 5 star...everyone we met was wonderful.... especially Hannah, our concierge. This is the place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your stay in Richmond! More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend with a friend. Both of us enjoy staying at nicer hotels, so we picked this one, known for it's history. When we arrived, they were serving traditional afternoon tea, it was quite the sight! I did learn that reservations must be made in advance, but the fact that this is an option, was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you'll visit again soon to enjoy afternoon tea. Thank you for sharing a review! More 

Fredericksburg, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the bellman who opens your car door to he front desk, service is friendly and efficient. Left something in my car - no problem car was back immediately. I stayed in a newly renovated room large enough for 6. I had requested a room with walk-in shower when making my reservation and there was no problem as I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! More 

Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Time has not always been a friend to this grand old hotel but alas this time the The renovations are for real.....very well done, comfortable with out being over the top or beyond the reach of your wallet. Get any one of the newly renovated rooms, with new marble baths, great bedding, flat screens with real channels, free wifi....and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding our newly renovated rooms. We are so glad that you enjoyed your accommodations and your dinner in Lemaire. Thank you for also mentioning the return of your wife's shawl. We are always happy to reunite lost items with their owners! More 

Cham, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Jefferson has a great pedigree and reputation and that is why we chose to stay there during our civil war tour of Richmond. We stayed for two days and on arrival we noticed that half of the hotel was undergoing serious renovation. We had two adjoining rooms which were spacious and well appointed - all the usual boxes for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay and your review. We apologize again that you and your family had to change rooms but are so glad that our engineering team was able to find new rooms that you enjoyed. We hope that you will return again soon to enjoy the newly renovated rooms! More 

Shenandoah, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So this hotel used to be amazing. It has lost a lot of it's charm. It went from amazing to barely special. The service is great. If you drive an exotic car like a Maserati (like I do) make sure you call the security so that it does not be placed in a dark part of the parking lot. Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (188)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
1:49
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay