We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Acres Retreat

4032 RR 3232, Johnson City, TX 78636
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Acres Retreat
Management photos View all
Hillside Acres Retreat
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just have to say we had an incredible time here at Hillside Acres. Beautiful cabins with so many tun things to do within 30 miles. Two days wasn't enough time to really take advantage of what they have to offer. Most definately will be back again. Bruce and Michelle

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Outstanding! We rented all 6 cabins for a family weekend and all of our family members couldn't stop raving how wonderful Hillside Acres is. We are planning another family vacation for 2015! Kim was wonderful and had everything spotless when we arrived. All the comforts of home for just a few more bucks than a hotel.. Well worth the money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bryan, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We rented all 7 cabins for the grooms side of the family to stay the night before and the night of the wedding which was held in nearby Dripping Springs. Since the rehearsal was in the morning Friday and there was a rehearsal lunch for those involved immediately after, i needed a place to cook for the entire family Fri.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed our retreat for your son's wedding weekend. Your family seemed like a lot of fun, and we loved seeing the organized games that the bridesmaids and groomsmen were playing. I bet you all got some great photos that weekend! Thanks, and you are welcome back any time! More 

Succasunna, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We took a trip to Texas for the first time and spent a few days at the Hillside Acres Retreat. This place was truly amazing. The cabins were first class in every way. They were spotless, comfortable and beautifully rustic. They were designed with the smallest details considered to making our stay very comfortable and relaxing. The grounds were kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Owner at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Sounds like you got to experience all that the Hill Country has to offer! Please come back and visit us again. More 

Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Quiet, clean cabins. If you like to eat in or cook, the owner has thought of everything. There are even plastic baggies, aluminum foil, coffee, tea, basic spices, etc. A little far if from Fredricksburg, if you are planning on visiting, but close to to plenty of Hill Country attractions. Cell service is spotty at best, which might be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

We are glad you found our kitchens well-stocked. We do try and make sure our guests have all of the comforts of home with the luxury of a hotel. Our chickens have a lot of room to roam, and we agree than the eggs are delicious. Please come visit us again and we appreciate the review. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Three family members stayed in a Hillside Acres cabin in late October 2013. The cabins were extremely well equipped, we cooked and enjoyed several meals there. We also enjoyed cocktails, snacks, and sunset on the pool deck--too bad it was too cool to swim. We played frisbee golf, a real hoot. From Hillside we visited Pedernales Falls State Park, several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Well thank you very kindly for your nice review. i love that you included local area attractions. It helps our potential guests have an idea of some things to do in the area. Please do come back... maybe next time during warmer weather, so you can enjoy the pool. We also now have 2 full-size bocce ball courts! More 

San Marcos, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We rented the whole property and spent close to $3000... The property was beautiful, the cabins were nice! Unfortunately, the customer service is non existent. There were several controllable items that we brought to the attention of the owner and they refused to rectify the issues... I never write reviews, but I am so surprised by the lack of concern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the property and cabins overall, and would like to address some of the specific issues you have brought up. Our goal is to provide service levels beyond our guests’ expectations, and we had hoped to hear from you personally. We have hosted many wedding groups, and receive lots of compliments. Most groups love... More 

lees summit, mo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

There are six cabins. The cabins are quite new and well equipped. They have tv dishwasher full kitchen coffee makers etc. There is frisbee golf, fishing, fire pit, lots of games around and a really nice pool area. If you are looking to relax this is a great place. The owners live near but not usually around after say 3.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We really appreciate it. Well-equipped, relaxing, and clean cabins is our goal... good to know that was your experience! We hope you can make it back to see us again. We have added 2 full-size bocce ball courts as a new on-site amenity. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved it and would love to come back with a group. The grounds are still bring improved with a large pavilion in construction. The cabins were well-stocked and very new/clean with every item you would need. Be sure to bring your own food. A large area is available to grill. We practically didn't know others were here. Quiet, peaceful,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

"Quiet, peaceful slice of heaven"- Well, thank you so much! When you come back with a group, make sure to mention you have stayed with us before. We would love to have you join us again! More 

Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My family rented all 6 cabins for the weekend. Lets start off with how beautiful the cabins are! The inside is awesome. The wood floors, walls...beautiful! We were in cabin 4. All the cabins are 2 bedroom, 1 bath. The bathroom is broken into a shower w sink, a toilet w sink, and then a larger area w sink. Sine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to utilize the entire facility. The bathrooms are specifically designed with our guests in mind. Unlike a typical hotel bathroom, they are split up so that more than 1 person can use them with privacy. It is true that in the hill country, the cell phone service... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillside Acres Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Acres Retreat

Address: 4032 RR 3232, Johnson City, TX 78636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Hillside Acres Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hillside Acres Retreat

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby