We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Acres Retreat

Hotel website
4032 RR 3232, Johnson City, TX 78636
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside Acres Retreat
Management photos View all
Hillside Acres Retreat
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Justin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights as part of a hiking weekend. This place was unbelievable; the attention to the smallest details was so evident. Extra blankets, flashlights, carts to help transport baggage, toothbrushes, dishes, trash bags, night lights, just to name a very few. The cabin (#1) was immaculate, and designed very efficiently, especially the bathroom/vanity area. Two suggestions: the front steps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

Stayed at this place over Christmas break. The cabin was exact what was shown in the pictures on their website. My daughter and I had the opportunity to hike up the hill. The view of the property and surrounding areas were breathtaking. Although my daughter is young but we enjoyed the outside games on the property. The owners were extremely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Hillside Acres Retreat! Thanks for posting photos of your vacation as well! More 

College Station, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Just have to say we had an incredible time here at Hillside Acres. Beautiful cabins with so many tun things to do within 30 miles. Two days wasn't enough time to really take advantage of what they have to offer. Most definately will be back again. Bruce and Michelle

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Bruce and Michelle! We hope to see you again soon in the new year! More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

Outstanding! We rented all 6 cabins for a family weekend and all of our family members couldn't stop raving how wonderful Hillside Acres is. We are planning another family vacation for 2015! Kim was wonderful and had everything spotless when we arrived. All the comforts of home for just a few more bucks than a hotel.. Well worth the money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Hillside Acres Retreat. It speaks volumes when people enjoy their time so much that they start planning their next vacation right away. Your family was a pleasure to work with, and I hope to see you all again soon! More 

Bryan, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We rented all 7 cabins for the grooms side of the family to stay the night before and the night of the wedding which was held in nearby Dripping Springs. Since the rehearsal was in the morning Friday and there was a rehearsal lunch for those involved immediately after, i needed a place to cook for the entire family Fri.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed our retreat for your son's wedding weekend. Your family seemed like a lot of fun, and we loved seeing the organized games that the bridesmaids and groomsmen were playing. I bet you all got some great photos that weekend! Thanks, and you are welcome back any time! More 

Succasunna, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We took a trip to Texas for the first time and spent a few days at the Hillside Acres Retreat. This place was truly amazing. The cabins were first class in every way. They were spotless, comfortable and beautifully rustic. They were designed with the smallest details considered to making our stay very comfortable and relaxing. The grounds were kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Owner at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Sounds like you got to experience all that the Hill Country has to offer! Please come back and visit us again. More 

Harlingen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Quiet, clean cabins. If you like to eat in or cook, the owner has thought of everything. There are even plastic baggies, aluminum foil, coffee, tea, basic spices, etc. A little far if from Fredricksburg, if you are planning on visiting, but close to to plenty of Hill Country attractions. Cell service is spotty at best, which might be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

We are glad you found our kitchens well-stocked. We do try and make sure our guests have all of the comforts of home with the luxury of a hotel. Our chickens have a lot of room to roam, and we agree than the eggs are delicious. Please come visit us again and we appreciate the review. More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Three family members stayed in a Hillside Acres cabin in late October 2013. The cabins were extremely well equipped, we cooked and enjoyed several meals there. We also enjoyed cocktails, snacks, and sunset on the pool deck--too bad it was too cool to swim. We played frisbee golf, a real hoot. From Hillside we visited Pedernales Falls State Park, several... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Well thank you very kindly for your nice review. i love that you included local area attractions. It helps our potential guests have an idea of some things to do in the area. Please do come back... maybe next time during warmer weather, so you can enjoy the pool. We also now have 2 full-size bocce ball courts! More 

San Marcos, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We rented the whole property and spent close to $3000... The property was beautiful, the cabins were nice! Unfortunately, the customer service is non existent. There were several controllable items that we brought to the attention of the owner and they refused to rectify the issues... I never write reviews, but I am so surprised by the lack of concern... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the property and cabins overall, and would like to address some of the specific issues you have brought up. Our goal is to provide service levels beyond our guests’ expectations, and we had hoped to hear from you personally. We have hosted many wedding groups, and receive lots of compliments. Most groups love... More 

lees summit, mo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

There are six cabins. The cabins are quite new and well equipped. They have tv dishwasher full kitchen coffee makers etc. There is frisbee golf, fishing, fire pit, lots of games around and a really nice pool area. If you are looking to relax this is a great place. The owners live near but not usually around after say 3.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
micyer, Guest Relations Manager at Hillside Acres Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We really appreciate it. Well-equipped, relaxing, and clean cabins is our goal... good to know that was your experience! We hope you can make it back to see us again. We have added 2 full-size bocce ball courts as a new on-site amenity. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question