We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Cala Gonone hotels

Hotel Smeraldo

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   viale Bue Marino 9, Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Smeraldo to your Saves list
Hotel Smeraldo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
63%
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cala Gonone
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Ptotti Aarhus, Denmark
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    27
    14
    4
See reviews for
44
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are a family traveling with small children, this would be the place to be. There is activities and shows for them almost every evening during summertime. This of course makes a lot of noise both during the day and evening. So if you plan on using the pool, theres children every where. But then again, who wants to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just came back from 1 week in this hotel. The room was big and the price quite attractive (we had a combined package flight + hotel). The air conditionning and mini fridge were working fine. The pool area is very nice and there was always enough seats for everybody. People at the reception were always very friendly and happy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile reception at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review

Dear Mr Guest, Thank your for your review. Yes rooms are big and spacious and we have different services for our guests. The hotel has a structural problem with insonorisation and it is impossible to fix it. The 30,00 euro menu it is a that price because of the peak season, in fact, in August, all the prices go up,... More

Bologna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Me and my fiancée had an outstanding time in Cala Gonone thank to the Hotel Smeraldo; everybody has been so friendly and professional to us, from the lads at the Reception desk to the waiters/waitresses at the restaurant/bar. The swimming pool is tiny but clean and pretty, surrounded by a number of stunning trees; the closest beach is 10 mins... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice and reasonable hotel. Friendly staff, good wifi and nice pool area. The only drawbacks were the breakfast and the 20 minute walk to get downtown. Would still stay there again. Cala Gonone was also a very nice location. Rent a boat and check out the caves and cliffs along the coast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. the hotel itself is a bit 80's decorated but well maintained. We booked for 1 night and decided to stay for another night specially because of the help of the receptionists who helped us with the local attractions. The rooms are big but not fancy. the breakfast was good, although it seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel was good clean and tidy the staff were helpful and friendly the food was Italian which is what we wanted ( not mcdonalds ;-) ) to speak a small amount Italian in sardinia would be an advantage and the hotel staff were helpful with that. good all round

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
viborg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean and big with a nice balcony, the minibar was empty.We could hear almost everything from the neighboors. We did not Like the breakfast - but of course its a matter of taste. Service at the reception was very good, but very poor at the restaurant were we felt very bad treated - especially the first day, were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelSmeraldoGonone, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Smeraldo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment and we are sorry that you did not enjoy some parts of your stay at Hotel Smeraldo. Unfortunately last year, one of the manager of the restaurant left us early on the season and we did not manage to find a suitable alternative, therefore the restaurant was without a manager, but this year... More

Vilnius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I enjoyed staying at H.S. Location: not the heart of Cala Gonone, but it's o.k: just ~10 min of walking to downtown. Room: clean; I didn't ordered room with a see view, but I got it. Breakfast: really good.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice cozy rooms, very good pools (one pool was closed). Very close to the beach and some good restaurants. Liked the green room color, tile floors. Watch out for those topless sunbathers! This walls so dont paly the TV too loud!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We chose Sardinia for our honeymoon trip and it was great idea! Sardinia is the most beautiful island in Europe! Especially Cala Gonone coast! This hotel we chose for good price (100 EUR per night per room). The worst think is this hotel location...Cala Gonone resort is mountainous, so from the resort centre or beach You must go to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Smeraldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Smeraldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smeraldo

Address: viale Bue Marino 9, Cala Gonone, Dorgali, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Nuoro > Dorgali > Cala Gonone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smeraldo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Smeraldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smeraldo Cala Gonone, Sardinia, Italy

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cala Gonone with
any amenities