We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Cambridge B&Bs / inns

Lotus Place at Harvard

Save Saved
You added Lotus Place at Harvard to your Saves list
208 Prospect Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (6)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Lotus Place at Harvard
Ranked #15 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was very shocked to hear about all these mixed reviews on here. My friend and I loved this place! We were on the second floor and we had our own hallway, bathroom, t.v. We had a main room with the bigger bed and the t.v. and then a mini room with a separate bed. It was not noisy at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The title says it all. The family who manages the place lives right outside the door of the room and watched TV. The breakfast was the worst part. Refrigerated croissants. Old fruit. How about a nice hot pot of coffee. Make it yourself, but you need to clean the pot out first. When the we saw the ant in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Lotus Place guest house in early October during a half week visit to the schools around Cambridge/Boston area and had a positive experience. I was pleasantly surprised with the rate I got, it seemed that most of the lodgings around the area increased their rates during this time. The rate I got over the phone seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this B&B in Cambridge with Expedia, but unfortunately we did not read the reviews in Tripadvisor, what I normally do. The place was on a very heavy traffic street, so very, but very noisy. The room they gave us, was on the first floor, no view at all, dark, dirty, very badly and scarecly furnished. Worn out furniture,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the Lotus Place to be very noisy, as others have noted. It isn't only the street noise, which I can handle. It was noise from the floor above (dancing elephants?), noise from the host family below, and noise from the other two guest rooms-people coming and going and speaking in loud voices... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smerset
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is close to transportation. However, it's off a busy street, and next to some type of church, so it gets very loud and hardly a place to rest. Had a room on the first floor, you literally hear every sound of people coming and walking out. It's not a place I would recommend people to live when you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
208lotusplace, Manager at Lotus Place at Harvard, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, We are so sorry you had a unpleasant experience with us during your stay. We realize that Prospect st. is a busy street and that the room you were staying in, on the first floor and facing the street is the most susceptible to the street noise which can be quite distracting to a light sleeper. We wish... More

New Haven
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We called to ask about a reservation and told them specifically that we had two adults and two children. A young man told us there was a very small room into which we would fit, though it would be a little cramped. The main topic of the conversation was the need to accommodate the four people. Forty-five minutes later, when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
208lotusplace, Manager at Lotus Place at Harvard, responded to this review

Hello, It has always been our policy that our standard rooms (Lotus) never exceed more then 3 persons. When you originally called you stated the reservation was for 3 persons which we confirmed we could accommodate in our only available room left (Lotus) but warned it might be a little tight. After telling us you had to double check a... More

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had a very pleasant surprise in this bed and breakfast place. It is very conveniently located to the Harvard area (Central subway station), which is within reach even by foot. There is a grocery and a couple of restaurants nearby (e.g. a korean). The service is excellent, you can use the fridge and help yourself with the breakfast. You'll... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
beijing, china
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

came to Boston to visit friends and relatives and was very glad to have found this guest house! The cozy and warm rooms was such a comfort from the cold winter month. Met the owner, Amy a few times during my stay who was very warm and kind. She helped me with a lot of my question and suggestion of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lausanne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The owner Amy at the Lotus Hotel was really nice and helpful. The rooms were cozy and well furnished. The breakfast were good with fresh fruits and French croissants. You do have to prepare it yourself but the good side of it is that you can have breakfast (or a snack) whenever you want. It was really quiet and calm.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Lotus Place at Harvard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Lotus Place at Harvard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Place at Harvard

Address: 208 Prospect Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cambridge with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lotus Place at Harvard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer