We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lotus Place at Harvard

208 Prospect Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Lotus Place at Harvard
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
19
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Butte, Montana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location-simple bedroom and bath- nice breakfast room- has stairs so you have to be able to do stairs with your suitcase. A bit on the higher price side for a room this size but well worth it over Marathon Monday and Tuesday. During the rain used Uber for short rides to T station etc. WIFI was not strong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Decent location about 6 blocks from T between Harvard and MIT. When we arrived, the front entrance was littered with empty bottle and debris...not a good sign. We had the front room on the 1st floor facing the street with no view at all. The room was dark and poorly lighted. (The reading light above the bed did not work).The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I was very shocked to hear about all these mixed reviews on here. My friend and I loved this place! We were on the second floor and we had our own hallway, bathroom, t.v. We had a main room with the bigger bed and the t.v. and then a mini room with a separate bed. It was not noisy at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The title says it all. The family who manages the place lives right outside the door of the room and watched TV. The breakfast was the worst part. Refrigerated croissants. Old fruit. How about a nice hot pot of coffee. Make it yourself, but you need to clean the pot out first. When the we saw the ant in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at the Lotus Place guest house in early October during a half week visit to the schools around Cambridge/Boston area and had a positive experience. I was pleasantly surprised with the rate I got, it seemed that most of the lodgings around the area increased their rates during this time. The rate I got over the phone seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this B&B in Cambridge with Expedia, but unfortunately we did not read the reviews in Tripadvisor, what I normally do. The place was on a very heavy traffic street, so very, but very noisy. The room they gave us, was on the first floor, no view at all, dark, dirty, very badly and scarecly furnished. Worn out furniture,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the Lotus Place to be very noisy, as others have noted. It isn't only the street noise, which I can handle. It was noise from the floor above (dancing elephants?), noise from the host family below, and noise from the other two guest rooms-people coming and going and speaking in loud voices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smerset
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is close to transportation. However, it's off a busy street, and next to some type of church, so it gets very loud and hardly a place to rest. Had a room on the first floor, you literally hear every sound of people coming and walking out. It's not a place I would recommend people to live when you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
208lotusplace, Manager at Lotus Place at Harvard, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, We are so sorry you had a unpleasant experience with us during your stay. We realize that Prospect st. is a busy street and that the room you were staying in, on the first floor and facing the street is the most susceptible to the street noise which can be quite distracting to a light sleeper. We wish... More 

New Haven
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We called to ask about a reservation and told them specifically that we had two adults and two children. A young man told us there was a very small room into which we would fit, though it would be a little cramped. The main topic of the conversation was the need to accommodate the four people. Forty-five minutes later, when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
208lotusplace, Manager at Lotus Place at Harvard, responded to this review

Hello, It has always been our policy that our standard rooms (Lotus) never exceed more then 3 persons. When you originally called you stated the reservation was for 3 persons which we confirmed we could accommodate in our only available room left (Lotus) but warned it might be a little tight. After telling us you had to double check a... More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had a very pleasant surprise in this bed and breakfast place. It is very conveniently located to the Harvard area (Central subway station), which is within reach even by foot. There is a grocery and a couple of restaurants nearby (e.g. a korean). The service is excellent, you can use the fridge and help yourself with the breakfast. You'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities