We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Cambridge B&Bs / inns

A Cambridge House B & B Inn

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2218 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added A Cambridge House B & B Inn to your Saves list
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #10 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014
jlettin Camden, New Jersey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (70)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    11
    14
    6
See reviews for
16
26
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Camden, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here the week end of our wedding, leaving our house to family and enjoying a little quiet time and luxury for ourselves. They offer both traditional and contemporary rooms. Our traditional room was beautifully decorated and had every possible convenience (except no bathtub-- but great shower). Breakfast is in another lovely room and was very diverse and of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Conveniently located on the main road to downtown Cambridge, 10 minutes to the Porter Square T. Nice upper-scale grocery store across the street and walking distance to Frank's steakhouse. More a hotel than a family-run B&B. Breakfast is OK (although they don't serve any yogurt).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Concord, NH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I went to Cambridge/Somerville to see my cousin in a play in Davis Square, a ten-minute walk from the B&B (and Porter Square looks to be about the same going down Mass Ave). IDEAL LOCATION. We stayed in the contemporary building rather than the Victorian (where the very nice continental breakfast was laid out the next morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a few days here and I had no issues whatsoever during my stay. The rooms are a good value and very clean. I stayed in the part to the side and it was very quiet. I was most touched when my credit card was found by another guest after my departure and the owner immediately mailed it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I came from Asia, and I was surprised that the staffs who can speak Mandarin- that is very helpful for me- an international scholar who needs guidance about that region. The front desk staff did spend a great deal of time to help me determine the most inexpensive means to get to the Wrenthem shopping mall. I realize they do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked in to this B&B mindful of some of the reviews it had received especially in relation to the rudeness of one or more of the proprietors. We arrived after dark on a freezing evening, left at the driveway by our taxi. We knocked on the door and were 'welcomed' in by who I guess is one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Way overpriced for a tiny, poorly cleaned, stuffy room with no frig, very small TV, cheap amenities and abysmal cold breakfast offerings. Free parking and friendly desk clerks were the only redeeming features. Wouldn't stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACambridgeHouse, Manager at A Cambridge House B & B Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion. You did not mention when you stayed or which room you were in so it is difficult for us to determine the room you were not pleased with. A couple of our "contemporary" rooms are smaller than others, and yours may have been a last minute booking and a small room... More

NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Disappointed with accommodations and breakfast. Had a large odorous room in uninteresting contempo building. Tiny bath with poor water pressure and sink drainage. TV not much bigger than computer monitor. Breakfast was breads, pastries, and hard-boiled eggs, not much better than motel free breakfasts. No hot food or table service. Free parking earned one of the stars. Overpriced for what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ACambridgeHouse, Manager at A Cambridge House B & B Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review. We are sorry you were not happy with your room or the breakfast. As to the water pressure being low; it does happen from time-to-time if a number of rooms are using showers/baths at the same time and we do apologize for that. As far as the room... More

Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place was about a 7 min walk from the Davis metro or Porter Sq metro (on the Red T Line). Convenient from the airport as you grab the Silver Line to South Station on the Red line and can hop right up to Davis or Porter from there. Right across the street from an organic grocery store which happened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sierra Madre, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'll just be blunt here. My husband and I arrived about 7 pm after a day of travel from Los Angeles. Looked is expected from the outside, but one look inside the main rooms, followed by seeing the "traditional" room to which we were assigned, well, I came close to crying. We were booked for three nights. I can only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ACambridgeHouse, Manager at A Cambridge House B & B Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you were not at all happy with your room however, when you made the reservation with us in September you were told we had two buildings; one with Victorian decor and one with Contemporary decor. You selected a contemporary room. There are sample pictures of both our Victorian and Contemporary rooms on our site; our pictures are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage A Cambridge House B & B Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Address: 2218 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian offering fifteen rooms. Recently it added a few more hotel-style rooms in the next door property. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;