We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charles Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
1 Bennett St, Cambridge, MA 02138
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charles Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charles Hotel
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    203
    64
    35
    23
See reviews for
163
111
57
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (628)
  • Mar-May only
    (137)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (160)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (129)
All months
There are newer reviews for Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Elegant interiors. The suite is perfect for business interviews. Both Rialto and Henrietta's Table are great places to eat. Everything is close by- theatres, shopping, great restaurants. The red line is across the street and will take you to Park where you can change to another line.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Spent time at Harvard University an easy walk away. Very comfortable room and broadband access for work. No shortage of meal choices around Harvard Square. Will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Although The Charles has a great location, minutes from Harvard Square, the rooms are tiny and the prices are ridiculous. My tiny room with two double beds and one uncomfortable chair was $399 a night! The deadbolt, telephone, and lamp were out of order. There is no turndown service at night. The rooms are noisy and you can hear people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit to The Charles Hotel. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location in Harvard Square and complimentary wifi access. However, I’m sorry to hear that the rest of your experience did not meet your, or our, expectations. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of the entire Charles Hotel staff. I have... More 

Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I have stayed at the Charles now about 10 times for business and while I am always impressed by the surroundings, service, and food, what really impresses me is how gracious they are to my young children who often travel with me on business. Many hotels tolerate the presence of young children but at the Charles it feels genuine and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor. We're thrilled to hear that we've been able to make you, and your children, feel at home while visiting Harvard Square. If you haven't done so already, you'll have to take advantage of the kid's swimming hours, children's library, and board games (available from the front desk) during your next visit to... More 

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I was at the Charles Hotel for the first time for a business training. This was a first c;lass experience. It comes at a price but you get a value experience for the money. The rooms are beautiful, the bed is the most comfortable I've had in a hotel. The staff are terrific: friendly but effective and they take action... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your Charles Hotel experience on Tripadvisor. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, including our central location in Harvard Square, Wellbridge Athletic Club, award-winning restaurants, and room accommodations. I'll be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. If your travels bring you back to The Charles this Spring/Summer, you'll... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

As always, efficient, attentive friendly service, wonderful soft linens, a very cool TV in the bathroom mirror and steps from Harvard Square. . . what more could one want?

Was this review helpful? Yes
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear travelmomadventure, We couldn't be more proud to be called your "home away from home". Thank you for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles Hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly at estefan@charleshotel.com if you need any help with reservations or additional information. Thank you, ~Elizabeth Stefan E-Marketing Manager More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Staff was curteous & efficient from check in/out, restaurant suggestions, directions, etc... Rooms were clean. Location is on a quiet street & very easy to get around Cambridge. Since I was there during the March Madness Basketball weekend, the Mirror TV was a nice bonus if I tried to keep up on all the games being televised. Will definitely stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RemainNameless, Thank you for sharing your Charles Hotel experience on Tripadvisor! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our central location in Harvard Square, and the "in-mirror" bathroom televisions! We hope that your travels will bring you back to the Cambridge/Boston area. Please feel free to contact me directly at estefan@charleshotel.com if you need additional information. Thank... More 

Vallejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I recently stayed at The Charles during a week long training course. I had a room with a King bed. The mattress was pillow-topped. This is not a problem for me, but may be for travelers requiring a firmer mattress. I loved the bed linens. They have a resource conservation program, so you can choose whether or not to have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DGPatey, Thank you for your visit to The Charles last month. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as several of our amenities. I'm glad we were able to accommodate your requests regarding the Jazz Club. The Wellbridge Athletic Club is almost finished their renovations. The plans for the new space look fantastic. You'll have... More 

Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Will overcharge you and will charge for minibar, refrigerator Do NOT heed I Preferred membership, watch the bill of which you will not receive, lousy waitstaff at Henrietta's Table; no reservations What were we thinking ? Also no rooms available if you are going to see anything at the theatre

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

The purpose of our stay was for a birthday/"Staycation", as we are from just outside the city but always enjoy a night in town from time to time. First and foremost, I cannot say enough about the kindness, professionalism and accommodating nature of the staff from beginning to end of our stay here. Working in Social Media, I first came... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ejstefan, Manager at Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your Charles Hotel experience. We're so happy that you were able to enjoy a weekend away with your girlfriend and many of our amenities, including our outdoor Ice Rink. It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. We'll be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We're glad we were able to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

309 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Executive Charles Suite (52)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question