We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carpenter Street Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
525 North 6th Street, Springfield, IL 62702
Carpenter Street Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lori S Carmi, Illinois
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    45
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
31
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Carmi, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I want to express what an amazing experience I had with this Hotel. Unfortunately I wasn't in the area for vacation, my father was in icu in critical condition. The hotel staff was amazing. They were extremely helpful in everything I needed. Their shuttle service took me to and from the hosp so I didn't have to worry about a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Staff was accomodating from initial phone call through checkout. Room was clean and comfortable, and included a fridge. Staff made special efforts to provide a breakfast item that was not visible. Given the proximity to the hospital and our favorable experience, we will definitely return (if necessary).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nauvoo, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff at Carpenter Street Hotel were kind and helpful to our group of 10 guests! We were impressed with that graciousness and would certainly book here again! We really appreciated the shuttle to the Lincoln Museum and Lincoln Home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brigham City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am one that does not want nor expect, mints, gold faucets, bellmen, or room service. I want a nice, clean, economical, peaceful hotel. They all look the same when I close my eyes anyway. Carpenter Street Hotel met every need with a bonus. Free shuttle to popular attractions in Springfield. They also have tickets for the Lincoln Museum and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Love this place! Cheap and clean! It's walking distance to the Lincoln Presidential Museum and library and Old State Capitol. The free breakfast was decent and the frony desk person keeps checking to see if the trays are filled with eggs and sausage links. When we checked in, The front desk guy was nice enough to extend out check out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second time in Carpenter Street Hotel, It is clean, Breakfast IS GOOD and the elevator helps alot. It is very close to all the exhibits downtown Springfield. It is in a 2 block walking distance of all events. They give you tickets if you ask for them when you book your room. The rooms where clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Director of Sales at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for taking time to post a comment. We are so appreciative of the great feedback. Please know that you are welcome to stay with us should you have a return trip to Springfield. When our guests provide feedback, that means so much as these help us. We will always strive for the best. Thanks again!... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for a while. Clean fresh rooms, friendly staff and a firm comfortable bed. Location is very useful, I will stay again soon. Highly recommended worth the price. Plus they provide natural shampoo and conditioner which makes it even better in my book.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Director of Sales at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your recent stay and your positive feedback. We appreciate you taking time to post. We strive for the very best in our hotel. Being more environmentally friendly is something that we keep working towards. If you travel back to Springfield, we would love to have you stay with us again. Jean More 

Valley Park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fairly nice hotel located near downtown attractions. It was also walking distance to the start/finish line of the 1/2 marathon. Rooms were fairly clean, although we found a cigarette pack along side a chair in our room. the hotel is smoke free!!! The shower head was broken too in our bathroom. The other quirky thing was that the drapes in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Director of Sales at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your feedback. First, thank you for staying with us and supporting the Springfield event. I am very sorry about the drapes. There are black out shades behind the drapes to give the room more of a darkness. Not sure if you saw them. I am sure that you were wanting to rest before and... More 

Belleville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in town for a meeting. Stayed one night. Quiet and clean. Helpful and nice staff.. Bed was comfortable. The biscuits and gravy were good.. They also had waffles,fruit, yogurt and muffins. I would stay here again. No complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Director of Sales at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thanks so much for your comment. We appreciate your positive thoughts and your stay with Carpenter Street Hotel. Should you travel back to Springfield, please know that we would welcome your stay back with us. We would love to have you back at our hotel. Thanks again! More 

Strasburg, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My dad had to have surgery at St. John's and he, his friend and I needed someplace close to stay. The hotel itself is within a block of the Prairie Heart Institute but the staffers drove us over and picked us up quite promptly, all we had to do was call. We received a discount because we were there because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Director of Sales at Carpenter Street Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for taking time to post a review. We are so appreciative of our guests that stay and take the time to do this. We will always be your home away from home should you be coming back to Springfield. Our staff wants to truly take care of our guests. They will want to make sure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question