We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

2.0 of 5 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GreenLeadersBronze level
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    86
    45
    14
    9
See reviews for
64
48
17
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
San Jose, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, 15 mins drive from the airport and other attractions. The hotel is pretty clean and well kept. Breakfast is not included in the cost, that is the only downside. But still worth the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for doing a review for us. We appreciate your business and hope that if you are in Anchorage in the future that you will choose to stay with us again, Best Regards, More 

Belmont, North Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The location is good for heading to Seward or the airport but it is outside of the downtown area that includes museums and shopping. The rooms included a microwave and mini refrigerator as well as blackout curtains and very comfortable beds. The lobby is currently being remodeled. Breakfast was not included in the room price but there is a restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for doing a review for us. We appreciate your business with many choice in Anchorage we thank you for choosing us. More 

Cherry Hill
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great place for the money.The staff was excellent. We enjoyed the lounge, they had salsa music and the dancers were very good. The rooms were very clean and the beds were excellent. The resteraunt was reasonable and had very good food.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for doing a review for our hotel. We appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. Best Regards, More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After a very long day of flying and delays, we were pleasantly surprised with a courteous staff, a very clean room, and a comfortable bed. We cannot rate family amenities because we only stayed one night, but for a worn out traveler, it was a very positive experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for doing a review. We appreciate your business. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you, More 

Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
21 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

There's nothing really wrong with this Best Western property, but I expected more. The location is quiet, the rooms are clean and average size. But some things were missing that I have come to expect as a road warrior... * Service: When we arrived, the room wasn't ready. We were told we could wait on the second floor where there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for doing a review for us and I will pass along your comments. I apologize that we did not meet your needs. We do take your comments seriously and they will be addressed. Thank you, More 

Portland, Oregon, Usa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Hotel is clean and in a good location. stayed for one night. The room on the third floor contained comfortably 5 people including roll-away bed. Breakfast was on the second floor of the hotel in a restaurant and included three options (not something to write home about). friendly staff. more advantages of this hotel: check-out at 12:00 and there is... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for doing a review for us. We appreciate your business and hope you enjoyed your trip. More 

San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our flight was delayed on the day and arrived at Anchorage around 12:30am in the early morning. The hotel is just several miles to the airport. When we arrive there, there is person on duty and we get into the room very fast. The beds are comfortable and room is clean. We just stayed one night and leave early in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to do a review for us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose Best Western in the future for your travel needs. Sincerely, More 

Whitefish, Montana
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed there at the start of our visit and several nights at the end. The hotel is being renovated but is showing its age. Staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly when we needed to split our reservation into two pieces. The location is very central for day trips out of the city. Compared to other places we looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your business and if you are ever in Anchorage we hope that you choose to stay with us again. More 

Statesboro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was the worst value hotel in any hotel that we've stayed in over the past year or longer. The price was horrific, but some things that are commonly expected in most hotels these days (free newspaper, free breakfast), were not included. In addition, the staff was not particularly friendly, the parking lot was full of puddles, nobody offered to... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to do a review. I am sorry that our property did not meet your standards. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and we clearly did not do this in your case. You are right we do not have complimentary breakfast or newspaper but we do not advertise that we do.... More 

Fairbanks, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While the hotel was across the street from the business I had to attend to, it is an older property with many facelifts over the years. The lobby area is quite small, the front desk staff is not bad, but not great. The room was quiet and appeared to be clean, but the bathtub/shower area was worn and the bed... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I hope you enjoyed your Alaska Vacation and we will look into the issues you had with the Wi Fi. Thank you, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Family Hotel in Anchorage

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay