We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

2.0 of 5 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
GreenLeadersBronze level
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    83
    45
    14
    9
See reviews for
63
47
17
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We usually use a lot of Best Western Hotels. I was very disappointed that there wasn't a good breakfast that is usually the norm for a Best Western. Instead of the usual good variety of food, we got a very limited Continental breakfast of donuts and pastries. The room was nice but you have to climb about 6 stairs to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coffman Cove, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are good but the over all hotel really needs a make over , the lobby and every thing is very out dated , it was clean , but it was old! Staff was really good , but the Restaurant was really bad.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bryce B, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your needs. We have been going through remodel for two years. We have upgraded the guest rooms, remodeled the lobby and new carpet through out the hotel. We continue to work to keep the hotel up... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for six nights. While we spent most of our time away from the hotel taking in all that Anchorage has to offer our time in the hotel was restful. Our beds were always made and bathroom freshened up. The hotel gives you the option to help conserve water and help the environment by only having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Desirees667, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologize on behalf of the restaurant and will pass your comments on to the owners of the restaurant. I hope that if you are back in Anchorage in the future you will choose to stay with us again at the... More 

Anchorage, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very convenient mid town location, especially for cab services, friendly staff, especially the bald guy who treated us with respect and made sure we were having a good day. I am not very sure what else I can wrote on this review.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharon A, We would like to thank you for taking the time to do a review for our hotel. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Thank you for staying with us, if you ever need to contact me directly you may do so at 907-561-1522 or email at bwgoldenlion@gci.net Sincerely, More 

Seward, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I have to travel every month and I prefer to stay at the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel in Anchorage Alaska. I rate it a 9 out of 10. It is conveniently located and has a wonderful restaurant. The only problem is getting a room during June, July, and August because of the tourism during the summer.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhonda M, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I am glad you enjoy your stays with us. We appreciate your continued business. Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of assistance at 907-561-1522 or email at bwgoldenlion@gci.net Sincerely, More 

Spokane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

If you make the choice to stay here, Be Careful. Unfortunately I left my I pad in my room when we checked out. When I discovered my mistake and returned to the hotel the front desk checked with housekeeping and said "it wasn't turned in". They said the room was occupied by a new guest and asked the maintenance man... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spokaneflip, First I apologize but I did not receive any voice mail messages that you had called or I definitely would have called you back. I am sorry that a tablet was not found in the cleaning of the room. If it had bee we would have happily mailed it back to you as is our procedure for forgotten... More 

Phoenix, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Best Western Golden lion does not have a shuttle and it would cost me $100. in Anchorage to use a taxi both ways, your web site does not show this and most people expect a shuttle from a major chain, I won't be using Best Western ever again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary D, I am sorry your were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. You are correct we do not offer a shuttle to the hotel but we also do not advertise one. The cost of a taxi to the hotel is approximately 19 dollars. If it cost you 100 dollars I would strongly suggest you contact the... More 

Juneau, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

No closed captioning allowed on TV's although the capacity is there; restaurant has taken another dive--removed good items from the menu; have a bogus menu online; won't allow guest to have a paper copy of the menu in their room. Poorly managed restaurant staff spend their time policing guests who want a menu.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie L, I am sorry that we did not meet your needs. Our TV'S do have closed caption option on them, I apologize if staff did not help you get it set up. As for the restaurant I will pass your comments on to the owners of the restaurant. We do have a different room service menu and restaurant... More 

kasigluk, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

noone bothered my or my daughter, we slept with noone to bother us, loud, watched TV/cable, took long leisurely bath and hair dryed my hair, restaurant was up on 2nd floor, again noone bothered us, kept to ourselves

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen B, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel. If you are ever in Anchorage again I hope that you will choose to be our guest again. Sincerely, More 

Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Free parking, free unsecured WiFi, standard room amenities. The property is showing some wear and tear; bathroom door was delaminating and shredding at the lower corners. There was a burned-out incandescent bulb in our room which I would have told the receptionist on check-out if she had asked how our stay was. She didn't, so I didn't. Food at on-site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ccmorrison1, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I appreciate your input and will be addressing the issues you had with our staff to make sure they are corrected immediately. If you have anything that you would like to contact me directly about you can reach me at 907-561-1522 or my email bwgoldenlion@gci.net. Sincerely, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Family Hotel in Anchorage

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay