We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

2.0 of 5 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
61
47
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Spokane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you make the choice to stay here, Be Careful. Unfortunately I left my I pad in my room when we checked out. When I discovered my mistake and returned to the hotel the front desk checked with housekeeping and said "it wasn't turned in". They said the room was occupied by a new guest and asked the maintenance man... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spokaneflip, First I apologize but I did not receive any voice mail messages that you had called or I definitely would have called you back. I am sorry that a tablet was not found in the cleaning of the room. If it had bee we would have happily mailed it back to you as is our procedure for forgotten... More 

Phoenix, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best Western Golden lion does not have a shuttle and it would cost me $100. in Anchorage to use a taxi both ways, your web site does not show this and most people expect a shuttle from a major chain, I won't be using Best Western ever again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary D, I am sorry your were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. You are correct we do not offer a shuttle to the hotel but we also do not advertise one. The cost of a taxi to the hotel is approximately 19 dollars. If it cost you 100 dollars I would strongly suggest you contact the... More 

Juneau, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No closed captioning allowed on TV's although the capacity is there; restaurant has taken another dive--removed good items from the menu; have a bogus menu online; won't allow guest to have a paper copy of the menu in their room. Poorly managed restaurant staff spend their time policing guests who want a menu.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie L, I am sorry that we did not meet your needs. Our TV'S do have closed caption option on them, I apologize if staff did not help you get it set up. As for the restaurant I will pass your comments on to the owners of the restaurant. We do have a different room service menu and restaurant... More 

kasigluk, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

noone bothered my or my daughter, we slept with noone to bother us, loud, watched TV/cable, took long leisurely bath and hair dryed my hair, restaurant was up on 2nd floor, again noone bothered us, kept to ourselves

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen B, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel. If you are ever in Anchorage again I hope that you will choose to be our guest again. Sincerely, More 

Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Free parking, free unsecured WiFi, standard room amenities. The property is showing some wear and tear; bathroom door was delaminating and shredding at the lower corners. There was a burned-out incandescent bulb in our room which I would have told the receptionist on check-out if she had asked how our stay was. She didn't, so I didn't. Food at on-site... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ccmorrison1, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. I appreciate your input and will be addressing the issues you had with our staff to make sure they are corrected immediately. If you have anything that you would like to contact me directly about you can reach me at 907-561-1522 or my email bwgoldenlion@gci.net. Sincerely, More 

Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Not the best location, right off a super busy street. Nothing special about the rooms, bathroom is small, beds and pillows were comfortable. It was quiet, even with a full hotel. Front desk folks were all super friendly even with my stupid, obvious question. I'd definitely stay again next time I am up there.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We appreciate your comments that helps us to improve where we need to and also know what we are doing well. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to you being our guest in the future if you are ever traveling through Anchorage. If... More 

Palmer, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed with our free voucher. Nothing special about this place... the restaurant food was ok - we ordered dinner and picked it up and took it back to the room to eat. Had fish & chips and the shrimp & scallop skewers. There were only shrimp, no scallops and the asparagus was green beans. However, it was tasty. Also... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to do a review for our hotel. I am sorry that your stay was disappointing and I will address the issues that you had. If you are ever in Anchorage in the future I would like to invite you back to give us another opportunity to show you that what you experienced... More 

United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stayed one night while flying out early next morning. Rooms were nicely updated and clean. Bed was comfortable. Good value. Front desk staff was professional and helpful. Location was convenient and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and if you are ever in Anchorage again we would like to invite you to be our guest again. If for any reason you would like to contact me directly please do so at 907-561-1522 or email... More 

Anchorage, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I was very pleased with my room, the rooms are cleaned and comfortable. I was able to relax and enjoy by room viewing the cablevision and enjoying a beverage with ice that is provided by the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to my family and friends. Its in midtown area located near shopping... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for doing a review of our hotel. I am glad that the accommodations met your needs. If you are ever in Anchorage again we would like to invite you back to be our guest. We appreciate your business and much luck to your daughter in her college endeavors. Sincerely More 

LARGO
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This is where I stay when in Anchorage. Excellent food, comfortable beds, friendly staff, and easy access to airport, Kenai Peninsula, or up the Parks Highway. Overall - just a very comfortable and relaxing place to spend the night.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lisa M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. If I can be any assistance in the future please don't hesitate to call me at 907-561-1522 or direct email at bwgoldenlion@gci.net Thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 East 36th Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Anchorage

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay