We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Anchorage accommodations

Alaska Backpackers Inn

1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alaska Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
51%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Michael F Perth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (109)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    28
    26
    47
See reviews for
20
35
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This backpackers was cheap and did come with a shared kitchen, coin laundry and the types of things you expect from a backpackers. My problem was that it did not feel clean and the bed was unsleepable. I do not expect much as long as I can sleep and feel clean. The floor carpet had a white powder on it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we told d front desk someone broke into our unit the second time, they acted steadily & as if it is a common issue at their motel. The staff told me to report to d police by myself & resume his work without seriously taking good care of their valueable guest. i hav to sleep unsecurely & alertly at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I made a reservation for this hostel through booking.com and it was confirmed. However, when two months later I arrived to the hostel, they did not have my reservation in the system. They did received it, they said, but messed up and failed to put it into their system. The outcome? They did not have a room for me for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Couldn't sleep. Could hear everything happening down the hall. Housekeeping started at 6 am. Bad part of town to stay. Staff unfriendly. Once stayed during the off-season, filled with homeless and drug addicts. Buildimg reeked of...urine? Worst hostel in town, choose elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our main hostel bldg. can get very busy from all the tourists that come to stay with us at all hours of the day/night. This bldg isn't where people typically stay when they want seclusion. Our Housekeeping staff starts at 6 am to ensure that the bathroom and common areas... More

Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had two roommates I had never met before, but as soon as we started talking it felt like we had been lifelong friends. This is a great way to meet people and hear stories. You might want to use your own linens though...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the end of May for one night and our friends stayed for two. We had 2 rooms in the annex. They were both dirty, sheets did not fit bed and had holes I think from cigarette burns. Staff appeared to be disinterested and were particularly unhelpful. Have stayed at other backpackers and this would rates as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working on updating all our mattresses so that they are more comfortable. I will be talking with housekeeping asap about our sheets. I hope in the future if you decide to stay with us again that your stay is more pleasant. More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at many hostels and this one is the worst. The staff was alright. They did their jobs and certainly without smile. When we asked for directions, bus routes and such, she simply pointed at their information rack (which has thirty different kinds of information) and said:"there, that's the bus route, no, down there, there." WHERE? It would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the unhelpfulness of our front desk girl.as a business this is not the way we want our company represented.As for the leftovers in the fridge, I will be addressing this issue with our housekeeping staff A.S.A.P I'm very sorry your stay was unpleasant. I hope in the future if you give us another chance you can... More

Oaxaca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Alaska Backpackers Inn is very centrally located, a short walk brings you to downtown Anchorage. There is also the possibility to cook, watch tv, wash clothes, etcetera. Nevertheless, there are also some downsides to the hostel. First of all, everything is not clean. When we arrived in our room, something fell under the bed and I noticed there was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

im sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We are unable to leave dishes in the kitchen at the office due to guests taking them all back to their rooms and leaving them dirty for housekeeping to clean instead of bringing them back to the office and cleaning them themselves. I will be talking to housekeeping about the cleanliness of... More

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I made a booking and saw the hostel's rating, I was aware of its below standard facility but I think I would be fine to stay just only a few nights before catching my plane, considering its price and location in Anchorage downtown. I booked a deluxe private double room which are in the new building (backpacker annex). However,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. In regards to the cigarette smell in the rooms we cannot watch people 24/7 to see if they are smoking in our rooms, by the time our staff notices it the damage is done, and cigarette smoke is very hard to get rid of. We are working on upgrading our mattresses... More

New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the main building (not the annex). Chose this hostel because we were scheduled to arrive at 1am and Alaska Backpackers' Inn is staffed till 4am and I didn't have the guts to check into a place without staff awake to hand me the key. For one night, and $30 a night, it's a cheap option. Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us. we appreciate and value your input More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alaska Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Anchorage with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchorage's largest, most affordable, and newest HOSTEL. We are a HOSTEL (not a full service (HOTEL) that offers discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. Save money to go on tours, backpacking, hiking, or whatever works for you! This is the perfect place to start your Alaskan Adventure. We are located in Downtown Anchorage. We are walking distance from the train and bus station. We offer dormitories with 2 to 4 beds. We also offer standard private rooms (shared bathrooms) and deluxe private rooms (shared bathrooms, only this time there is one bathroom per two rooms). We also provide full one bedroom private suites with full kitchens and bathrooms. Best prices in town!!! Our hostel also has a club house where travelers get to socialize and exchange adventures. We have a barbecue area with picnic tables and a fire pit for enjoying the great Alaskan summer.Televisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, and blackout drapes/curtains.Check our website for more info.Here are a few of the main differences between Hostels and Hotels:-Hostels tend to be budget oriented; rates are considerably lower than hostels-For those who prefer an informal environment. Hostels do not usually have the same level of formality as hotels.-For those who prefer to socialize with their fellow guest, hostels usually have more common areas and opportunities to socialize.-Hostels are generally self catering, and rooms are cleaned between guests instead of daily. -Hostel usually do not provide personal Hygiene products like soap or shampoo for the showers. Guest usually bring their own.-Hostels are generally more adventure travel oriented than leisure travel oriented, thus attracting a more venturesome crowd ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alaska Backpackers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer