We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Anchorage accommodations

Alaska Backpackers Inn

1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alaska Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
49%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Michael F Perth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (206)
  • Photos (109)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • More
true
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    28
    26
    50
See reviews for
20
35
76
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were given the key to the queen suite we'd booked but there was someone already in there. The hostel staff didn't even know this guy was in the room! We were given another queen suite, but to use the word "suite" to describe this mean and dirty room is a joke. The sofa was so filthy we didn't want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place is the worst hostel I have stayed at. The rooms and kitchen were not clean - there were a lot of bed bugs in my room - don't stay at this hostel!!! Finally did I overhear the staff talked badly about the guests!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please keep in mind that with how many guests from all over the world stay at our hostel on a daily basis.Its some times hard for our staff to see the bedbugs unless theres a huge infestation.Even the 5 star hotels here get them.But when it does happen we are... More

Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

i am very sorry for staying at the alaska backpacker's inn in anchorage. i stayed 5 nights - 2 nights in a private room, 1 night in the hostel dorms, then 2 more nights in a private room. this place is in a bad part of town, near a homeless shelter and a correctional facility - there are many homeless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please keep in mind that with how many guests from all over the world stay at our hostel on a daily basisIts some times hard for our staff to see the bedbugs unless theres a huge infestation.Even the 5 star hotels here get them.But when it does happen we are... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked in for five nights. Emailed to confirm. Arrived at 1am this morning, a very aggressive man told there was no record of me. He was very rude. Another guest tried to help me, he was rude to this guest as well. When I objected to his rudeness he said "I'm not renting you a room at all now". I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This backpackers was cheap and did come with a shared kitchen, coin laundry and the types of things you expect from a backpackers. My problem was that it did not feel clean and the bed was unsleepable. I do not expect much as long as I can sleep and feel clean. The floor carpet had a white powder on it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we told d front desk someone broke into our unit the second time, they acted steadily & as if it is a common issue at their motel. The staff told me to report to d police by myself & resume his work without seriously taking good care of their valueable guest. i hav to sleep unsecurely & alertly at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I made a reservation for this hostel through booking.com and it was confirmed. However, when two months later I arrived to the hostel, they did not have my reservation in the system. They did received it, they said, but messed up and failed to put it into their system. The outcome? They did not have a room for me for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget.we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our business for future guests. More

Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Couldn't sleep. Could hear everything happening down the hall. Housekeeping started at 6 am. Bad part of town to stay. Staff unfriendly. Once stayed during the off-season, filled with homeless and drug addicts. Buildimg reeked of...urine? Worst hostel in town, choose elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our main hostel bldg. can get very busy from all the tourists that come to stay with us at all hours of the day/night. This bldg isn't where people typically stay when they want seclusion. Our Housekeeping staff starts at 6 am to ensure that the bathroom and common areas... More

Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had two roommates I had never met before, but as soon as we started talking it felt like we had been lifelong friends. This is a great way to meet people and hear stories. You might want to use your own linens though...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the end of May for one night and our friends stayed for two. We had 2 rooms in the annex. They were both dirty, sheets did not fit bed and had holes I think from cigarette burns. Staff appeared to be disinterested and were particularly unhelpful. Have stayed at other backpackers and this would rates as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working on updating all our mattresses so that they are more comfortable. I will be talking with housekeeping asap about our sheets. I hope in the future if you decide to stay with us again that your stay is more pleasant. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alaska Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Near Alaska Backpackers Inn

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchorage's largest, most affordable, and newest HOSTEL. We are a HOSTEL (not a full service (HOTEL) that offers discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. Save money to go on tours, backpacking, hiking, or whatever works for you! This is the perfect place to start your Alaskan Adventure. We are located in Downtown Anchorage. We are walking distance from the train and bus station. We offer dormitories with 2 to 4 beds. We also offer standard private rooms (shared bathrooms) and deluxe private rooms (shared bathrooms, only this time there is one bathroom per two rooms). We also provide full one bedroom private suites with full kitchens and bathrooms. Best prices in town!!! Our hostel also has a club house where travelers get to socialize and exchange adventures. We have a barbecue area with picnic tables and a fire pit for enjoying the great Alaskan summer.Televisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, and blackout drapes/curtains.Check our website for more info.Here are a few of the main differences between Hostels and Hotels:-Hostels tend to be budget oriented; rates are considerably lower than hostels-For those who prefer an informal environment. Hostels do not usually have the same level of formality as hotels.-For those who prefer to socialize with their fellow guest, hostels usually have more common areas and opportunities to socialize.-Hostels are generally self catering, and rooms are cleaned between guests instead of daily. -Hostel usually do not provide personal Hygiene products like soap or shampoo for the showers. Guest usually bring their own.-Hostels are generally more adventure travel oriented than leisure travel oriented, thus attracting a more venturesome crowd ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alaska Backpackers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer