We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alaska Backpackers Inn

1.5 of 5 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    45
    28
    26
    53
See reviews for
20
37
80
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here in november. Lacey, the hostess/cleaning lady/security guard/... is super nice and will help you with anything you want to do. The hostel is clean, no bedbugs, and well furnished. I especially loved all the art and notes on the walls all over the place. All the visitors were super friendly too, it just felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Thank you for allowing a platform to suggest a recommendation. This is one of the best hostels I've resided in and I've traveled quite a bit (i.e western Europe). The staff there are wonderful, especially Ms. Lacey who runs a tight ship and is very knowledgeable, friendly and gives good advice. I would recommend this place to people journeying through... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

Thanks to Lacey, my stay was great! All the staff were friendly, accommodating and very knowledgeable about most everything I asked about.The place was better than I expected due to previous TA bad reviews......there were no bugs, no homeless folks and the place was clean. I will be sure to stay there again should I ever visit downtown Anchorage again.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
whangarei
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

we stayed 3 days here before joining a tour. We had a homeless man living in our duplex bathroom and hall. we tried to get he key code changed but no success. the staff knew about it but did nothing. the place was dirty and security windows etc poor. the immediate streets had drunks and obvious drug deals happening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Nothing fancy here but it was clean and comfortable. The beds were great, good pillows. I loved the fun artwork done by travelers that was all over the wall. Quiet when I stayed. Slept great. Not many other travelers when I was there. You can't beat the price! I will stay there again when I travel to anchorage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I stayed here due to the low cost, especially since I was a single traveler. I stayed for 2 nights in the blue building and had very low expectations before arriving. It turned out I stayed in the better building because travelers I talked with later in my trip were still suffering from bedbug bites after staying in the brick... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This is a nasty flea pit, run by indifferent unfriendly staff. We had bedbugs in our bedding, which spoiled our trip as their bites itch like hell for a week afterwards. The bathing facilities were dirty and poorly maintained, most of the lighting was not working and the stairwells leading to our rooms stank of sick and urine. I wish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We were given the key to the queen suite we'd booked but there was someone already in there. The hostel staff didn't even know this guy was in the room! We were given another queen suite, but to use the word "suite" to describe this mean and dirty room is a joke. The sofa was so filthy we didn't want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This place is the worst hostel I have stayed at. The rooms and kitchen were not clean - there were a lot of bed bugs in my room - don't stay at this hostel!!! Finally did I overhear the staff talked badly about the guests!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please keep in mind that with how many guests from all over the world stay at our hostel on a daily basis.Its some times hard for our staff to see the bedbugs unless theres a huge infestation.Even the 5 star hotels here get them.But when it does happen we are... More 

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

i am very sorry for staying at the alaska backpacker's inn in anchorage. i stayed 5 nights - 2 nights in a private room, 1 night in the hostel dorms, then 2 more nights in a private room. this place is in a bad part of town, near a homeless shelter and a correctional facility - there are many homeless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please keep in mind that with how many guests from all over the world stay at our hostel on a daily basisIts some times hard for our staff to see the bedbugs unless theres a huge infestation.Even the 5 star hotels here get them.But when it does happen we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay