We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Anchorage accommodations

Alaska Backpackers Inn

1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alaska Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
53%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014
Christian T
  • Overview
  • Reviews (190)
  • Photos (100)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    25
    21
    43
See reviews for
18
33
74
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hostel was one of the most dirty hostels that I have been. The bathrooms are OK (like any other hostels) but the room and sheets were disgusting (my wife and I were in a private room). In simple words, they do NOT WASH the sheets and clean the rooms between guests. I stayed there for 5 nights in 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I agree with Courtney H. Somehow this hostel has claimed to be the best or 1 of the best. They are horrible. There are people hanging around in the parking lot waiting to see if they can sneak in & get a shower in your shared bathroom, or maybe steal something. There are signs everywhere with threats from the management.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's just ok for staying a couple days. The room was not so clean. The dust was everywhere in the room. The price was reasonable. The whole dorms were in the different building from the lobby. You have to walk to the next block for getting there. It's around 6 blocks to get to the city center.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband booked an extended stay room last minute at $100/night for 5 nights. It was the cheapest deal online and it's apparent why. It's not a safe spot, there are angry homeless people hanging around the block. When we got inside, it smelled like dirt and smoke. The bedroom looked like a jail cell. The walls are concrete painted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynnwood, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not stay here! The website is filled with false advertising. The pictures do not match the Hostel. The pics of outside and the areas are correct but the rooms are not what the picture represents. The room was Dirty, slept on a piece of Plywood, blanket threadbare held together with safety pins, Mattress coils sticking out, Front desk help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

We are a hostel not a full service hotel like the Sheraton which is a stones throw from our establishment. We offer discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. For better air flow we do offer fans to cool the rooms off, And all... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I work up on the slope and prefer to live in hostels when I am on r&r in anchorage. Ive stayed at multiple hostels in midtown, but backpackers beats them all. I chose a room with a dingle bunk bed. I was only there for one night and I didnt have anyone else sharing the bunk/room. (Although when i return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Were very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And we thank you for taking the time to give us a review online. More

Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The stay in the Alaska Backpackers Inn was good and the staff very friendly. However, I was not very pleased when I got BED BUG BITES all over my body!!! I had to clean all my cloth when I left the place to prevent the bugs from spreading. That was really annoying! I hope they going to do something against... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Our staff takes great pride in providing the best stay possible in our hostel. If there is any issues we go to great lengths to correct the issue to make the guest's stay more pleasant. However when a guest doesn't inform us of the issues until days after they check out, we cannot possibly resolve the issue. We accommodate hundreds... More

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I wanted to save money and try to tough this one out but the brick building was so hot and no air flow I couldn't breathe. We should've gone to a campground instead. It was cool outside too but just no ventilation! The only window I had was right next to a guy smoking on his patio. I was going... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gabrovo, Bulgaria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I spent 2 nights in this hostel with my friends. We were group of 13 people and we were separated in different rooms. The atmosphere is so cozy and peaceful inside. The staff is very polite. They waited for us even after midnight and accommodated us. Gerie met us at the other day and helped us to get familiar with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Were glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for taking the time to write a review :) More

st. thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Gerie was super friendly every time I needed assistance. I stayed in a private room for a couple days - which had its own small fridge and cable tv. Then I switched to a dorm room for several nights which was a clean, quiet, and spacious room. Really pretty good for $20/night. The bathrooms and showers were all individual -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alaska Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchorage's largest, most affordable, and newest HOSTEL. We are a HOSTEL (not a full service (HOTEL) that offers discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. Save money to go on tours, backpacking, hiking, or whatever works for you! This is the perfect place to start your Alaskan Adventure. We are located in Downtown Anchorage. We are walking distance from the train and bus station. We offer dormitories with 2 to 4 beds. We also offer standard private rooms (shared bathrooms) and deluxe private rooms (shared bathrooms, only this time there is one bathroom per two rooms). We also provide full one bedroom private suites with full kitchens and bathrooms. Best prices in town!!! Our hostel also has a club house where travelers get to socialize and exchange adventures. We have a barbecue area with picnic tables and a fire pit for enjoying the great Alaskan summer.Televisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, and blackout drapes/curtains.Check our website for more info.Here are a few of the main differences between Hostels and Hotels:-Hostels tend to be budget oriented; rates are considerably lower than hostels-For those who prefer an informal environment. Hostels do not usually have the same level of formality as hotels.-For those who prefer to socialize with their fellow guest, hostels usually have more common areas and opportunities to socialize.-Hostels are generally self catering, and rooms are cleaned between guests instead of daily. -Hostel usually do not provide personal Hygiene products like soap or shampoo for the showers. Guest usually bring their own.-Hostels are generally more adventure travel oriented than leisure travel oriented, thus attracting a more venturesome crowd ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

See which rooms travelers prefer