We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Anchorage accommodations

Alaska Backpackers Inn

1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alaska Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
53%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
lorena v Toronto, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (108)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    26
    25
    44
See reviews for
20
34
75
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the end of May for one night and our friends stayed for two. We had 2 rooms in the annex. They were both dirty, sheets did not fit bed and had holes I think from cigarette burns. Staff appeared to be disinterested and were particularly unhelpful. Have stayed at other backpackers and this would rates as a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We are working on updating all our mattresses so that they are more comfortable. I will be talking with housekeeping asap about our sheets. I hope in the future if you decide to stay with us again that your stay is more pleasant. More

San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at many hostels and this one is the worst. The staff was alright. They did their jobs and certainly without smile. When we asked for directions, bus routes and such, she simply pointed at their information rack (which has thirty different kinds of information) and said:"there, that's the bus route, no, down there, there." WHERE? It would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the unhelpfulness of our front desk girl.as a business this is not the way we want our company represented.As for the leftovers in the fridge, I will be addressing this issue with our housekeeping staff A.S.A.P I'm very sorry your stay was unpleasant. I hope in the future if you give us another chance you can... More

Oaxaca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Alaska Backpackers Inn is very centrally located, a short walk brings you to downtown Anchorage. There is also the possibility to cook, watch tv, wash clothes, etcetera. Nevertheless, there are also some downsides to the hostel. First of all, everything is not clean. When we arrived in our room, something fell under the bed and I noticed there was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

im sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. We are unable to leave dishes in the kitchen at the office due to guests taking them all back to their rooms and leaving them dirty for housekeeping to clean instead of bringing them back to the office and cleaning them themselves. I will be talking to housekeeping about the cleanliness of... More

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I made a booking and saw the hostel's rating, I was aware of its below standard facility but I think I would be fine to stay just only a few nights before catching my plane, considering its price and location in Anchorage downtown. I booked a deluxe private double room which are in the new building (backpacker annex). However,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

im sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. In regards to the cigarette smell in the rooms we cannot watch people 24/7 to see if they are smoking in our rooms, by the time our staff notices it the damage is done, and cigarette smoke is very hard to get rid of. We are working on upgrading our mattresses... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a fantastic time Alaska Backpackers Inn everyone who was here was so accommodating it felt as if I was staying with family. I would definitely come back and bring more friends with me. this was an awesome experience cannot wait to do it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

were very delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to review us More

New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the main building (not the annex). Chose this hostel because we were scheduled to arrive at 1am and Alaska Backpackers' Inn is staffed till 4am and I didn't have the guts to check into a place without staff awake to hand me the key. For one night, and $30 a night, it's a cheap option. Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us. we appreciate and value your input More

Springfield, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hostel at the beginning and end of my trip to Alaska, and it was quite enjoyable. Great people, great service, showers and clean sheets; what more do you need? I especially loved the ability to store larger bags in a locked room while I wandered around Anchorage for a few hours, even after check-out. An affordable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

were very delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to review us More

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was a sore disappointment. Our "suite" had a tiny field bed with a plastic wrapped, thin pad and a full(?) bed; neither was really big enough/comfortable enough to sleep my sister and me. The full bed is too small for even a couple and can only be entered from one side, so there is really only a proper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of our company I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would also like you to remember that We are a hostel not a full service hotel like the Sheraton which is a stones throw from our establishment. We offer discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a... More

Highland Park, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was one of the most dirty hostels that I have been. The bathrooms are OK (like any other hostels) but the room and sheets were disgusting (my wife and I were in a private room). In simple words, they do NOT WASH the sheets and clean the rooms between guests. I stayed there for 5 nights in 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of our company I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would also like you to remember that We are a hostel not a full service hotel like the Sheraton which is a stones throw from our establishment. We offer discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a... More

Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I agree with Courtney H. Somehow this hostel has claimed to be the best or 1 of the best. They are horrible. There are people hanging around in the parking lot waiting to see if they can sneak in & get a shower in your shared bathroom, or maybe steal something. There are signs everywhere with threats from the management.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

On behalf of our company I apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay. I would also like you to remember that We are a hostel not a full service hotel like the Sheraton which is a stones throw from our establishment. We offer discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alaska Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Anchorage's largest, most affordable, and newest HOSTEL. We are a HOSTEL (not a full service (HOTEL) that offers discounted accommodations for all tastes and budgets. We offer the best value for your money in a clean, safe, fun and sociable environment. Save money to go on tours, backpacking, hiking, or whatever works for you! This is the perfect place to start your Alaskan Adventure. We are located in Downtown Anchorage. We are walking distance from the train and bus station. We offer dormitories with 2 to 4 beds. We also offer standard private rooms (shared bathrooms) and deluxe private rooms (shared bathrooms, only this time there is one bathroom per two rooms). We also provide full one bedroom private suites with full kitchens and bathrooms. Best prices in town!!! Our hostel also has a club house where travelers get to socialize and exchange adventures. We have a barbecue area with picnic tables and a fire pit for enjoying the great Alaskan summer.Televisions come with cable channels. Guestrooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, and blackout drapes/curtains.Check our website for more info.Here are a few of the main differences between Hostels and Hotels:-Hostels tend to be budget oriented; rates are considerably lower than hostels-For those who prefer an informal environment. Hostels do not usually have the same level of formality as hotels.-For those who prefer to socialize with their fellow guest, hostels usually have more common areas and opportunities to socialize.-Hostels are generally self catering, and rooms are cleaned between guests instead of daily. -Hostel usually do not provide personal Hygiene products like soap or shampoo for the showers. Guest usually bring their own.-Hostels are generally more adventure travel oriented than leisure travel oriented, thus attracting a more venturesome crowd ... more   less 
Number of rooms
98

See which rooms travelers prefer