We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Anchorage accommodations

Alaska Backpackers Inn

1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Alaska Backpackers Inn to your Saves list
Alaska Backpackers Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
49%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Travelinggirl202020 Kelowna, Canada
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    28
    26
    52
See reviews for
20
36
77
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nothing fancy here but it was clean and comfortable. The beds were great, good pillows. I loved the fun artwork done by travelers that was all over the wall. Quiet when I stayed. Slept great. Not many other travelers when I was there. You can't beat the price! I will stay there again when I travel to anchorage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here due to the low cost, especially since I was a single traveler. I stayed for 2 nights in the blue building and had very low expectations before arriving. It turned out I stayed in the better building because travelers I talked with later in my trip were still suffering from bedbug bites after staying in the brick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nasty flea pit, run by indifferent unfriendly staff. We had bedbugs in our bedding, which spoiled our trip as their bites itch like hell for a week afterwards. The bathing facilities were dirty and poorly maintained, most of the lighting was not working and the stairwells leading to our rooms stank of sick and urine. I wish... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given the key to the queen suite we'd booked but there was someone already in there. The hostel staff didn't even know this guy was in the room! We were given another queen suite, but to use the word "suite" to describe this mean and dirty room is a joke. The sofa was so filthy we didn't want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is the worst hostel I have stayed at. The rooms and kitchen were not clean - there were a lot of bed bugs in my room - don't stay at this hostel!!! Finally did I overhear the staff talked badly about the guests!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please keep in mind that with how many guests from all over the world stay at our hostel on a daily basis.Its some times hard for our staff to see the bedbugs unless theres a huge infestation.Even the 5 star hotels here get them.But when it does happen we are... More

Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i am very sorry for staying at the alaska backpacker's inn in anchorage. i stayed 5 nights - 2 nights in a private room, 1 night in the hostel dorms, then 2 more nights in a private room. this place is in a bad part of town, near a homeless shelter and a correctional facility - there are many homeless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please keep in mind that with how many guests from all over the world stay at our hostel on a daily basisIts some times hard for our staff to see the bedbugs unless theres a huge infestation.Even the 5 star hotels here get them.But when it does happen we are... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in for five nights. Emailed to confirm. Arrived at 1am this morning, a very aggressive man told there was no record of me. He was very rude. Another guest tried to help me, he was rude to this guest as well. When I objected to his rudeness he said "I'm not renting you a room at all now". I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This backpackers was cheap and did come with a shared kitchen, coin laundry and the types of things you expect from a backpackers. My problem was that it did not feel clean and the bed was unsleepable. I do not expect much as long as I can sleep and feel clean. The floor carpet had a white powder on it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget. we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our bussiness for future guests. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we told d front desk someone broke into our unit the second time, they acted steadily & as if it is a common issue at their motel. The staff told me to report to d police by myself & resume his work without seriously taking good care of their valueable guest. i hav to sleep unsecurely & alertly at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I made a reservation for this hostel through booking.com and it was confirmed. However, when two months later I arrived to the hostel, they did not have my reservation in the system. They did received it, they said, but messed up and failed to put it into their system. The outcome? They did not have a room for me for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlaskaBackpackersInn, Public Relations Manager at Alaska Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. Please remember that we are a hostel not a hotel and we offer more affordable rates to suit a travelers budget.we appreciate your review and will take it under advisment to better our business for future guests. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Alaska Backpackers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Alaska Backpackers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Backpackers Inn

Address: 409 Eagle Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alaska Backpackers Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Alaska Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Backpackers Hotel Anchorage

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Anchorage with
any amenities