We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Puffin Inn

4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Puffin Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    62
    51
    32
    52
See reviews for
69
64
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are visiting Anchorage for a stay, this is not the place for you. Located near the airport, it is an old property that has seen better days. Breakfast is included, starting at 5 AM. Very run of the mill. Transportation provided too and from the airport. Staff friendly. I would only use it for a one night stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Hey John, I'm glad we were a convenient stay for you before your flight out. Being located so close the airport, we're always happy to help out with transportation and arrangements.Keep in mind we do have several different styles of rooms - the least expensive being in the oldest section of the hotel. These rooms are indeed very small and... More 

Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room 8/9/15 for 9/11-9/13/15. On 8/18 we found out my mother in law was terminally ill and had to cancel. I called (only 9 days later from when I booked) and spoke to Michelle explaining the situation. Although she did refund me my deposit she kept $50 for a processing fee. I asked why it would cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PuffinManager, Manager at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Bob, I was very disturbed by your review and confused by your review. We would never capitalize on your tragedy in such a way, especially since we have a 24 hour cancellation policy and you were well within that time frame. We would not have charged your card for a Sept 11 stay anyway, until the day of arrival. I... More 

Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent one night at the Puffin Inn between adventures to Denali and the Kenai Peninsula. Our first floor room was close to the lobby, and adjacent to the elevator, which was very loud. Thought it would be an issue, but all was quiet after guests stopped coming and going from their upper floor rooms. No decor to speak of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear your quick stay with us was comfortable and convenient! Any time your travels bring you back through the area, I'd love to invite you to stay with us again. -Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

mn
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed one night and were in the annex. room was large with a juccuzzi tub and fridge etc. had to climb three flights to get to room but that was ok. annex is on the side and parking is unclear. breakfast was typical. they had a person dressed as a puffin for kids. kind of cute. only shuttle to airport

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear you had a comfortable stay with us in the annex room. Thanks for your feedback! -Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front office staff very friendly and helpful. Needed to leave very early for flight and was happily surprised the breakfast was put out early. Airport van clean and new a short distant from Anchorage Ted Stevens airport. Being very early the driver was ready and happy to take us to the airport. The lobby was clean and appeared newly updated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We're super close to the airport, so early arrivals or departures are a piece of cake. :) Hope you'll think of us the next time your travels bring you to Anchorage! Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

We enjoyed our one night stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The main hotel building was nice, we were on the 3 floor all we saw was clean, nice at a good price. The breakfast was good complete with a make your own waffle dispenser and waffle iron that times your waffle and you can take out yourself. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's a pleasure to hear your short stay with us was comfortable and enjoyable! I appreciate you giving us a shot and would love to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you through Anchorage. :) All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

I stayed at the Puffin Inn April 2015. I found the room to be very comfortable, quiet, and clean. The staff including the GM were so friendly and attentive to my particular needs. I highly recommend this place as a place to stay. They had everything I needed for my stay and I plan to return this fall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Marlene, I'm so glad that you had such a comfortable stay, and I really appreciate your kind words and recommendation. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back this fall, and please don't hesitate to let me know if there's anything I can do to make your next visit even better! All my best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

After a recommendation from our tour company, Great Alaska Adventures, we booked a room at the Puffin Inn for two nights. We read the reviews and were, to say the least, a bit apprehensive. Although dated, we found the property well kept and comfortable, We asked for a "newly renovated room" and our room was fine, although the bed seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm glad your family enjoyed a comfortable stay with us! I love the tip about saving a little money and spending it on a fun Alaskan adventure, too. That's what a trip up here should be about! Thanks again! -Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

This is the most horrible hotel I have ever stayed. This one was booked for our first day of visiting Alaska and I was shocked to see the room. It is so tiny you can call it a kitchen size room. There was a wash basin just beside the bed. There was green strain on the basin. Bed was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm truly sorry to hear your night with us was so uncomfortable. I can assure you our rooms are always thoroughly cleaned for our guests and that our breakfast is prepared fresh. I apologize if it seemed any other way. I hope the rest of your stay in Anchorage was enjoyable. -Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

I tried to use the northern lights coupon book and booked one night with 2 rooms that were 20% discounted. We were booked in a side older section with miserably small rooms. The inn is right beside the road so it was noisy with traffic running all through the night. Our room had cigarette burns on the sheets, coarse bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm truly sorry to hear your stay with us was so uncomfortable. While certain parts of our inn have been remodeled, we're in the process of updating the rest as well. I'm sorry you felt as if you were punished in any way for using the coupon books -- I can assure you that's not a factor that comes into... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#38 of 71 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alex Hotel & Suites
Alex Hotel & Suites
#34 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast International Inn
Coast International Inn
#32 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
3.3 mi away
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
#35 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay