We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Puffin Inn

4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puffin Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Puffin Inn
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    57
    43
    32
    47
See reviews for
62
56
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm going to be honest in that I've worked in the hotel industry before, in a little bit higher end hotel. There's just some red flag thing's that were immediate to my attention. First when I made my booking I mentioned that I was a single female traveling by myself. The front desk person put me on the bottom floor,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Of course, we always want our guests to feel safe when they stay with us, Tara, so I understand your concern about the first floor room. That said, if you had specifically requested a room on any other floor when you made your reservation, our staff should have been happy to make that accomodation for you as our space allowed.... More 

Zephyrhills, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

we arrived very early on the 7th of march. van arrived within 10 minutes. got thru registration real fast. room was neat as a pin. had a real good, light morning breakfast. qick ride back to the airport. the whole staff are courteous and acommidating. highly recommend the puffin inn to other travelers. have stayed here before and wouldn't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I truly appreciate the compliments, Charlie! From shuttle service to delicious breakfast, I'm so glad to hear your stays with us have been enjoyable. Hope to have you back again soon. -Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I had the pleasure of spending 5 days in there establishment. The staff was amazing. From the front desk to the drivers. House keeping was generous and helpful. In all I would recommend it to family and friends. Thanks Puffin inn for the great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. It means so much to hear from you. If there's anything else we can do for you, please let us know. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Anchorage, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This is the 'BEST" hotel is Alaska.....Highly recommend the Puffin Inn!! Great rooms, Great service and best location....They have the best rates in Anchorage. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. Breakfast is excelent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's so wonderful to hear that you think we're the best, Kelly. Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in the ares, you know where to find us. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Bath
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

5 - 10 minutes from the airport with a free 24 hour shuttle. Can call the shuttle from the phones at the boards, in baggage claim. listing hotels. It's located near pizza places, coffee shop, Subway. Not great jogging paths -- sidewalk on a busy street and side streets. Breakfast was fine (sweet rolls, waffles, juice and the like --... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the support! We're so sorry to hear that one of our other guests kept you awake, but glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. Next time you're in town, keep us in mind. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Kenai, Alaska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Feel like I am getting the runaround. Booked some clients for two rooms 2 nights and immediately had to cancel after mailing check (deposit 50%). The cancellation was in a timely manner and I was assured that I'd be refunded in full. I have made 8 phone calls always getting a different reason. Accountant out of town. Manager can't write... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PuffinManager, Manager at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you feel you've been getting the run around. Honestly your whole situation was handled poorly at every step and for that I do apologize. When you called to cancel the rooms in the first place, the desk clerk should have gotten all of the appropriate information to handle the refund swiftly and everything would have... More 

Puerto Rico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This well located, quiet, close to the airport and they have free transpostacion. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is excellent. I recommend it. We rented a car and drove around the city, the Alaska Zoo, a national park and eat in the area. There are about a Golden Coral. The railway station is close by car which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We love sharing the marvels of Alaska with our guests, so it means the world to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the rave review. Stop in and visit us again soon. Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

If racing cars and busses and motorcycles are your idea of a lullaby then this is the hotel for you. The walkways were a veritable outdoor labyrinth. We did get our laundry done, however. Good luck finding anything whole wheat for breakfast. The hotel has an airport shuttle, which did arrive, but only after about a 45 minute wait at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didn't have a good experience with us, Jake. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I take these reviews very seriously and will definitely work to improve. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Sorry for the delay in the review,we stayed 3 nights before our cruise trip started.Our stay at the Puffin was very nice.We were there at the end of July which is prime-time Alaska.Upon arrival at the airport,Chico picked us up in about 5 minutes.We stayed in the main building,our rooms were nice and clean.The free breakfast was great, and Chico... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Chico is going to be so pumped to hear from you, Stephen. Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. If you ever make it back up north, be sure to stop in and visit us. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

3 nights were spent at the Puffin Inn. The 1st night was paid for by a colleague and we were in the main part of the hotel. Sleep was difficult due to a very hot room & poor A/C system. The other two nights were spent in the annex, a half block away. This is an old inn, on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question