We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 70 Anchorage hotels

Puffin Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel amenities
Puffin Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Puffin Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #35 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Wanderer292 Bath
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    43
    31
    47
See reviews for
61
55
27
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Bath
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

5 - 10 minutes from the airport with a free 24 hour shuttle. Can call the shuttle from the phones at the boards, in baggage claim. listing hotels. It's located near pizza places, coffee shop, Subway. Not great jogging paths -- sidewalk on a busy street and side streets. Breakfast was fine (sweet rolls, waffles, juice and the like --... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the support! We're so sorry to hear that one of our other guests kept you awake, but glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. Next time you're in town, keep us in mind. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Kenai, Alaska
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Feel like I am getting the runaround. Booked some clients for two rooms 2 nights and immediately had to cancel after mailing check (deposit 50%). The cancellation was in a timely manner and I was assured that I'd be refunded in full. I have made 8 phone calls always getting a different reason. Accountant out of town. Manager can't write... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PuffinManager, Manager at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you feel you've been getting the run around. Honestly your whole situation was handled poorly at every step and for that I do apologize. When you called to cancel the rooms in the first place, the desk clerk should have gotten all of the appropriate information to handle the refund swiftly and everything would have... More

Puerto Rico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This well located, quiet, close to the airport and they have free transpostacion. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is excellent. I recommend it. We rented a car and drove around the city, the Alaska Zoo, a national park and eat in the area. There are about a Golden Coral. The railway station is close by car which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We love sharing the marvels of Alaska with our guests, so it means the world to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the rave review. Stop in and visit us again soon. Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

If racing cars and busses and motorcycles are your idea of a lullaby then this is the hotel for you. The walkways were a veritable outdoor labyrinth. We did get our laundry done, however. Good luck finding anything whole wheat for breakfast. The hotel has an airport shuttle, which did arrive, but only after about a 45 minute wait at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I apologize that you didn't have a good experience with us, Jake. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I take these reviews very seriously and will definitely work to improve. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Sorry for the delay in the review,we stayed 3 nights before our cruise trip started.Our stay at the Puffin was very nice.We were there at the end of July which is prime-time Alaska.Upon arrival at the airport,Chico picked us up in about 5 minutes.We stayed in the main building,our rooms were nice and clean.The free breakfast was great, and Chico... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Chico is going to be so pumped to hear from you, Stephen. Thanks for the support here on TripAdvisor. If you ever make it back up north, be sure to stop in and visit us. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

3 nights were spent at the Puffin Inn. The 1st night was paid for by a colleague and we were in the main part of the hotel. Sleep was difficult due to a very hot room & poor A/C system. The other two nights were spent in the annex, a half block away. This is an old inn, on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed at the Puffin Inn twice during my trip, both times due to its proximity to the airport. They have a range of rooms, but don't be fooled by the low prices, they are terrible rooms in an old, decrepit hotel. For what you get you might as well pay slightly more and stay at one of the numerous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback here on Yelp. I'm very sorry that you weren't satisfied with your room.You must have booked in the older section of the hotel. While these rooms are clean and updated, they are small and the building is old. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Alaska. Best,... More

Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We made reservations two months in advance and arrived at 10;30 in the evening. They said the only room they could give us was on the third floor with no elevator. We were in Anchorage for two weeks and had lots of heavy luggage. They reluctantly finally got a guy to help us get the heavy bags upstairs. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We take these reviews very seriously, so I definitely appreciate you taking the time to write us out a review. Thanks for the support. We'll definitely work hard to improve and hope you enjoyed your trip to Alaska. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Wasilla, Alaska, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The staff were friendly enough and very accommodating with the quick booking that I required, however they told me there would be plenty of room for dogs to potty and walk. There is a small patch of grass behind the property right next to a street. I asked them to clean the room twice yesterday. Once when the cleaners came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, Megan! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. This situation is definitely not acceptable and we'll work hard to improve in the future. Sincerely, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Puffins live in miserable inhospitable burrows so it's easy to see why they named this place Puffin Inn. Less of a hotel, more a collection of cheap buildings scattered around a car park, the only joy here was in the leaving. A rock hard bed and miserly bedding continued the desolate wildlife refuge theme, although no self-respecting seabird would put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

As you can imagine, We're very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. We'll work hard to improve and hope you enjoyed your trip to Alaska. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay