We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Anchorage hotels

Puffin Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Puffin Inn to your Saves list
Puffin Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
48%
Ranked #30 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SandeeColorado Colorado
  • Overview
  • Reviews (198)
  • Photos (68)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    39
    27
    43
See reviews for
57
49
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here during a recent trip to Homer and the Kenai peninsula. We had a room in the new building and our late airport arrival, blurry eyed hopes were buoyed by the look of the lobby and the friendliness of the staff. Alas, our disappointment in the room. It was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. But the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eagle River, Alaska
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The exterior and lobby give the impression that the room will be, at the least, modern and updated. This is not the case. There are 4 buildings with motel rooms, and we were assigned one in the oldest section of the motel. The $150 room rate provided us with a tiny room facing the parking lot on one side and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're glad that you thought our staff was friendly, but disappointing that you didn't enjoy our accommodations. Thanks for the feedback. We'll work hard to improve. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On our first visit before we visited a fishing lodge, we stayed in the "old" building. The room was adequate, clean and quiet. However, it felt somewhat "tacky" and was very small. We asked for an upgrade to the new building on our return visit but there were no available rooms. We stayed in the old building again, but had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback. Next time you stay with us, let us know in advance, so that we can reserve you a spot in the new building. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm guessing that the four and five star ratings apply to the newer (higher priced) rooms. Our lowest-price reservation relegated us to the original motel building, where our room was cramped (not even a small closet); overheated (no obvious way to lower the heat or turn it off); and over-scented (to mask what odors?). Wifi did not work in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and transportation, but disappointing that you were not satisfied with your accommodations. Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. I hope you'll give us another chance next time. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Big Spring, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent three non-consecutive nights at the Puffin Inn. Two of those nights we were put in the Chandler building. It was the worst bed I have ever slept on. In addition, there is no elevator and I had to drag my luggage down the block to the building and then to a third floor room. For the final night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us some feedback here on TripAdvisor, Linda. The last think we want is to provide our customers with substandard accommodations. I'll personally see to it that the Chandler rooms are given more attention and hope you'll consider staying with us on your next trip to Alaska. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

New Delhi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a decent hotel near airport with its airport pick up and drop shuttle. Rooms are neat and spacious, I stayed in a suite that had jaccuzi and a massive bathroom. The breakfast is really inadequate with only very little choice and is best avoided. There's a lake nearby for walking. It is quite far from downtown though has many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're glad that you enjoyed our accommodations during your stay! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in town, keep us in mind. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Lucas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Puffin Inn is near the Anchorage Airport and is convenient for travel to Alaska, particularly as an overnight stop for trips into the interior. It is comfortable and clean and relatively modestly priced for Alaska. Overall, it is nothing special but would stay again if the opportunity arose.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor, Lucas. We really appreciate the review. Next time you're passing through the area, keep us in mind. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Anchorage
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First let me say my room was not in the Puffin Inn, but in an annex building operated by the Puffin in called Comfort Suites. The building and room were dingy. The walls are in desperate need of being painted, the carpet was gross and old. The room had been sprayed heavily with Lysol I had to run the bathroom... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're very glad that you loved our main building, but sorry that our annex was not to your liking, Jeanny. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you'll stay with us again sometime. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our room was in the main building upstairs from the reception desk, and there WAS an elevator. Room was large enough, and was clean. Was pricey, but so is every place else to stay in Alaska. No complaints. Woman at front desk was friendly and helpful. Printed out directions for me to Wal-Mart when I told her I left home... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us some tips here on TripAdvisor! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you're planning a trip to Alaska, keep us in mind. Best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

bouldercity,nv
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Charged $179 per nite for a room thT did not feel clean, and the blanket was shredded! The curtains did not cover the window properly anyway, but were so thin that the light shine through all night. Road noise was continual. Admittedly I made reservations for a business trip too late for tourist season, and got one of the last... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's so disappointing to hear about this situation, Beth. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. I'll definitely work hard to improve our accommodations. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Puffin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
85

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer