We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Anchorage hotels

Puffin Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Puffin Inn to your Saves list
Puffin Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
50%
Ranked #30 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
vardis3 Seattle, Washington
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    56
    36
    23
    40
See reviews for
55
46
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

had everything i needed and was close to where i needed to be /room was ok and everything worked like it was supposed to /the next time i'm in that neck of the woods i will consider staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you would stay with us again! We love helping our guests enjoy our beautiful state, so it's great to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the feedback and I hope you'll visit us again soon. All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Anchorage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed the bubble bath after my 15h trip on the plane!!! The carpet was a bit dirty and room was ok. It was noisy I needed earplugs to sleep but I slept well. Breakfast was ok, simple but ok. Thanks!

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's so great to hear that we could help you relax after such a long plane ride, Oliver. We're all about comfortable accommodations, so it means the world to hear that we're doing a good job. Thanks for the support and we hope you visit us again soon. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Asheville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The wife and I have stayed at the Puffin Inn five times, and we are always pleased with the accommodations and especially the service. This time we reserved a "Jacuzzi Suite" on the third floor and it was great. On the third floor there is no noise from children stomping around above (hint, hint). The rooms are clean and functional,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Fifth time's the charm! We couldn't be happier to hear how much you and your wife enjoyed staying with us, and we can't wait to share your kind words with Reggie, Edward, Kate and the rest of our team. Thank you so much for making us a part of your time in Anchorage, and please let us know if there's... More

Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Called to check availability, polite warm welcome from the front desk personal, Katie was knowlage, nice, and very helpful. We got a great deal on a wonderful room. Will definitely be coming back. Thank you all for a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Katie works so hard and I know she's going to be delighted to see your compliments! We're all about top-notch customer service, so it's great to hear that you think we're doing a good job. Thanks for the review. I can't wait to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I decided to stay at this because of budget despite despite very bad reviews. I had to call three times to confirm my reservation. Website advertises a rate of 86 dollars/night before taxes. I mentioned the 35% off deal on THEIR OWN WEBSITE and was told the reservation will be made with the discount. No confirmation was sent for two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PuffinManager, Manager at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience with our reservations staff. The 35% off ad does specify that it is taken off of our Rack - or standard- Rate and not off of our already discounted rates. It looks like the rate you were looking at on our website was a promo rate - which was indeed... More

Kenai, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked online and upon reading reviews asks to be placed on the renovated section, was upgraded and placed on the first floor room 1109. Well, it was not worth the upgrade since that room is next to the exit room and all night long people were going in and out of the exit more than the front door. That was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you thought our staff was friendly, but disappointing that your location next to the exit kept you up at night. I would have been happy to get you another room, if we had additional availability. Thanks for the feedback here on Yelp. Next time you're in town, I hope you'll stay with us again. All... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Delayed return flights from Outside kept me from using their room in the back end of a pre-paid park-and-fly reservation. Their adherence to a form and internal policy will not allow a even a partial refund for not using their room. So a shuttle and parking cost me $160. They've lost a customer. I hope you stay away too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry to hear that your flights were delayed, Jay. Right now, we offer our park and ride reservation as a package deal that includes the room. We do no have a lower option that allows guests to just park and ride in the event of a delayed flight. However, I apologize that you felt slighted by our policy.... More

Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second time staying at Puff Inn in winters and it was great. I really appreciate the flexibility and the hospitality of the staff here, the people are very helpful. And we would especially like to thank Katie and Chico (manager) for being so kind and generous and helping us in our reservations. A free shuttle is provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

It means so much to us that you would come back and stay with us again, Chittiya. Your wonderful compliments here on Yelp mean the world to us. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Alaska. Next time you need a vacation, stop in and visit us. Cheers, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a nice hotel, very convenient to everything. Morning breakfast was good. Staff friendly and helpful. We had set up another hotel close to the airport for our flight out but it turned out the Puffin was so close it didnt matter. We wished we could have stayed here twice. Will definitely stay here for the full trip next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

Friendly staff, great location, tasty breakfast — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for the feedback here on TripAdvisor. Next time you're in Anchorage, we'd love for you to stay with us again. All the best, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

San Francisco
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very comfortable room for the price @ a little over 50 dollars a bite. Like that IT'S 5 minutes from airport and a very nice continental breakfast included. Housekeeping could be a little better - clean bathroom sink. The check in area is comfy with nice fireplace and bear fur mounted on wall. Tees Alaskan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sonja J, Owner at Puffin Inn, responded to this review

We're excited that you enjoyed our location and breakfast! It makes us very happy to help our guests discover the majesty of Alaska, so we're glad that you got the opportunity to stay with us. Thanks for the feedback. Next time you're in town, stop in and say hello! Till then, Sonja, Puffin Inn Management More

Been to Puffin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puffin Inn

Also Known As:
Puffin Hotel Anchorage
Puffin Hotel
Address: 4400 Spenard Road, Anchorage, AK 99517
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puffin Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your vacation brings you to Anchorage for one night or many, Puffin Inn offers convenient access to area attractions such as Chugach State Park, the Seward Highway and the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Our hotel is also minutes from metropolitan entertainment in downtown Anchorage and a short drive to Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport.Puffin Inn offers special conveniences to enhance your stay. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport, a business center, an exercise room, laundry facilities and pet-friendly accommodations. Guests also enjoy a complimentary breakfast served daily in our lobby breakfast area. Internet access is available throughout the hotel.Rest assured that you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging. Puffin Inn offers a variety of lodging options suitable for any traveler. Our lodge has 85 guest rooms and suites separated into 4 room styles: Deluxe, Moderate, Boutique and Original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Puffin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puffin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.