We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Anchorage Grand Hotel

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501
Special Price
10% off room rate
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #21 of 70 Hotels in Anchorage
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015
roblord florida
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    118
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
53
112
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (249)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (123)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

The rooms are very clean and spacious. The rooms are more like an apartment rather than a hotel. Great location close to everything. Only 5 miles from the airport. Had a great view of the mountains and ocean in room 502.. Would most definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and for the nice comments. We hope to serve your Anchorage hotel needs again in the future! Best regards, John and Staff of Anchorage Grand Hotel More 

Los Angeles
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Oh, wait - never mind they can't afford it. I have never seen a hotel post a price list for EVERY single item in the room. I tried to attach a picture of the price list (dated November 2014) but my picture may be too blurry. Let me give you an idea as to what this fine establishment will charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review

We regret you had such a poor experience at the Anchorage Grand Hotel. Since you stayed with us 3 or 4 nights, if you had alerted us you were not happy at any time, you would have been welcome to check out. You state that you did not like the fact that we have a "price list" in the room... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I stayed here with wife in October 2014 for 5 days. Let me say it in simple terms. If I were to go Anchorage again... I shall not bother to search and compare hotels. I would straight book Grand Anchorage without any hesitation. It has been very comfortable in size and clean in all aspects. Very conveniently located within the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the nice review. We work hard to offer a great value, and it makes us feel good to get nice comments, such as yours, from guests who recognize a good value received. Please come back to visit us again. Happy Holidays! John & Staff at Anchorage Grand Hotel More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This hotel is pretty conveniently located downtown, the staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, sufficiently modern, and quite nice in general. Really can't think of any complaints aside from lacking an airport shuttle (though admittedly I'm not sure how many downtown Anchorage hotels do offer a shuttle service).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the awesome review! We appreciate you staying with us, and hope you come back to visit us again. We are biased, but do feel like we offer an unbeatable value at the Anchorage Grand Hotel. Warm regards, John More 

U.S.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Had a killer internet deal. I think that it must have been an apartment building, there are 31 suites, very large suits. We had a king, with couch, chair, desk, kitchen with kitchen table all in a very large room. The girls at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They also bake fresh chocolate chip cookies late in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ihsn2012, Owner at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive and kind comments. Best to you and yours, John and Staff at Anchorage Grand Hotel More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Good hotel good accommodations and close to downtown would stay here again but mybe a room on a higher floor or more facing away from the train station the sound of the train blowing its horn got me up in the middle of the night but besides that the room was nice with the kitchenette was very helpful saved me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Metuchen, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Flew into Anchorage from New Jersey on United not even a peanut, arrived 1am. Taxi to hotel $25. Great service for late arrivals. Delicious cookies. Short walk to rail station no problem with heavy luggage. Hotel decor is dated and little pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bude, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

After a noisy night in a well known downtown Anchorage hotel, followed by two even noisier nights in a downtown B&B (trucks passing within 50 yards all night; the free ear plugs by the bed should have been a clue; the owner even said she would normally charge me for leaving a night earlier than planned ... despite the "Vacancies"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
ihsn2012, General Manager at Anchorage Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that very nice review. Ours can be a thankless job, so it makes our hard work worthwhile to get an honest (objective) review from a well traveled individual. Our name, as you appropriately point out, might be a bit misleading in that we don't have the amenities of a 5 Star hotel (yet we don't indicate that... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Although the decor is quite dated it is in brilliant condition. For a 2 bedroom apartment close to town the value was excellent. The trains seem to have a curfew from 10 to 5 but blow their horns a number of times when moving. The fighters from the air force base are noisy in the daytime, but you'd get that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question