We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Anchorage hotels

Merrill Field Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Merrill Field Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Merrill Field Inn to your Saves list
32%
Ranked #53 of 69 Hotels in Anchorage
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    6
    10
    20
See reviews for
10
15
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Enumclaw
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We did a last minute trip for the Labor day weekend and finally found a room here. It is a short trip to downtown and could be walkable if you so desired. The shuttle service was great. They took us AND picked us up after several of our outings. It is a no frills place but was clean and even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The Merrill Field Inn is sort of a trucker type of place to stay. The room was clean but very dated. It did have a small kitchenette. It is right next to a General Aviation Airport and a major road, so there is a lot of traffic and small airplane noise. You deffinately need to have a car if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your feedback! I just wanted to let you know that during the Summer we do have a free shuttle service that goes to downtown, the International Airport, Merrill Field Airport and the train station. We will also go to specially requested places like a grocery store or the zoo if the shuttle does not have anything... More

Hoonah, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My wife has been fighting cancer for a year and a half. We had to extend our stay for her treatment because of complications. I reserved a handicap room on a credit card because we were on medicaid and I wanted to lock in a place for my wife to stay. We were informed on the last day of her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Hello. Once again, we apologize for our error and I can not express how bad I feel for having to ask you to leave. Despite our best efforts, over bookings do happen, even though we have systems in place to avoid it, like closing out our online booking services before filling up in order to leave a few rooms open... More

Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Like their continental breakfast and chest freezer for fish catch. Accommodations are adequate for the price. Staff members, especially the owner, are courteous. Will stay there again in the future in 2015.

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to know you were satisfied with your stay. Let us know if there is anything we can do to make you future stay more enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you next year! Jagie Minhas Merrill Field Inn Front Desk. More

Simi Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a medical emergency and had to return home to treat this problem. We called the hotel staff to tell them we could not keep our stay as planned. The staff lack any concern and had no compassion. No offer to refund a part of pre-paid purchase cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Hello, We apologize for how our front desk clerk responded to your situation. If there is a medical emergency or act of god we have measures to give guests a refund despite cancelling after the 48 hour deadline. Usually if we can sell the room, we won't charge you the cancellation penalty. However, this does vary on how the booking... More

Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Just read a review that said $80 for 2 queen beds! we booked through bookings.com and paid $157! Be careful what you pay for your room in this sleazy motel folks, read the reviews to see what other people pay, the price range is huge. In my opinion $80 or less is what the price should be!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Hello. I just wanted to let you know that $80 is the rate for a room with one Queen Bed in the Winter (September 15th - May 14th). As with almost every hotel and motel in Anchorage our rates go up in the Summer (May 15th - September 14th) due to increased demand. Our standard rate for a room with... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked through Hotwire because we expected a decent rate for a decent hotel. We paid $131 through Hotwire, but walk-up rates are $117. Room includes a breakfast served between 6:30-9:00 that consisted of coffee, eggs (scrambled and boiled), bread choice, hash browns, sausage, muffin, and orange. We got to the breakfast at 8:00 and there were only a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Merrill Field Inn would like to thank you for staying with us. We will inform our housekeeping staff of the issues you noted so we provide the best and cleanest rooms possible. We apologize about the breakfast and any negative attitude you received from the front desk clerk. Usually we have two employees working the desk... More

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The service was excellent. My room had a clean bed, nice kitchen, and a clean bathroom. It was a two minute drive from downtown Anchorage, and I liked how it had a free shuttle. The management told me about nice places to visit while I stayed there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Terrible, very noisy. Rooms had mildew smell, burn holes in the bed spreads. Girl at check in had no idea how to operate the room phones. The traffic noise from roads and airport were horrible. Seemingly no insulation from that or from the guests upstairs. Not worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We got this hotel thru Hotel.com and were paying $60 more per night because of that! So my complaint is more with Hotel.com. over the price. We paid $200 (could have stayed at the Sheritan for that price), and the walk-in price was $139. Like the other reviews stated, the area across from the air field is a bit run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Merrill Field Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Merrill Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Field Inn

Address: 420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Merrill Field Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Merrill Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrill Field Hotel

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay