We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Anchorage hotels

Merrill Field Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Merrill Field Inn to your Saves list
Merrill Field Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
34%
Ranked #52 of 69 hotels in Anchorage
  • Overview
  • Reviews (47)
  • Photos (5)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    9
    20
See reviews for
9
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoonah, Alaska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife has been fighting cancer for a year and a half. We had to extend our stay for her treatment because of complications. I reserved a handicap room on a credit card because we were on medicaid and I wanted to lock in a place for my wife to stay. We were informed on the last day of her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Like their continental breakfast and chest freezer for fish catch. Accommodations are adequate for the price. Staff members, especially the owner, are courteous. Will stay there again in the future in 2015.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simi Valley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We had a medical emergency and had to return home to treat this problem. We called the hotel staff to tell them we could not keep our stay as planned. The staff lack any concern and had no compassion. No offer to refund a part of pre-paid purchase cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Just read a review that said $80 for 2 queen beds! we booked through bookings.com and paid $157! Be careful what you pay for your room in this sleazy motel folks, read the reviews to see what other people pay, the price range is huge. In my opinion $80 or less is what the price should be!

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Hello. I just wanted to let you know that $80 is the rate for a room with one Queen Bed in the Winter (September 15th - May 14th). As with almost every hotel and motel in Anchorage our rates go up in the Summer (May 15th - September 14th) due to increased demand. Our standard rate for a room with... More

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked through Hotwire because we expected a decent rate for a decent hotel. We paid $131 through Hotwire, but walk-up rates are $117. Room includes a breakfast served between 6:30-9:00 that consisted of coffee, eggs (scrambled and boiled), bread choice, hash browns, sausage, muffin, and orange. We got to the breakfast at 8:00 and there were only a few... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
merrillfield, Front Office Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

We here at the Merrill Field Inn would like to thank you for staying with us. We will inform our housekeeping staff of the issues you noted so we provide the best and cleanest rooms possible. We apologize about the breakfast and any negative attitude you received from the front desk clerk. Usually we have two employees working the desk... More

Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The service was excellent. My room had a clean bed, nice kitchen, and a clean bathroom. It was a two minute drive from downtown Anchorage, and I liked how it had a free shuttle. The management told me about nice places to visit while I stayed there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Terrible, very noisy. Rooms had mildew smell, burn holes in the bed spreads. Girl at check in had no idea how to operate the room phones. The traffic noise from roads and airport were horrible. Seemingly no insulation from that or from the guests upstairs. Not worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We got this hotel thru Hotel.com and were paying $60 more per night because of that! So my complaint is more with Hotel.com. over the price. We paid $200 (could have stayed at the Sheritan for that price), and the walk-in price was $139. Like the other reviews stated, the area across from the air field is a bit run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This isn't fancy, but it's got plenty of room, was clean, had a comfortable bed, was quiet and had a very helpful shuttle that did pickups at the airport or Egan center for those being dropped off or to a cruise in Seward. The location isn't in an ideal spot for walking around, but it didn't feel unsafe. The shuttle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tok, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Clean and cheap you get what you pay for. Lots of noise from customers not the management s fault they do try to keep it quiet. Bad location but friendly service. Clean rooms though and there are chairs for smoking outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Merrill Field Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Merrill Field Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrill Field Inn

Address: 420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Merrill Field Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Merrill Field Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merrill Field Hotel

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Anchorage with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merrill Field Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer