We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Merrill Field Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
420 Sitka St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Merrill Field Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    9
    8
    13
    27
See reviews for
15
19
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted a cheap hotel to base from for two nights before leaving on a 7 day cruise. Found it! Def a no frills motel, with grungy room. The carpet was dirty and the room floor wasn't even level in one section. HOWEVER, Anchorage hotels r crazy expensive, especially during peak season. Via Priceline, I got this place for $91/night. THE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place isnt terrible on its own merrit, but its all about the location, location, location. This place is sandwhiched between a porn warehouse and a chineese restaurant that is also sandwhiched between two one way roads. So in the space of one hundreed feet you have loud, smelly and questionable. The rooms are old and peeling, which you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Anchorage hotels

St. George, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed after flying into ANC. A very nice shuttle driver picked us up even though very late at night. Rooms were clean and were just what we needed for a quick overnight stay before getting on cruise. Breakfast was a nice surprise. Shuttle to train was very appreciated too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rude staff, rooms filthy, not close to Anchorage Ted Stevens airport, Van is old. Hotel over 25 minutes away from Anchorage Ted Stevens airport. Not in a good location for the tourist. Transportation driver ran a red light while not paying attention to the road talking to a person in the front seat. Thanks goodness no cars or people were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Due to a delay in car rental and a major traffic jam, we chose to stay in Anchorage instead. I randomly called Merrill Field Inn from a Milepost ad and booked a room sight unseen. Upon arrival, it did look sketchy but we were so tired there was no backing out. Stayed in a ground room floor on the end.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I am covered with bites as type. Our last night we got up in the middle of the night to go to the airport and I found two bedbugs in my bed. It is worth noting that the room had only been partially cleaned that day. When I reported the bedbugs at the front desk as we checked out, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Dirty. Scary. Do you ever get a gut feeling that what you are about to do is a mistake? Upon arrival at the hotel I had this feeling. As we passed by the strip club next door, my wife said she could not stay here. You should know that she is a very confident woman who is comfortable walking around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Dan, Thank you for your feedback! While we can do nothing about our location, we would appreciate any recommendations about how we could appear less "scary." I do think it is concerning that your wife felt the need to have a firearm while sitting in our parking lot. We take great effort to provide a safe, respectable location for our... More 

houtzdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I stayed at this motel again ..I have stayed here several times over the years..The shuttle picked us up at the Airport ,,that is always nice to avoid the stress after a long flight..The staff at this motel is more like family than business people..The rooms are very clean and safe..The lot is also clean and safe..I highly recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Rob, Thank you for your review, your feedback is greatly appreciated! We have taken great effort in improving our accommodations in the last few years and we appreciate you noticing. As a family run business we understand how important good customer is. Our free airport shuttle is a pretty big selling point for many guests, and while we don't advertise... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

Run! This place was horrible. The room was dirty and the sheets were not clean. The front desk was not helpful at all! There is WiFi, but is practically unusable because it is so slow. Overall the building was rundown. Not worth the price AT ALL. You are much better off finding a different place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Thehew, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear your stay was bad. An unclean room is unacceptable and we have been taking efforts to ensure every room is double checked for cleanliness. The wi-fi does tend to get pretty slow when there is a large amount of load, however it is usable for e-mail and web browsing,... More 

Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Picked the "motel" because its price fit our budget and it had a shuttle service from the airport. There was a minimal continental breakfast which most guests took to their room and there was wifi. Other than that, the room was basic, not inviting whatsoever and the general state of the building and stairways were very run down.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merrillfield, Manager at Merrill Field Inn, responded to this review

Geeta, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our free shuttle and wi-fi. I'm not sure what you mean by "minimal continental breakfast" since we have white and wheat bread, English muffins, sausage, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, hash browns, regular muffins, orange slices, juice, coffee and tea. I would think that would be considered more than... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
1.1 mi away
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
GuestHouse Anchorage Inn
#35 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Long House Alaskan Hotel
Long House Alaskan Hotel
#38 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Lion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anchorage
1.3 mi away
The Anchorage Lofts Hotel
The Anchorage Lofts Hotel
#36 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay