We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copper Whale Inn

2.5 of 5 440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copper Whale Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    52
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
76
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a find! Excellent location in Downtown Anchorage with cozy rooms, clean bathroom and a relaxing communal area for breakfast (included). My flight in to Anchorage was delayed until midnight, I emailed Glen and he could not be more helpful. Gave me instructions for out-of-hours access and directions to my room. It was such a welcome sight to arrive after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We will look forward to hosting you again, hopefully sooner than later. More 

Houston, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the place if you want to roam the shopping district of downtown Anchorage. Breakfast area provides warmth with gas log fireplace. Parking is a problem with none provided, must park on metered side street. Rooms are modest. Light continental breakfast was disappointing but may be necessary recognizing they have 15 rooms and would be difficult to prepare and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in our breakfast, as we do receive many compliments on the nice variety we offer. More 

Caryville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Copper Whale is one of the few Anchorage B&Bs that are open during the winter, which is when we were there. It's walking distance to all the downtown stuff and a kids park a block away. The views of Cook Inlet and the mountains out some of the upstairs bedrooms and the living room area where you eat are quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and we will hope to host you again. More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed here for the Anchorage International Film Festival for 4 days and had a wonderful stay. Tim and Glenn were very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect with a beautiful view, and we especially liked the bowl of M&M's that welcomed us everyday. The continental breakfast was very nice with good quality food, coffee and hot water always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kudos. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. We had several people mention internet difficulties around the same time, and were having issues in the office, too, even with the wired connection. Our service provider was having problems and this has now been resolved. My apologies for that inconvenience. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Had a great, but brief, stay at the Copper Whale. From the moment I made my reservations, I felt welcomed and assured that I'd made a good choice. Glenn, the general manager, provided detailed instructions for after-hours arrival and even gave personal recommendations for dinner. There was a slight mix-up with my room upon arrival. I never did really understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Indeed, we were having issues with our wi-fi during your visit, and I am sorry for any inconvenience. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! More 

Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Stayed here in October while on businesses and thoroughly enjoyed the warm welcome, fantastic ambiance, comfortable suite and hearty breakfast. A great little boutique property in downtown Anchorage, close to everything you need! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words! Please come again, we will look forward to hosting you. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Finding the copper Whale Inn was a happy accident for me. The moment you walk through the front door you get a cosy homely feeling. I stayed in the Whale Room initially which had a wonderful view out to the inlet. This room does not have its own bathroom but the share bathroom is just outside the door and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your glowing review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you! More 

Narberth, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

within walking distance of downtown Anchorage sites and restaurants; we had a room looking towards the bay in the back building. decent breakfast spread. very close to Tony Knowles Coastal Trail and bike rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The location is hard to beat and it looks like you had one of our best ocean-view rooms. Glad you enjoyed it! More 

Seattle, WA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful and cozy oasis in downtown Anchorage. I checked in pretty late and our reservations were waiting for us. Rooms 10 and 11 are in the west building which are towards the water and separate from the main Inn. Very charming and a nice change from the chain hotels that are all around Anchorage. Very quaint. It's also one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We will hope to host you again on your next visit to Anchorage. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights here, the staff bent over backwards to help us - gave us great tips on restaurants, sights, etc. They have a great "living room space" where you can meet others and chat about the fun things to do or see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay