We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copper Whale Inn

Certificate of Excellence
440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
Review This Hotel

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    54
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
77
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
california
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Anachoarge has a few B&B's but many are just rooms in someones home. This is a true B&B. Location is very good for just about everything. Room are clean, breakfast is simple but good. We have stayed there in winter and summer. Had a good time whenever there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ir u are looking for a home away from home this is th place. It is very s,small, cozy and intimate. The location is very good and the rooms although a little cluttered are reasonable! The "bathroom" is hardly a bathroom only a small,washbasin and the shower and toilets are separate - not too bad! Sweet place for those who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, and that we re-connected you with your phone before you departed! More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

What a find! Excellent location in Downtown Anchorage with cozy rooms, clean bathroom and a relaxing communal area for breakfast (included). My flight in to Anchorage was delayed until midnight, I emailed Glen and he could not be more helpful. Gave me instructions for out-of-hours access and directions to my room. It was such a welcome sight to arrive after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We will look forward to hosting you again, hopefully sooner than later. More 

Houston, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is the place if you want to roam the shopping district of downtown Anchorage. Breakfast area provides warmth with gas log fireplace. Parking is a problem with none provided, must park on metered side street. Rooms are modest. Light continental breakfast was disappointing but may be necessary recognizing they have 15 rooms and would be difficult to prepare and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in our breakfast, as we do receive many compliments on the nice variety we offer. More 

Caryville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Copper Whale is one of the few Anchorage B&Bs that are open during the winter, which is when we were there. It's walking distance to all the downtown stuff and a kids park a block away. The views of Cook Inlet and the mountains out some of the upstairs bedrooms and the living room area where you eat are quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and we will hope to host you again. More 

Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed here for the Anchorage International Film Festival for 4 days and had a wonderful stay. Tim and Glenn were very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect with a beautiful view, and we especially liked the bowl of M&M's that welcomed us everyday. The continental breakfast was very nice with good quality food, coffee and hot water always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kudos. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. We had several people mention internet difficulties around the same time, and were having issues in the office, too, even with the wired connection. Our service provider was having problems and this has now been resolved. My apologies for that inconvenience. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Had a great, but brief, stay at the Copper Whale. From the moment I made my reservations, I felt welcomed and assured that I'd made a good choice. Glenn, the general manager, provided detailed instructions for after-hours arrival and even gave personal recommendations for dinner. There was a slight mix-up with my room upon arrival. I never did really understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Indeed, we were having issues with our wi-fi during your visit, and I am sorry for any inconvenience. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! More 

Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Stayed here in October while on businesses and thoroughly enjoyed the warm welcome, fantastic ambiance, comfortable suite and hearty breakfast. A great little boutique property in downtown Anchorage, close to everything you need! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words! Please come again, we will look forward to hosting you. More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Finding the copper Whale Inn was a happy accident for me. The moment you walk through the front door you get a cosy homely feeling. I stayed in the Whale Room initially which had a wonderful view out to the inlet. This room does not have its own bathroom but the share bathroom is just outside the door and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

THANK YOU so much for your glowing review. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you! More 

Narberth, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

within walking distance of downtown Anchorage sites and restaurants; we had a room looking towards the bay in the back building. decent breakfast spread. very close to Tony Knowles Coastal Trail and bike rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The location is hard to beat and it looks like you had one of our best ocean-view rooms. Glad you enjoyed it! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question