We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copper Whale Inn

Certificate of Excellence
440 L St., Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    56
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
78
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (28)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Ketchikan, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Location is everything in Alaska, and this B&B is in a great spot in downtown Anchorage. It's also right next to a bicycle rental place, and several public parking areas. The Copper Whale is a nice, clean place. The innkeepers were very friendly. Our room was on the smallish side, but it had everything we needed. The bathroom was nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit with us! More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of those places where no matter how far you have travelled, you feel like you are home. The hosts have taken care of everything, with comfortable beds, clean en suite facilities and a pleasant breakfast in the living room of the main building. The hotel is located in three hisotrical wooden houses that feel completely out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Our main house was the first architecturally-designed home in Anchorage. In this year of Anchorage's centennial celebration, the house is 75 years old and we have been operating for 25 years as an Inn. Our west house is 20 years old this year, and the architects... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

I stayed here for about 6 nights whilst I was there for the Iditarod. My room was lovely with a gas open fire which gave it a lovely homely feel and free wifi too. It was well within walking distance of down town. Breakfast was continental so being English I did miss my bacon !! the muffins on offer were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review! I hope we will have the good fortune to host you once again. More 

california
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Anachoarge has a few B&B's but many are just rooms in someones home. This is a true B&B. Location is very good for just about everything. Room are clean, breakfast is simple but good. We have stayed there in winter and summer. Had a good time whenever there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review! More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Ir u are looking for a home away from home this is th place. It is very s,small, cozy and intimate. The location is very good and the rooms although a little cluttered are reasonable! The "bathroom" is hardly a bathroom only a small,washbasin and the shower and toilets are separate - not too bad! Sweet place for those who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit, and that we re-connected you with your phone before you departed! More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

What a find! Excellent location in Downtown Anchorage with cozy rooms, clean bathroom and a relaxing communal area for breakfast (included). My flight in to Anchorage was delayed until midnight, I emailed Glen and he could not be more helpful. Gave me instructions for out-of-hours access and directions to my room. It was such a welcome sight to arrive after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We will look forward to hosting you again, hopefully sooner than later. More 

Houston, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

This is the place if you want to roam the shopping district of downtown Anchorage. Breakfast area provides warmth with gas log fireplace. Parking is a problem with none provided, must park on metered side street. Rooms are modest. Light continental breakfast was disappointing but may be necessary recognizing they have 15 rooms and would be difficult to prepare and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed in our breakfast, as we do receive many compliments on the nice variety we offer. More 

Caryville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Copper Whale is one of the few Anchorage B&Bs that are open during the winter, which is when we were there. It's walking distance to all the downtown stuff and a kids park a block away. The views of Cook Inlet and the mountains out some of the upstairs bedrooms and the living room area where you eat are quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit, and we will hope to host you again. More 

Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

We stayed here for the Anchorage International Film Festival for 4 days and had a wonderful stay. Tim and Glenn were very friendly and helpful, the location is perfect with a beautiful view, and we especially liked the bowl of M&M's that welcomed us everyday. The continental breakfast was very nice with good quality food, coffee and hot water always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kudos. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. We had several people mention internet difficulties around the same time, and were having issues in the office, too, even with the wired connection. Our service provider was having problems and this has now been resolved. My apologies for that inconvenience. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Had a great, but brief, stay at the Copper Whale. From the moment I made my reservations, I felt welcomed and assured that I'd made a good choice. Glenn, the general manager, provided detailed instructions for after-hours arrival and even gave personal recommendations for dinner. There was a slight mix-up with my room upon arrival. I never did really understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. Indeed, we were having issues with our wi-fi during your visit, and I am sorry for any inconvenience. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities