We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 93 Seattle hotels

The College Inn

1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105 (University District)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The College Inn to your Saves list
The College Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
59%
Ranked #73 of 93 hotels in Seattle
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013
erin h Bellingham, Washington
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
5
16
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Comfy bed, great location, communal bathroom was clean, but… Internet disconnects every 10min, walls are paper thin, it's currently 2am and I'm listening to the drunk guys above me argue. Reception isn't 24hrs so there's no way to complain short of calling the cops or leaving a bad review here. Don't stay here on the weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christudor, Owner at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. As you can read this situation is definitely not our normal guest experience. We actually do have staff on duty overnight. For our other guests, you may reach them by our doorbell at the front or by dialing 0 from our guest room phones. I am so sorry for the rude... More

Bellingham, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am so glad I book a room at The College Inn. My room was clean, comfortable and quaint and i loved the charm of the hotel's historic building. The front desk staff was friendly and super helpful- looking up directions and advising me on travel times to my destination in traffic. The breakfast buffet had a great variety and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Hotel is located within the University of Washington Campus. It is therefore the ideal place to stay when visiting your children studying at the University. Rooms are clean, but basic. An iron in the room to press your clothes was a bonus. Breakfast is Buffet style therefore unlimited. Choice is decent. The only inconvenience is that bathrooms are shared,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Please have no high expectations of this -so called- European College Inn, and you won't be disappointed. Being from Europe I don't get why this is called 'European' (except maybe for the showers 7 doors down the hall, that we had to share with 15 or so other hall mates). Actually found the "European" reference somewhat offensive. The location was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The stay has been nice, pleasant and no frill. Visiting University of Washington, I needed a place near to the school. The college is a short walk to the school and provided a good base to visit places in Seattle. The room is clean, even though the room was not cleaned on the 1st day. Subsequently, house keeping standard improved.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Not quaint just tatty and a bit smelly. Ladies bathroom a real schlep from the room. Shower door swings open while you are in there. Toilet door does not reach the floor and key to front door does not work properly. We had to let at least 3 poor souls in who could not get the door lock to work.... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christudor, Manager at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have addressed the front door issue and we would like to assure everyone the issue has been resolved. We are a shared bath facility and I am sorry you were not located closer to the bathrooms. We are investigating your concerns with the shower and bathroom doors. As you can tell by our reviews... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Became sceptical after reading some of the reviews so I thought I'd tell you my experience over the last couple days. Firstly it was very convenient for what I had on at the university. It is directly adjacent the western side of the campus (which is a beautiful campus). Anthony was friendly and helpful when I checked in and whenever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed there for 3 days, havent seen a single soul, no reception, no help, not even guests! Comfy place, clean rooms, nice spot but very boring. Went to the bar downstairs, rude bartender. Coffee? Breakfast? No where to be found.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christudor, Owner at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I believe you may have checked in after hours. We have a fully staffed reception on our fourth floor. This includes a coffee and tea service from 7 a -11 p. We also serve breakfast on the fourth floor as well from 7 a - 9 a Monday through Friday and 8 a -10 a... More

Cliffside Park, NJ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

A friend booked a group of 8 to us stay here. I rarely write less than stellar reviews but The College Inn left much to be desired. To begin with, we were met by a rude representative at the door who told us the place was sold out. We informed him that we were meeting friends who had checked in.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christudor, Owner at The College Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for your experience. I will speak with the person that you met upon your arrival. His reception should be welcoming but informative about our policy to only allow only register guests in our secured building. Our policy is to only allow register guests into rooms when they do not have their keys.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for an excellent value a little bit off the beaten path, the College Inn is just the place. It's spotlessly clean and cozy with an Old World feel. The bed was great (one of my top criteria) and the service helpful and friendly. The included continental breakfast and coffee were enough to make a good start to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Been to The College Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The College Inn

Also Known As:
The College Hotel Seattle
College Hotel Seattle
The College Hotel
Address: 4000 University Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 93 hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The College Inn 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The College Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The College Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.