We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sorrento Hotel

#24 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Special Offer
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sorrento Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sorrento Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

652 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    417
    160
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
78
270
51
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (652)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (190)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Normandy Park, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We always enjoy the artsy, quirky, cozy lounge for an after work "toddy" or drink. On this evening, we were bidding farewell to a co-worker as she embarks on her trip back east to Charlotte. There were 8 of us ladies and we selected a comfy corner in the "Fireside" room. We had plenty of room for 8 women. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is more luxurious in person than is conveyed on it's website. The service was excellent, and the ambience and decor were romantic and tasteful. I have already recommended this place to friends and will most definitely return on my next trip to Seattle. It is perfectly located - just a short walk into the bustling downtown center but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very cute, quirky hotel - decent sized rooms, fantastic beds and an excellent restaurant and bar. It's close to everything. We had a couple of problems with things in our rooms (air conditioning that wouldn't turn off and a lamp that wouldn't turn on) and the management responded really quickly - they were great to deal with.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love this hotel but since we live in Seattle we had never stayed there but we decided that this was a perfect time since we were having a big party that night. Room was great; all the usual great things, big bed, good linen, bathrobes, fluffy towels, in-room press-pot for coffee. We have had several very successful parties in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a cute spot, wonderful staff, comfortable room! The Sorrento was in a different part of Seattle than we've stayed in before, and it was nice to be high on the hill for a change. Pike Place was still walking distance, so you didn't feel cut off from the charm of downtown Seattle, but the nearby neighborhoods were also nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here due to the charm it seemed to have online. We weren't disappointed. Bursting with character this hotel was perfect for us. Only complaints would be the tiny single elevator and the noisy dumpster collectors. Excellent beds. Good restaurant and good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No hot water, tub didn't drain, parking is horrible, and unless you are staying here because someone close to you is staying in the hospital the location has no enjoyable Seattle benefits. All and all, overpriced and improperly maintained. I will say though, the staff is extremely friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd always stayed in downtown when I visited Seattle, but decided to try something different this time, which led me to The Sorrento. I couldn't be happier about my choice. The First Hill location is quiet, mostly residential plus a couple hospitals. It's sort of between Capitol Hill and downtown, which are my favorite neighborhoods and within walking distance. Immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In April I spent five nights at the Sorrento Hotel. This is a place I have returned to very frequently over the past 30+ years many times several times a year. I was initially surprised at the modifications to the lobby and lobby bar area. The same rich wooden finishes still exist. However, gone are the large couches and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! "They are the standard against which I compare all other hotels that I visit." When I share this review with our staff, they will surely be proud of the work they're doing. I cannot thank you enough for your continued support of our property over all these years. I loved reading about your positive experience with each addition and... More 

karenr54
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff were professional and helpful during our stay. Check-in is after 4pm so it is not a good choice if you need to get ready for an afternoon wedding. Our room was on the 6th floor due to the proximity to friend's wedding reception held on the 7th floor but the bass/music from the DJ could be heard thru... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience, and with our staff. I'm happy to read they were able to assist you with locating your power cord. I will definitely review our lost and found procedures with our staff to ensure that items are returned promptly and efficiently. One of our greatest attributes occasionally proves as a challenge. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

365 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (40)
Viewed
Junior Suite (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Sorrento Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay