We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sorrento Hotel

#26 of 97 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Special Offer
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sorrento Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sorrento Hotel
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    154
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
76
266
48
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (637)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went for weekend getaway with our two boys (under ten) and stayed in a Sorrento Suite. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. Room services was delicious and prompt. I asked for two extra robes for the kids and they brought cookies as well. We needed a cab to the Pacific Science Center and the concierge arranged for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

The staff and I are thrilled that we could be part of your wonderful weekend here in Seattle. The staff truly enjoys finding ways to make a stay at Hotel Sorrento special for everyone. We hope to welcome you and your family back real soon. Angie M. Mykel More 

Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business in April for three days. Great experience. Requested a quiet and out of the way room -- got that and was also upgraded to a suite. Old and a little musty (you are in Seattle...) but also with beautiful wood floors and walls, furniture, and appointments. The rug in the brass elevator gets changed everyday and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! You have personally summed up many of the great things about our beloved Hotel Sorrento! With exception of the "little musty," I do love the old, beautiful wood and elegantly appointed rooms. It's wonderful reading your experience of our new restaurant and bar, The Dunbar Room. I will be sure to share your review with our staff and... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ugh. I've stayed many times at the Sorrento for business. My husband and I stayed last night and it was the worst experience - starting with the running toilet (all night) and the noisy wedding reception on the terrace two floors above. I called the front desk at 11:00 pm to let them know of both situations and the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Please let me begin by once again offering my sincerest apologies for your most recent experience. An experience like the one you had is simply inexcusable. While I know we have rectified this situation with you personally, I do think it's important to express how serious we take guest feedback. The management team is currently reviewing operating policy, identifying ways... More 

Georgetown, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had reservations at The Sorrento Hotel in March for four nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly staff. It was located on the metro line and had an excellent restaurant and a scrupulous dinner. Located near a hospital, convenience store , drug store, bakery and a few restaurants. A great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kindly, Angie Mykel General Manager Hotel Sorrento More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We come to Seattle once a year. Have stayed at other hotels, but this is our favorite. We like the location...Entire staff is great..Very accommodating. We asked for an early, early arrival..no problem...Room is large, with a separate sitting room..very clean...fabulous bed..a lot of pillows, which we love. The restaurant has great food....great location to walk..although it is on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I'm happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. The staff takes a great deal of pride in the service they provide. I will be sure to share these comments with them. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Warmly, Angie M. Mykel General Manager Hotel... More 

Alameda, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was definitely old world feeling. I loved that it had a nightly sundae treat for kids since I was travelling with my family. The hotel felt a bit understaffed as it was hard to get someone to answer questions or get towels in a timely manner. Our room was magnificent. My only sadness is that is was sooo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. While I'm happy to read your warm comments about your overall experience, I'm sorry to hear we left something to be desired in our timeliness of service. We certainly hope to have the opportunity to make this up and to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, Angie M. Mykel... More 

New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was lucky to snag a last minute reservation through "hotel tonight" app and I'm so glad I did. The hotel being the oldest in Seattle is beautifully preserved slightly shabby in the most charming way and very disarming in its luxury. The breakfast place is great! Almond milk ... Gluten free bread...and the team of people who work here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a charming review. All of the staff here at Hotel Sorrento take an immense amount of pride in the service they provide our guests. We're thrilled to be your "home away from home." We look forward to having you as our guest again soon! Angie M. Mykel General Manager Hotel Sorrento More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is very quiet and clean, it's old but that part of its charm. They had candy in jars for you too enjoy down at the lobby one day and fruit the next. I had my 6year old daughter with me and she got a free "token" when we arrived to pick something from the toy chest and cookies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! All of these small delights are just part of the charm here at Hotel Sorrento. I certainly hope to welcome you back again soon! Warmly, Angie M. Mykel General Manager Hotel Sorrento More 

Vashon
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hotel elevator out of order. Both restaurants in hotel closed for private parties. Meal in lobby/bar area very drafty since near front door. Room was well appointed and comfortable. Staff helpful. Convenient from ferry dock and near Swedish Medical Center

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Hotel Sorrento recently opened a new restaurant, and it seems the opening festivities caused some disruption. I'm sorry to hear this. Please know that your enjoyment and comfort are our utmost concern. I certainly hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards,... More 

Hanford, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Horrible room . Room unclean. We stayed 4 days and the room was cleaned only once. We had to beg for that! Do not use their Russian driver. He quotes you one price then at the end he triples the price! Very unscrupulous! Worst hotel experience of my life!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay