We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sorrento Hotel

#24 of 98 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
900 Madison St., Seattle, WA 98104
Special Offer
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Jetsetter to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sorrento Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sorrento Hotel
Add Photo

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    416
    160
    45
    21
    9
See reviews for
78
270
51
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (651)
  • Mar-May only
    (145)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (216)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is more luxurious in person than is conveyed on it's website. The service was excellent, and the ambience and decor were romantic and tasteful. I have already recommended this place to friends and will most definitely return on my next trip to Seattle. It is perfectly located - just a short walk into the bustling downtown center but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very cute, quirky hotel - decent sized rooms, fantastic beds and an excellent restaurant and bar. It's close to everything. We had a couple of problems with things in our rooms (air conditioning that wouldn't turn off and a lamp that wouldn't turn on) and the management responded really quickly - they were great to deal with.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
seattle, wa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We love this hotel but since we live in Seattle we had never stayed there but we decided that this was a perfect time since we were having a big party that night. Room was great; all the usual great things, big bed, good linen, bathrobes, fluffy towels, in-room press-pot for coffee. We have had several very successful parties in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a cute spot, wonderful staff, comfortable room! The Sorrento was in a different part of Seattle than we've stayed in before, and it was nice to be high on the hill for a change. Pike Place was still walking distance, so you didn't feel cut off from the charm of downtown Seattle, but the nearby neighborhoods were also nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here due to the charm it seemed to have online. We weren't disappointed. Bursting with character this hotel was perfect for us. Only complaints would be the tiny single elevator and the noisy dumpster collectors. Excellent beds. Good restaurant and good service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No hot water, tub didn't drain, parking is horrible, and unless you are staying here because someone close to you is staying in the hospital the location has no enjoyable Seattle benefits. All and all, overpriced and improperly maintained. I will say though, the staff is extremely friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd always stayed in downtown when I visited Seattle, but decided to try something different this time, which led me to The Sorrento. I couldn't be happier about my choice. The First Hill location is quiet, mostly residential plus a couple hospitals. It's sort of between Capitol Hill and downtown, which are my favorite neighborhoods and within walking distance. Immediately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In April I spent five nights at the Sorrento Hotel. This is a place I have returned to very frequently over the past 30+ years many times several times a year. I was initially surprised at the modifications to the lobby and lobby bar area. The same rich wooden finishes still exist. However, gone are the large couches and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Wow! "They are the standard against which I compare all other hotels that I visit." When I share this review with our staff, they will surely be proud of the work they're doing. I cannot thank you enough for your continued support of our property over all these years. I loved reading about your positive experience with each addition and... More 

karenr54
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were professional and helpful during our stay. Check-in is after 4pm so it is not a good choice if you need to get ready for an afternoon wedding. Our room was on the 6th floor due to the proximity to friend's wedding reception held on the 7th floor but the bass/music from the DJ could be heard thru... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words regarding your experience, and with our staff. I'm happy to read they were able to assist you with locating your power cord. I will definitely review our lost and found procedures with our staff to ensure that items are returned promptly and efficiently. One of our greatest attributes occasionally proves as a challenge. We... More 

Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here a few years ago during my first trip to Seattle. I specifically chose the Sorrento because of its history, and I wasn't disappointed. The lobby and layout are very clubby and distinguished--it's really charming and all the touches are thoughtful. This is a dog-friendly hotel which made it especially likeable to me, even though I didn't bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angie M, General Manager at The Sorrento Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I agree with you about the dog-friendly aspect of our hotel. There's some charm in watching a happy pup, wag his tail while walking through the lobby. I am usually the one stopping and greeting each one of these "special" guests. I'm happy to read you enjoyed your suite, the amenities and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

363 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (40)
Viewed
Junior Suite (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (26)
Viewed
Other (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay