We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Skagway B&Bs / inns

The White House

Save Saved
You added The White House to your Saves list
Eighth & Main Sts, Box 41, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Bed & Bath Rates
The White House
Ranked #2 of 4 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
33
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Wasington State
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at The White House two nights--one before and after doing the Chilkoot Trail. The location is perfect because it's away from the crazy crush of cruise ship humanity in Downtown but still an easy walk to there if you want to shop or go to restaurants. The staff and owners were super helpful and accommodating--fantastic service! Our King... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“...no matter how avid they themselves may be for praise and appreciation, people are often niggardly in giving it to others, however merited it is.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt, You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life. Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Safe travels. John and Jan Tronrud More

Fernie, BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Our first impression of this hotel was good. Lovely looking from the outside; main floor was nicely decorated with interesting antiques and quiet places to sit and read. The diningroom had complimentary tea and cookies. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However our room was a real disappointment. It was spacious but sterile, uninspiring and almost institution like....stark white... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Just because it isn't perfect, doesn't mean it isn't awesome.” ― M.R. Mathias, The Sword and the Dragon. I am pleased to hear we succeeded with a good first impression. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your particular room. So often that is the case when one has to book something more than they were looking for. The furnishings... More

England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Before I arrived, I had anticipated that The White House would be a conventional B&B, but in actual fact it is more truly a small hotel, as the owners do not live on the premises and it has rather more bedrooms than most B&Bs. Skagway is a small town and the hotel is only a short distance from the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Too much of a good thing can be wonderful!” ― Mae West. Thank you for your detailed and well defined review of our place. The ladies running the place in my absence are very thoughtful and detail minded and we are very lucky to have them working with us. We do live on site, in the refurbished army barracks, right... More

Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I came in on the Alaskan Ferry System to spend two nights and three days. What a treat the White House B&B turned out to be for us. A 1908 house with real character and great people running the B&B. Our room was on the second floor and very very quiet as well as clean and furnished... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“In ordinary life we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give, and that it is only with gratitude that life becomes rich.” ― Dietrich Bonhoeffer Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. Looks like you had a fine visit to our little paradise. Safe travels randy F. More

Westfield, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This was just a really great place to stay in Skagway! The building was restored in 1990, after the 1977 fire had caused considerable damage. They were able to bring it back to it's earlier luster. The rooms each have private baths and have nice touches like handmade quilts and wall hangings. Breakfast was fun, we met other patrons from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Gratitude is not only the greatest of virtues, but the parent of all others.” ― Marcus Tullius Cicero Thank you for the nice write up. I will make sure that Kate, Chelsey and Alex see it as well. We have three fantastic ladies working with John this summer At the White House and we are ever grateful for their attention... More

Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a very comfortable two nights here. We had room 101 on the ground floor which was huge. It is within easy walking distance of the centre of Skagway. The town is lovely when there are no cruise ships in! The breakfasts were OK and the homemade muffins excellent. It was a shame that there was no fresh fruit,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do actually serve fresh fruit as well as canned - apples or oranges. Sorry you missed them. Hope you enjoyed your time in Alaska, I understand there are a number of similarities to NZ. Safe travels. “We must find time to stop and thank the people who make a... More

Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently stayed at this historic looking B and B while touring around the Yukon and Alaska. The room was comfortable as was the bed. We were travelling with a small child and when we arrived the play pen was set up in our room which was as added bonus. The hosts were pleasant and friendly. The breakfast was "ok"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Appreciate your kind words. We aren't licensed for "cook to order" and have dedicated a full page on our website outlining our breakfast, so folks know what they are getting. Safe travels Ashley _083. Much thanks ... “Piglet noticed that even though he had a Very Small Heart, it could... More

Whitehorse, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here twice now. A little pricier than other options but well worth the extra $'s. Clean, tastefully decorated, homey rooms. Simple, fresh items for breakfast. Friendly hosts and pretty much anywhere you want to go is within walking distance. Highly recommend this B & B.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind endorsement and thanks for coming back to us again. We are doing our best to hold rates down. We raised them this year for the first time in five years. We hope that the amenities we offer at no additional charge, such as wireless Internet, Continental breakfast buffet and the ever popular cookie jar help... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This renovated B&B decorated with antiques, a little off the beaten path, but the shuttle service will provide inexpensive transportation if you figure it out. It's a long walk from the ferry! In an otherwise tacky, touristy town, this is a calm retreat. You'll be greeted with fresh cookies in the cookie jar each afternoon. Lovely quilts adorn the wall.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your visit here on Trip Advisor. There are lots of gems in our touristy lil' town, and we are grateful you counted us to be one of them. For those traveling without their own transportation, we try to mention during the booking process and again in the confirmation that there is a... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We (3) just returned from a visit to Alaska where we stayed overnight at the White House. This is a beautifully restored home, conveniently located within walking distance to shopping, dining and attractions run by friendly hosts. Chelsey had been very friendly and helpful from the start of our communication and was the same in person. John had many suggestions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

I will make sure to pass on to Chelsey and John how helpful they were during your stay. We couldn't run our place without them, and Kate too ... it's a group effort. Thanks for taking the time to recognize their efforts. It is greatly appreciated. Safe travels. Jan More

Do you own or manage The White House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Eighth & Main Sts, Box 41, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

15 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The White House