We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House

Hotel website
Eighth & Main Sts, Box 41, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840
Special Price
Save $10 with AARP/AAA
The White House
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Drexel Hill PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After a long flight from PA the best place to start a vacation. Very accommodating for my 85yr old mother. The rooms were welcoming, comfortable and relaxing. Very comfy beds! Homemade muffins delicious! My favorite was the cookie jar, always filled with homemade, excellent cookies! Love all the books, pictures and different items all around the house. Met some very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you. John and Jan. "“Appreciation, not possession, makes a thing ours.” ― Marty Rubin." More 

Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second trip to The White House and it has remained the only place we would ever stay in Skagway. The beds are so comfortable you will not want to get up in the morning. But you need to get up in the morning to sample the wonderful muffins-the donut muffins are the best I have ever had.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Hope you are able to return for a third visit. Thank you for the kind words. Jan and John. "“Don't forget, a person's greatest emotional need is to feel appreciated.” ― H. Jackson Brown Jr., Life's Little Instruction Book: 511 Suggestions, Observations, and Reminders on How to Live a Happy and Rewarding Life." More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night in this beautiful B& B. It has large bedrooms with high ceilings, no A/C but plenty of fans which is in keeping with period of this house. The furnishings are very tasteful and the bathroom was absolutely gleaming it was so clean.the breakfast was very good and the owner was very attentive and sociable. An... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

We so very much appreciate your taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Warm regards, Jan and John ... "“Too much of a good thing can be wonderful!” ― Mae West." More 

South Central PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Not much to add. Great place. about 10 blocks from the ship docks, so you aren't bothered by the crowds, but it is a bit of a walk to get to the train depot. Now I need to add more characters to satisfy TripAdvisor. Sort of like the White House needs to get a license from the city before they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review while traveling. How 'bout all that sunshine we ordered up for you ?! The WPYR Train depot is 8 blocks from our place. If the walk is longer than one wants, the city shuttle is available and only $2 per person. Being larger than a traditional B&B, we opted to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

After several stays at budget hotels while through Alaska, I came to The White House in Skagway - what a delightful surprise! Charming, wonderful hosts and staff, loved the room, good breakfasts, coffee and cookies during the day, great location, interesting guests. I spent 3 nights there and loved my entire stay in Skagway. I doubt I'll be doing this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Sounds like you had an amazing trip through Southeast Alaska. Thanks for making us a part of it. Kind regards, Jan and John Tronrud. "One can pay back the loan of gold, but one dies forever in debt to those who are kind. ~Malayan Proverb" More 

Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014 via mobile

Our flight to Juneau was cancelled, and we needed a place to stay to catch the first morning flight. The White House was open and had a room. While checking in, we were invited to sample the host's freshly baked cookies, which kind of set the tone wonderfully! Our room had a great view of the cloudy mountains by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

Hope to see you again and next time the treats won't be unexpected. Kind regards, Jan and John Tronrud "Gratitude is the memory of the heart. ~Jean Baptiste Massieu, translated from French." More 

Wasington State
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed at The White House two nights--one before and after doing the Chilkoot Trail. The location is perfect because it's away from the crazy crush of cruise ship humanity in Downtown but still an easy walk to there if you want to shop or go to restaurants. The staff and owners were super helpful and accommodating--fantastic service! Our King... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“...no matter how avid they themselves may be for praise and appreciation, people are often niggardly in giving it to others, however merited it is.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt, You Learn by Living: Eleven Keys for a More Fulfilling Life. Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Safe travels. John and Jan Tronrud More 

Fernie, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Our first impression of this hotel was good. Lovely looking from the outside; main floor was nicely decorated with interesting antiques and quiet places to sit and read. The diningroom had complimentary tea and cookies. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However our room was a real disappointment. It was spacious but sterile, uninspiring and almost institution like....stark white... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Just because it isn't perfect, doesn't mean it isn't awesome.” ― M.R. Mathias, The Sword and the Dragon. I am pleased to hear we succeeded with a good first impression. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your particular room. So often that is the case when one has to book something more than they were looking for. The furnishings... More 

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Before I arrived, I had anticipated that The White House would be a conventional B&B, but in actual fact it is more truly a small hotel, as the owners do not live on the premises and it has rather more bedrooms than most B&Bs. Skagway is a small town and the hotel is only a short distance from the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“Too much of a good thing can be wonderful!” ― Mae West. Thank you for your detailed and well defined review of our place. The ladies running the place in my absence are very thoughtful and detail minded and we are very lucky to have them working with us. We do live on site, in the refurbished army barracks, right... More 

Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I came in on the Alaskan Ferry System to spend two nights and three days. What a treat the White House B&B turned out to be for us. A 1908 house with real character and great people running the B&B. Our room was on the second floor and very very quiet as well as clean and furnished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review

“In ordinary life we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give, and that it is only with gratitude that life becomes rich.” ― Dietrich Bonhoeffer Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your stay. Looks like you had a fine visit to our little paradise. Safe travels randy F. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities