We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murphy's Alaskan Inn

911 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Murphy\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

Seward is expensive in the summer, and this hotel is a good value for what it provides - a nice, clean, comfortable room but nothing fancy. The front desk clerk was very helpful and accommodating. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn Q
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015 via mobile

The price of accommodation in Seward is not cheap and this was one of the cheapest would could find for a family on a budget. Room and bathroom was clean and an easy walk into town. The staff who managed the hotel were very nice people and even gave us a free breakfast which was wonderful. Thank you :)

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

Considering that there really aren't any cheap rooms in Alaska during the summer months, finding a clean hotel that isn't going to cost you an arm and leg is a bonus. If you're looking for a no frills room that is clean, then this is your place. The place is in need of some serious updating, but it also is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

We made a reservation but never got a confirmation e-mail, no matter how many times we called or left a message for them, they were never able to send a confirmation mail. They assured that we did have a reservation and when we got there we did have a reservation (for the wrong number of nights... but fortunately for more... More 

Helpful?
Thank sylvia20
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

It was a basic Motel. I don't normally stay in Motels but there isn't much to choose from in Seward. The front desk lady was very nice. They let us check out late which helped a lot. The free shuttle in town takes you right next to the place. It was very basic accommodations but it works. It was hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken_from_Denver
Lusby
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

We enjoyed sitting on the little balcony and watching the harbor. While the room was basic and not at all luxurious it was clean and did include free wi-fi and breakfast down the street. A good value for the money.

Helpful?
Thank Maria V
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

First I want to make sure that it's know we did not sleep in the hotel. When I booked the room I specifically asked for a king bed and when we got there they no longer had a king bed. He didn't have the decency to call me knowing that I had to have a king size bed! We had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantel P

Travelers are raving about these Seward hotels

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

This place is ok. The rooms were clean and tiny. But lights were very dim. We stayed only for one night so it was kind of ok for us. The location is good, it is very near (walkable) from seward harbor. The view outside the room was awesome. If you are looking for a place only for night stay then... More 

Helpful?
Thank sennabanita
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

This property is not well maintained. There was gum on a chair, stuff on the floor not vacuumed, no pillowcase on one of the pillows and worst of all there were BEDBUGS. I was nailed pretty good on our two night stay in room 114, last weekend. See photo. Thats about 20% of the bites all over my body. I... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank leonnow2015
ownerandgeneralmgr, Manager at Murphy's Alaskan Inn, responded to this review

We were made aware of this situation after the guest was checking out. We inspected the room from top to bottom and found nothing except for two mosquitos on the ledge. As a guest, I experienced bed bugs at one property and my wife and I found them throughout the room. We looked stripped everything and didn't find one sign.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

My husband and I had planned a fun filled 3 day weekend away for our anniversary. We had stayed at this hotel before and it was a bit cheesy but clean and a good value. When we arrived I noticed there was some sticky substance on the wall like (I hope) soda. The bathroom floor and tub were very dirty... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobIngaCollins
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#5 of 15 in Seward
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#1 of 15 in Seward
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#3 of 15 in Seward
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 15 in Seward
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Seward
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay