We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Murphy's Alaskan Inn

911 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Hotel amenities
Murphy's Alaskan Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Seward
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Maria V Lusby
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    33
    16
    12
    4
See reviews for
19
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Lusby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed sitting on the little balcony and watching the harbor. While the room was basic and not at all luxurious it was clean and did include free wi-fi and breakfast down the street. A good value for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

First I want to make sure that it's know we did not sleep in the hotel. When I booked the room I specifically asked for a king bed and when we got there they no longer had a king bed. He didn't have the decency to call me knowing that I had to have a king size bed! We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Seward hotels

Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is ok. The rooms were clean and tiny. But lights were very dim. We stayed only for one night so it was kind of ok for us. The location is good, it is very near (walkable) from seward harbor. The view outside the room was awesome. If you are looking for a place only for night stay then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This property is not well maintained. There was gum on a chair, stuff on the floor not vacuumed, no pillowcase on one of the pillows and worst of all there were BEDBUGS. I was nailed pretty good on our two night stay in room 114, last weekend. See photo. Thats about 20% of the bites all over my body. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ownerandgeneralmgr, Manager at Murphy's Alaskan Inn, responded to this review

We were made aware of this situation after the guest was checking out. We inspected the room from top to bottom and found nothing except for two mosquitos on the ledge. As a guest, I experienced bed bugs at one property and my wife and I found them throughout the room. We looked stripped everything and didn't find one sign.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had planned a fun filled 3 day weekend away for our anniversary. We had stayed at this hotel before and it was a bit cheesy but clean and a good value. When we arrived I noticed there was some sticky substance on the wall like (I hope) soda. The bathroom floor and tub were very dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights. Room was clean. Nice view of the harbor, but the Seward baseball diamond was between us and water. It is a short hike to downtown and a short hike from the cruises. When we checked in the person behind the desk was not fluent in English and was a little hard to communicate with. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marshall, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were upgraded to the Murphy's Inn from the Marina motel down the street that is owned by the same people. Room was clean and the view of the water was nicer than that from the Marina. Outside stairs were steep and no elevator was available. Shower was roomy and the beds were comfortable. Parking was free and located on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is walking distance to downtown. The room had a full kitchen (stove, full size refrigerator, microwave, and dishes). Friendly staff. The beds aren't too comfortable. Only one pillow. Breakfast is included from a restaurant 3 blocks down (the food at the restaurant is fair). The rooms are unique. Uses old fashioned keys.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchor Point, Alaska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

If you want a basic room with no frills, but one that is very clean and has a good location in Seward, Murphy's is the place for you. Friendly staff, updated bathrooms, fridge, microwave, cable, wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Highland, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Fantastic view!!! Petya is so friendly and helpful. New microwave, fairly new sink, shower and toilet. Comfortable beds. Breakfast provided at a restaurant down the street. This isn't a five star Hotel but is an excellent Motel. Satellite TV and wifi. Can't beat the view!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seward hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 15 in Seward
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#9 of 15 in Seward
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#1 of 15 in Seward
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seward Windsong Lodge
Seward Windsong Lodge
#5 of 15 in Seward
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay