We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Certificate of Excellence
27177 Seward Highway, Seward, AK 99664
Hotel amenities
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
david.lee1965 South of Boston
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    20
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
45
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
South of Boston
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Renfro's for six nights in May 2015. Gary was a gracious host. The site is serene with grand views of the lake and mountains. This was our first trip to Alaska and there couldn't be a more perfect location for the experience we were after. Staying in Cabin 1, we slept well even with the amount of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No noise, lots of trees, paddle boats to enjoy. The owner has firewood to purchase for your fire pit, or charcoal for your private grill on your front porch. It is a piece of heaven. Pet friendly property with no additional pet fees!! Unheard of in the lower 48.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anchor Point, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been coming here for a couple of years. It is a great getaway from the busy RV sites and traffic. You can relax, socialize and have fun. Quick trip into Seward if you need food or supplies. We have been to several RV campgrounds in Alaska, Renfro's is one we keep on our favorites list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Girdwood
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cozy cabins with all the needed amenities-- bedding, pillows, towels, kitchenware, a grill, etc.-- so we just had to bring food, libations, wood and charcoal (wood and charcoal sold on site for a reasonable price if you forget). There is also on-site laundry facilities. Lake front cabins seem to be a bit larger than the wooden ones. All have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you Gary for being a great host. Mine and Crista's birthdays were a fun time had by all. Great location right on the lake. Cabins are well equipped, everything you might need to cook a yummy meal, showers are warm with great water pressure, and beds are comfy. Awesome place to rest and relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're having trouble choosing which cabin to rent, chose this one. A+. I'm supposed to write 200 characters, so will go on to say that Gary is a great guy, setting is perfect and cabin was exactly what you are picturing in your mind. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rosholt, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed one night at Renfro's, but wish we could have stayed longer! The view was beautiful and the cabin (#3) was great. Their laundry facility came in very handy after being on the road for a week .. I put it to good use. If we are ever back in the area, or know others who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

My husband and I stayed in a lakeside cabin on Aug 2014. I was lucky to get the last cabin #3 by the lake. It gets booked fast so don't waste time thinking about it. Gary gave us easy directions to the retreat and we found it without problems. The location, the view and the beautiful cabin were what sold... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of the Retreat! You have captured the essence of the Retreat and have been very informative for future and past guests to get a great idea of what we offer. I do enjoy reading the reviews as it assists me with what the guests find... More 

Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

My family and I stayed at Renfro's in early June and it was beautiful. The cabin was clean and the view was gorgeous. My family had the best time! Internet access wasn't so great, but it made for great family conversations and time away from electronic devices. I would highly recommend Renfro's Lakeside Retreat. We will definitely stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write a review of the Retreat, it is much appreciated! Yes the views are gorgeous and one should never get tired of them. I do enjoy the different season here and although we are not open during the winter, it is some of the most spectacular winter scenery... More 

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had a wonderful trip into beautiful Alaska and our visit at Renfro's was one of the best parts. We stayed in Cabin no 5 on the side of Kenai Lake. Its private and waterfront. We cant wait to go back to enjoy some more time there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

I appreciate the time you took to give us a review even though your stay was in 2013. Of course, you threw me off as we are not open in December so I had to go back through records to see that you actually stayed in July of 2013. Everyone raves about the lakeside cabins and it looks like you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities