We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Seward accommodations

Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

27177 Seward Highway, Seward, AK 99664
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Renfro's Lakeside Retreat to your Saves list
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
97%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014
Judy B Radford, Virginia
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Highly recommend this RV campground, rustic with amenities. Very personable and accommodating staff. Nice, clean restrooms, shower- and they're free, which is not always the case in Alaska. Laundry room. Beautiful lake with paddle boats and canoes available (again free). The Alaskan Train runs through the campground which is entertaining. Cabins and tent sites available if I remember correctly. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review of the R.V. Park and the Retreat itself! I am pleased that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer our guests, everything from peddle boats (no canoes however) to hot showers that are free! Our R.V. Park (no tent sites) is a great place to unwind, kick back in your outdoor chair and watch... More

Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary weekend here and were amazed by everything! The location is beautiful, right on the lake and a quick drive into Seward and close by to some great hiking trails. The cabins are very clean and stocked with everything that we needed including a BBQ and a fire ring right outside the cabin. Gary... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a review. It was good to hear you enjoyed your anniversary at the Retreat! We are right in the middle of some of the most beautiful hiking trails in the area and the view off your front porch is not bad either! Thank you for letting us... More

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was long overdue, visited Renfros retreat back in July... Great place if you need a quiet place to cool down, along the lake! Gary is amazing, in his own funny way :-) He takes great care of you...you'll just about find everything you need in his cabins... He made firewood available ($6 i guess) which proved to be a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Retreat! As you stated, it is a great place to unwind, forget about your worries and relax. To assist with that, there are no t.v.'s, no cell service and only limited internet service in the common areas. It sounds perfect to be able to disconnect and relax! Your insight is appreciated! More

Rustington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This really is an idyllic base for a holiday on the Kenai Peninsula. The view of the mountain and lake from our cabin was breathtaking and the firepit in front of our cabin enabled us to have several great campfires. The cabin itself was clean and warm with all the basics you could need. The hot shower was effective and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

What a fantastic review! You listed so many adjectives to describe your stay - breathtaking, clean, warm, and comfortable. I am happy you enjoyed the journal. They are a hit in the cabins and some of the stories make you laugh out loud. It sounds like you filled your days with hiking, enjoying the peddle boats and a few other... More

Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It might be a nice place but please consider their cancellation policy carefully before booking. We had severe problems with our car so we couldn't arrive on time for our reservation. The car's engine broke down. There are several people who can confirm this (Hertz Car Rental, the Whitehorse Ford Dealer and the nice lady at the Bed & Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our cancellation policy. It sounds as if you are upset with my cancellation policy based on a situation that occurred with a rental car company. You agreed to the cancellation policy when you booked the original reservation on 8/21/13 and again when you received the confirmation e-mail. Your reservation was for two nights beginning... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We have lived in AK for only 8 months and this was our first trip to start exploring this beautiful state. We went to Seward to do the Kenai Fjord cruise and stayed in cabin #2. It was awesome. Away from the hustle and bustle, quick drive to downtown Seward. My son, who is a gamer and addicted to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Welcome to Alaska! I am glad you and your son had a great time. It is good to hear that he appreciates the beauty around him and not only technology. Hopefully this will give him another opportunity to express himself. I will welcome your return in the future! More

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We spent a weekend here over labor day. What a nice, secluded cabin to get away in and just spend time with my husband. We used the grill every night and made a fire in the fire pit for s'mores and hot chocolate. Just great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

Labor Day - the last true summer get-a-way for most people and what a better way than to enjoy it with a loved one! The amenities such as the fire pit and charcoal grill are always a hit with the guests. I am thankful you took the time to write a review of the Retreat! Please come back again! More

Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here on Aug 26th, 2013. I stayed in cabin # 8 in the woods. I booked it the day of in the afternoon so was happy just to find a nice spot. I had left Seward in a hurry because it was too cruiseshippy for me. This place was exactly what I wanted, a nice quiet cabin. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

I am glad you were able to find us also! Most importantly, what you were looking for - a nice quite cabin. The Retreat is filled with mushrooms. I cannot say how many varieties there are, but if anyone wants to come to a mushroom smorgasbord, the retreat will offer the best viewing and picture taking around. The hike up... More

Pasadena, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cabin #4 was in a beautiful location, in the woods, right on Kenai Lake, about 20 minutes outside the town of Seward. Very cozy, clean. Unfortunately it rained both of days there, but was still nice hearing the rain on the roof. No TV, no phones, no internet. But also no fire in the pit! Owner told us a bear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

I am glad you found the cabin lovely, secluded, cozy and clean! Some nice adjectives to describe the Retreat! It is a place to unwind, thus we do not have t.v.'s or phones in the cabins. Internet is provided in the common areas of the property such as the R.V. park and lodge. I appreciate your review! More

West Orange
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great choice for a family as it has bunk beds for two kids and a loft with a spectacular view for Mom and Dad. Don't forget the groceries! The kitchen is handy. It was a little bit more expensive then what we wanted to pay as a couple, but it was worth every penny for the view on the lake.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gary G, Owner at Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, responded to this review

We do not get many reviews for families and I am happy to see yours as the lakeside cabins are very suited for families in regards to the sleeping arrangements, cooking facilities, playground, and driftwood fort building. A big part of saving money is to buy your own groceries and cook in your cabin. I am glad you found this... More

Been to Renfro's Lakeside Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renfro's Lakeside Retreat

Address: 27177 Seward Highway, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Specialty lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Renfro's Lakeside Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renfro's Lakeside Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.