We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Kailua-Kona B&Bs / inns

A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

74-4920 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #10 of 13 Kailua-Kona B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My family and I stayed here once. $500 dollars was stolen in the middle of the night from my mother in her locked room. I hate to think what might have happened if we would have woke up during the robbery. Do night put your family at risk. I was told by the owner that we would recieve a $500... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed here twice, once in 2007 and previously in 2006, since we like Kona so much. The first year was okay, all things considered. The owner is not at the property, and it had changed hands sometime around 2005-2006. The previous owner(s) must have sold the place "as is." The raggedy ann and andy dolls mentioned in other reviews... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

There was a death in the family and we had to cancel our stay at Kiwi Gardens. All other hotels were very accommadating, but Kiwi Gardens kept our money - all of it! We were appauled. Don't stay here, they are crooks...

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2005

My husband and I are planning another trip to Hawaii. As I was again looking for B&B's, I remembered the horrible experience we had last year on our honeymoon. My husband and I booked this B&B for the last night of our honeymoon. We were running late for check in due to the fact that there was bad weather traveling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Management response:

We definitately have an ocean view, sorry their late night arrival and no full moon did not lend to ocean viewing, as far the breeze, I cannot control the weather... The Master Suite is located at the left end of the house,Total privacy there on that end of lanai and then the front of lani is screened in showing back... More

Toronto, ON
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2005

We did not enjoy our stay at Kiwi Gardens at all. To say that the people have eclectic tastes would be an understatement. I love character, but this was a little extreme. I think the thing that freaked my wife out the most was that there were Raggedy Ann (sp?) dolls, decorations, books, knick-knacks, etc absolutely everywhere. She couldn't sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Management response:

The Master Suite has a large solid stand up screen (8 sections) separating the bathroom from the bedroom. There is not one raggedy doll in the Master Suite. I am a raggedy doll colector and display two dozen in the huge family room......Over the 15 years of greeting guests in our beautiful bed and breakfast I have heard sooo many... More

Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2005

This was a very nice place to stay. We had the master suite, which was clean and nice sized. We were also allowed to store our stuff in their garage when we went over to stay in Volcano for the night. We picked it up the next day before our flight out of Kona. Very convenient!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2005

The Kiwi Gardens B and B was the perfect place to relax, relax, relax! We three "native" islanders know what "aloha" is and Shirlee and Ron have plenty of it! Ron even fixed our car! Shirlee's breakfasts were awesome and we enjoyed chatting with her and the other guests. As islanders who have not stayed at B and B's before,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2005

My husband and I have returned several times to Kiwi Gardens and have never had an unpleasant experience there. The warm welcome, explanation of house rules, the excellant breakfasts, the cleanliness of the rooms, the beautiful grounds, reasonable rates, and the friendliness that the hosts give throughout the entire visit keeps us coming back for more. We have recommended Kiwi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

I cant get enough of this place=Ron and Shirlee are the most gracious couple I have met in all my travels=everything is spotless=the breakfasts are to die for and there is always plenty=more than enough to make it to dinner=if i am in a bind they always arrange for a rental car for me and help me locate any places... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2005

Boy, did I have a different, and much less positive experience than the other reviewers. To understand what made this experience so awful, I need to provide a little background. My girlfriend and I flew in from Los Angeles, arriving at Kona Airport around 9 in the evening. United was scrimping on costs, so we got an unexpectedly minimal dinner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Management response:

I find it amazing that this individual was so upset because he helped himself to our private refrigerator and I was not pleased with his "hunger" behavior. Since he had not prepaid for his three night reservation and he was so upset, perhaps he should have left after the first night. Also amazing that he would be so upset because... More

Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4920 Kiwi Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
A-Kiwi Gardens Bed And Breakfast Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines
    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added A-Kiwi Gardens Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list