We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff

75-6040 Alli Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    74
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
66
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our 2nd stay at a Wyndham property in Hawaii. Both were great experiences. Good location. Even though the property is older, it is very well maintained. I can confirm that the renovations have been completed. Our 2 bedroom was very modern and clean. Also very spacious. Great place to watch the sunsets. We met a lot of nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol H, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for this great review - I'm so happy that you enjoyed your second stay at a Wyndham property in Hawaii and we hope you'll be back!! I also hope that at least one of those beautiful Kona sunsets was enjoyed during our Monday Sunset Party - we feel it is a great way to capture the spirit of Aloha... More 

Markham, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Been many times before and always met our expectations, very clean, helpful staff, good location. Small deficiencies this yr included a very lukewarm hot tub, and colder then usual south pool. The renovations going on tended to be at the ocean side of the resort so the noise was not so bad for us we also realize that this upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol H, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for your continued faith in our ability to deliver the promise of a great vacation, and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your understanding of our need to renovate and I'm just delighted to say that we now have all 76 units renovated! Regarding your comment about the temperature of the... More 

Redding, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

this facility is well located on the ocean shore and within a mile of downtown where many activities and shopping are available. The rooms are large, well appointed and maintained, and recently refurbished. However the differentiator is the excellent staff. They are friendly, responsive and genuinely interested in you having a very good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol H, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation at the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff! Thank you for taking the time to post a review and thank you, too, for your kind words about the staff here. I agree that the staff truly demonstrates the aloha spirit and I'm so glad that you felt it! Mahalo and we hope to see... More 

Columbus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We were on the big island for the first time on this trip. We had friends with us and had a nice 2 bedroom. The staff here went out of their way for us. We had room 519 and right off the bat got settled in and out on deck look up and watching whales. We loved the location of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves while at the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff and so appreciate you taking the time to post a review at TripAdvisor. We always appreciate hearing the good things, but I also thank you for letting me know about the air conditioning in the second bedroom as we will have our maintenance staff look... More 

Curitiba, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

We visited Wyndham Royal Sea Cliffs Jan 10th-17th, 2015. This is our 4th trip to Hawaii and second to this resort. They are currently remodeling. Had wyndham let us know this we could have chosen to book elsewhere. It was so noisy, saws on tile, hammers, moving furniture, banging doors, from 9am to we'll after dark. NO way to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on TripAdvisor. Please accept my very sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced due to our renovations. The information about the renovation was posted on the website; however, you are absolutely right that the confirmation letters did not include this - an excellent suggestion for the next time. We will... More 

Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Wow. Either we totally lucked out or this place is great. Our unit was very spacious and we had ocean and pool frontage. Loved the tennis court too. No complaints here. We had unit 110 and it was huge.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha! I have to agree that you did "luck out" in getting unit 110 as that is our only 2 bedroom deluxe plus unit; however, all of our units are very spacious! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again! More 

California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

My family and I were very pleased with the ocean view unit assigned as part of our timeshare stay. As first timers with this resort, we have nothing but positive things to say. I agree with all the other positive reviews. This is a resort for quiet relaxation and if you are looking for all night parties and entertainment, then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff Resort on TripAdvisor. A vacation should be relaxing so I'm pleased that we provided the proper environment for you to be able to unwind. Now that you know we are here, we hope to see you again in the future!! More 

Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I took a last minute trip to Hawaii, and used my Wyndham Points. Check-in was a little confusing, because there are only three parking spaces for the lobby area. After double parking, I walked upstairs to the lobby, and was directed on where I could briefly park while checking in. Check-in was quick and there was little hassle from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff. I am pleased that you had such a nice, relaxing time and that you want to come back next year - that is always the best testimonial! One word of caution with the ants - if there is sugar around, regardless of the location... More 

Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

My husband and I recently spent 12 days at your resort. I had read all of the more recent reviews so I was aware of a couple of the concerns that had been expressed by others. I am happy to report that we really enjoyed our stay. The site was lovely and our one bedroom suite, with an ocean view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo nui for such a glowing review and for naming the individuals who made your stay at the Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff special. I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself and look forward to your return visit! After all, two weeks just isn't enough time to see everything that Matt told you about, right?? Mahalo!! More 

Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

This place has gone downhill a little. I stayed there 2 years ago and it was fine. There was no mid-week housekeeping visit as promised. We found a cockroach in the master bathroom and worms in the kitchen and a bathroom. The north pool was abruptly closed for re-tiling, no warning. The south pool was closed because of a sewage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolHanna, General Manager at Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. It is true that we typically make the information available in advance when any renovation is going to be done and I am so sorry that in the case of the re-tiling of the hot tub, notice was not given. The contractor had an unexpected window of time beginning... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Other (42)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question