We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
78-7190 Kaleiopapa Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Special Offer
10% Off
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    311
    100
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
170
183
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (441)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (150)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (80)
All months
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently stayed here with a group of friends and we all had a magnificent time. Our room was spectacular. At first, the lime green walls were a little shocking, but in the daylight, it just seemed cheery. Our room/apartment was VERY spacious. It genuinely felt as if I was at home. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice property, we actually stayed there 2 separate times in the span of a week because we checked out for 3 days to go to a conference. The rooms were spacious, bright and comfortable. The bed was comfortable. The first time we had a nice view of the ocean, the second time, we did not. Obviously the first stay was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CORVALLIS, OREGON
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent a week at the Holua Resort and had a wonderful time. This resort is not oceanfront, but just up the hill from the Sheraton and one of the many boat docks in Kona. There are no restaurants on the property but they are within a short drive of many places to eat. The units are a variety of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice condo, gorgeous tropical garden, efficient staff, very clean, very quiet, exceptionals amenities in a fabulous island. Everything gone well! Definitely a good choice in Big Island, I strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

this place rocks - perfect for families with smaller children - the condo style units have everything you need and the location is great to go north and especially south where the better snorkeling beaches are - the units are being updated and the the grounds are very nice - authentic Hawaii for sure - staff was great - highly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review

Thank you so much for recommending us on Trip Advisor! I am so happy to hear that your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Mahalo! More 

Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Holua Resort using a time share exchange through Interval International. The resort it'self is beautiful, it has a small community feel. The staff always greeted us with a smile, and they all seemed happy to share their resort with us. We had a two story, two bedrooom unit with a peakaboo view of the ocean. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review

Aloha Sert B., Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. I am happy to report that we will be resurfacing the pools later this year which will enhance the overall appearance. We're glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities and hope that you will be able to come back and see all of the... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed nearly a week in Holua Resort, just up from the Sheraton. While not on the water, the Resort has a number of small pools scattered around the resort. The two BR unit we stayed in was large with bedrooms downstairs and a large open room upstairs with living, dining, and kitchen plus half bath surrounded by many windows.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review

Aloha JamestB5009YJ! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and more importantly, that our staff was friendly and helpful. We are honored to be a part of your fond Hawaiian vacation memories. Mahalo from our Ohana to yours. More 

Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We really lucked out getting this place. It was very peaceful here. The rooms were nice, each place had a big deck to hang out on, and, there were numerous pools to swim in. The location was also great! It was close to everything, but, far enough away to be nice and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review

Aloha Duane M! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at our resort-- that is exactly what we strive for! If you ever venture our way from beautiful Colorado again, we hope you choose to return to Holua Resort. Mahalo for staying with us and for the positive feedback. More 

Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

We love this location, quiet and still convenient. Great room, friendly staff, and we will seek this one out when we return. They are renovating the rooms, so while we were pleased with everything, things will only improve. If you read complaints about the pool, it is really not a big deal. But they will get resurfaced soon also. Concierge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review

Patrick, thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the resort and that our amazing staff provided you with excellent service. We look forward to showing off our renovated rooms on your next visit. We know you have many places to choose from-- Mahalo for choosing us! More 

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

It didn't start out well with our room not ready until 5:30, but it was all uphill from there. We were upgraded to a large unit. The staff is friendly beyond comprehension. The unit was very spacious, well equipped, nice furniture and well maintained. The grounds are beautiful and clean. A covered garage that doesn't require a valet is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kalae W, General Manager at Holua Resort at The Mauna Loa Village, responded to this review

Aloha Gustavio B! Thank you so much for the kind review. I apologize that your room was not ready on time but I'm glad our staff was able to make it up to you during your stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again some time soon. Mahalo! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

370 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (238)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
3:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (80)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (88)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Standard Room (55)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
6.1 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#6 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#6 of 34 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
18.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai at Historic Ka'upulehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay