We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kona Coast Resort

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Special Offer
15% Off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kona Coast Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kona Coast Resort
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    367
    99
    42
    35
See reviews for
416
475
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1198)
  • Mar-May only
    (298)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (322)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (304)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (274)
All months
Midway, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We spent a week and a half here, and it was quiet, comfortable, and more space than my husband and I needed. Yes, you will have to pay per day for air conditioning, unless it is bundled with your reservation. Considering how expensive energy is on the island, I think this is pretty reasonable. The condos are huge- very clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington state
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here through interval international during a week in february. We stayed in a 2 bed/2 ba. The grounds were very nice and manicured. The condo was very spacious and clean and had everything we needed.It was a bit outdated,but everything was in working order. The pool area was nice and had a small restaurant/bar. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a time share complex, but don't expect a hard sales job. The check-in was easy and gives you a map of the complex with a game area (volleyball, shuffle board) and two pool areas. We got the two bedroom & two bathroom villa and it was HUGE, and well appointed. Negatives? The kitchen cabinets were dated with large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sammamish, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We traded into this resort from our Four Seasons ownership. Definitely not on par with Four Seasons quality. Positives. The Kona Coast does have big rooms and spaces for the unit we were in (2-103 which faced the golf course). Nice deck outside. It was clean, generally quiet (although we could hear the person upstairs walking around at 6 am)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Thank you krisc100 for your very thorough review of the Big Island and Kona Coast Resort. Your comments were specific and fair and our TripAdvisor followers will gain good information from them. Our guests will see improvement this year in both the Resort WIFI and villa decor areas, as both of these items are scheduled for replacement beginning in 2015.... More 

Lumby
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Kona Coast Resort March 24-26th. Enjoyed our stay but property could use a few improvements. Check-in was friendly, quick. First impression of the resort was that it was very well kept, expansive. Beautiful grounds, meticulously maintained outdoor areas. BBQ's available for cooking, herb gardens for personal use. Nice touches. Room was huge, very spacious. We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo Jennybuns (love the handle) for taking the time to review your recent stay at Kona Coast Resort for all of our TripAdvisor followers! We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Resort's common areas like the grills and the oceanfront hot tub. We do have a renovation of villa interiors scheduled to begin this Fall... More 

MINNETONKA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are time share people and we traded in to the Kona Coast Resort with no particular expectations. We are really satisfied with this resort! It is huge, has all the amenities and is kept in immaculate condition. Our ocean view unit was large and very comfortable. The on-site restaurant is very good, if rather limited in the menu.. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo Hammer09, for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor! We are please to hear that your spacious villa, Resort amenities and great location contributed to a great Big Island Vacation. With aloha, Rhonda Brown Assistant Resort Manager (808) 324-1721 More 

Missouri City, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are visiting now, building 18 306, we have a golf course view, it's quiet and large, the master bedroom is very nice. The bathrooms and kitchen all need updates badly, rust on appliances and faucets, outdated, old cabinetry and living furniture. The biggest disappointment is the pool area, it is terribly in need of some tlc!!! It is old,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Dear PukstaFam3, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the accommodations and common areas at Kona Coast Resort. We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review and have scheduled additional inspections for the pool areas due to your input. With aloha, Rhonda Brown Assistant Resort Manager (808) 324-1721 More 

California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from eight days at their Kona Coast Resort in Hawaii. Within an hour of our arrival, while we were near the restaurant, we were "greeted" by a large flying roach which landed on my shoulder. I should have recognized that as an omen of things to come. We are time share owners in San Francisco and exchanged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rhonda B, Assistan Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo SeaSunedTraveler for taking the time to share your recent experience with our TripAdvisor followers. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to expectations. It is unfortunate that we were unable to schedule a room move that may have improved the situation. We do hope that you are able to visit the Big Island again... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic holiday at Kona Coast Resort, the property is clean, well set up with BBQ's in the property, nice amenities, great service, room is clean, big...we loved everything about it and shall definitely return there if we come back to Big Island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Celine A. for your 5 star review of our Kona Coast Resort. I am happy to hear that you found the villa and grounds added to your Great Vacation! Even though it is a long trip, I hope that you are able to visit again in the near future. With aloha, Rhonda Brown Assistant Resort Manager (808) 324-1721 More 

Guerneville, California, Usa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came here not really knowing what to expect. First time in Hawaii. This is a quiet resort, which we appreciate. If you want a party spo, this is not it. Quiet times enforced..yay. Rooms were huge, clean and comfortable. Full kitchen with everything but food. Washer and dryer in your room. 2 bathrooms and one of the most comfy beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo Kerry D., for a 5 star review on TripAdvisor! We are pleased that the quiet environment of the Resort contributed to a restful holiday and that the Resort amenities and location were appreciated. We hope to see you return to the Big Island and to Kona Coast Resort. With aloha, Rhonda Brown Assistant Resort Manager (808) 324-1721 More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Golf course(35)
  • Shopping center(15)
  • Ocean views(15)
  • Grocery store(14)
  • Air conditioning(9)
  • Full kitchen(9)
  • Great Place(7)
  • Very clean(6)
  • Ground floor(4)
  • Living room(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

780 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (723)
Viewed
View from room (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (175)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (44)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
4:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question