We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kona Coast Resort

3.5 of 5 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kona Coast Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kona Coast Resort
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    352
    90
    40
    34
See reviews for
402
457
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1155)
  • Mar-May only
    (278)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (322)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (304)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (251)
All months
Sandgroper
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My husband and I stayed at Kona Coast Resort for 8 nights early December 2014 and were not disappointed. Our condo was perfect for our stay, with great amenities. The bed was super comfortable, large well equipped kitchen, two bathrooms and beautiful living room. There is a very large shopping complex very close to the condos, great barbeque venues, beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SEQUIM
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've stayed here before and returned because of our last excellent experience. We spent 10 nights at the property this time. Apparently the facility is going to be refurbished sometime next year. That being said, our unit (17-302) was quite up to date with a number of updated appliances, updated main bathroom, and new carpeting. The unit was spotlessly clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Through a timeshare-swap we ended up in this resort. The only drawback we can think of is that the resort lacks direct beach access, but nice beaches are close by. Other than that the resort exceeded our expectations: beautiful condos, we had a 1 bedroom with 2 full size baths, great amenities in the room especially the fully stocked kitchen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

We hope you can return soon as well akkertje! We are happy to hear that the spacious villas, large balconies, tropical grounds and Resort staff's service added to an enjoyable Big Island experience for you. Thank you very much for your five star review of Kona Coast Resort. With aloha, Rhonda Brown rhonda.brown@wyn.com (808) 324-1721 More 

Rio Rancho, NM
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Kona Coast Resort on a timeshare exchange and we found it peaceful and quiet. The units may be a little dated but they are comfortable and clean and the grounds are very nicely maintained. The kitchen is nicely stocked and we cooked breakfast in the unit daily as well as several other meals. Yes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo Gerric917 for taking the time to write a concise and well thought out review of Kona Coast Resort. I know our TripAdvisor followers will benefit from your advice. YES! rent a car on the Big Island. I am happy to share with you that extensive interior renovations are being scheduled to include all carpet, paint, window coverings, furnishings, kitchen... More 

Hampshire, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly front desk. We were booked with our time share co. And booked a room for a longer stay theory were very accommodating combining the reservations. There are no elevators so if you have issues w staire I would request a 1st floor. We were there on thanksgiving and they prepared a real thanksgiving meal. The meal was AWESOME... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo The Cubsfair reveiwer, we are pleased to read that you had a 5 star experience here at Kona Coast Resort. Your compliments to the chef that prepared your Thanksgiving dinner will go to Bill and Beth DeVaney who are undoubtedly responsible for your excellent experience at Aloha Fridays Restaurant. Spacious, clean villas certainly do contribute to a memorable visit... More 

seattle, wa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've been owners at KCR since '92. Last time we visited (2 years) we felt it needed an upgrade: it has happened! The units are amazing, they've had a complete over-haul. We were so impressed and happy to continue our partnership with KCR! The service is also amazing-- a property that is 20 years old need a bit of TLC... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo donna3 for your recent Owner's review of Kona Coast Resort. You felt spoiled, YAY! We will continue to make improvements and to focus our training resources on Service. With aloha, Rhonda Brown rhonda.brown@wyn.com (808) 324-1721 More 

usa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we arrived at Kona Coast resort around 7 p.m.after 15 long hours of travelling. We checked in and got to our villa. It was not cleaned at all, leftover food, half drank bottles of water, used toothpaste tubes, used towels, and the list goes on. We called the front desk, they had to move us to another place without even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your vacation at Kona Coast Resort got off to a rocky start "anchorage2010." From your comments it sounds like you were checked in to a room that had been recently vacated. I want to assure you that this is not a common occurrence. It sounds like someone released the villa for occupancy by mistake.... More 

Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a very nice place to stay. Beautiful grounds and landscaping-lush and well groomed. The condo itself was very clean and well cared for. Good views from the one we were in. The pool and activity center was nice. Only a couple of complaints - they sprayed our condo for pests while we were there. You would think they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo J.A for your kind TripAdvisor review of Kona Coast Resort. Your comments for improvement are well though out and much appreciated. The Associates that arrive before sunup will be MUCH quieter upon arrival because of your shared experience. Pest control is very difficult to schedule due to the frequency it is required and also because we are a very... More 

Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
7 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was great and the only complaint was the very limited kitchen supplies. We were planning on eating out for dinner every night because it was just us but we would of had to hit Walmart if we had the kids. No spatula, no big cooking pan (only 2 omelette pans) and it made breAkfast a little rough. This is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhonda B, Assistant Resort Manager at Kona Coast Resort, responded to this review

Mahalo Amy C. for sharing your recent Kona Coast Resort vacation experience with our TripAdvisor followers. I'm happy to hear that you found the villa spacious and comfortable. I would encourage any of our guests to pick up the telephone in the villa and dial "0" for any guest request they may have, like a large pan. We would LOVE!... More 

Trevose, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at Kona Coast as an exchange for our time share. It's a lovely place, although the unit we stayed in was one of the older ones. The living area and bedrooms were well kept, the only worn out part was the kitchen - chipped counter and cabinets, rust running down the refrigerator... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kona Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Golf course(38)
  • Ocean views(16)
  • Shopping center(16)
  • Grocery store(15)
  • Full kitchen(10)
  • Air conditioning(9)
  • Very clean(7)
  • Great Place(7)
  • Ground floor(5)
  • Living room(5)

Additional Information about Kona Coast Resort

Address: 78-6842 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kona Coast Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kona Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Coast Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Coast Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

732 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (702)
Viewed
View from room (76)
Viewed
2:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (167)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (105)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (43)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (224)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay