We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015
EXF Campbell, CA
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    112
    32
    30
    12
See reviews for
81
108
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (281)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Campbell, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The web site we looked at had pictures of typical condos but warned that yours could be different. That was the case for our unit. We were disappointed that there were queen size beds, though they were comfortable, and the furniture seemed shoddy. Our view included another unit's roof, owing to the pyramid shape of the building. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Please accept my very sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I know that it doesn't help to tell you that all of the renovation was completed on February 14; nor does it help to let you know that we were experiencing issues with the solar panels that heat the South Pool and that has also been... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This is a quiet, well kept property consisting of condos. Always nice to fix your own food sometimes. I have noticed though, that it depends on each individual owner how much they care about the units they rent. We were lucky and had a great condo at the sea-side of the complex. Everything was new/newer and being top-floor, no bugs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger. Please be assured that I personally have checked into the thermostat and it appears that the real problem wasn't actually the air conditioning but a problem with the sliding glass doors aligning properly so that the sensors lined up correctly.... More 

Port Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

In room 503 the air conditioning was never adequate. All the doors were shut, and the room key was inserted in the slot by the door. (An annoyance) We realize the reasons for these steps, but even so, with the thermostat set for 60 and the fan on high, the room temperaure felt more like the low to mid seventies.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

Perfectly located on beautifull but quiet Ali'i Drive, by the sea. This was our first ever trip to the Big Island. Our kichen was so well equiped so I could prepare the same meals as I do at home, an essential option for an athlete like myself. We had 2 balconies ( lanai), perfect for stargazing or topping up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review with TripAdvisor. I totally agree - there are a lot of great reasons for staying in a condo such as the spaciousness and having a washer/dryer - but I think the best thing of all is being able to prepare and cook healthy meals while away from home on vacation.... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed here in October 2014 four nights while on the island for a wedding. Both the staff and the property were great. We stayed in one of the less expensive "garden view" units, while my parents had a condo with an ocean view. Both units were very nice, clean and well maintained. The grounds are lush and well-maintained. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind comments regarding your stay with us several months ago. Hawaii Island is a beautiful place for a wedding and I'm so pleased that we were able to provide comfortable accommodations for you and your family. We hope to see you again for the couple's first anniversary!! More 

Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

This was our second stay, again for ten nights. We split our visits between south Kohala and Kailua. Like others, for many years we stayed at the Outrigger Keauhou. Last time we had a ocean view room on the 4th floor, this time a 5th floor garden view just across from the main desk. No complaints on the view, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post a review at TripAdvisor. Please accept my very sincere apology for the difficulty and inconvenience you experienced due to the dishwasher going on the fritz. We aim for problem-free vacations and always feel badly when things go wrong; however, I'm glad that we were able to fix it so that... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Staff seemed to have "don't bother me attitude." Property grounds well kept. We stayed in "garden level" room that looked like it hadn't been rented out or cleaned in months. (Staff said entire hotel booked so we couldn't change rooms when we came back from dinner the first night and found the place crawling with garden insects.)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you were not pleased with the accommodations and I assure you that I will be contacting the owner to share your disappointment with her unit. We have shampooed that carpet more than I can begin to tell you; however, it is at a place... More 

Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

condo was clean , and fully stocked , in the distance there was a ocean view from the patio. the reason for the average review , we booked this hotel for the quite pool and hot tub . This was closed for our entire stay (11 days). we were not told this until we went to use it , also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my very sincere apologies for the lack of notice on the renovation of our hot tub at the Quiet Pool. This was a project that had been scheduled later in the year; however, the outside company that performed the work had an opening and so we... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Room had a very musty, moldy smell on check in. Requested other room and was told there were none available. they brought in a very noisy humidifier that I had to turn off couldn't sleep because of smell I checked in at 3 pm. Guests leave at 11 am they could have dehumidified or...? way before I came there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Sea Cliff. It is certainly our goal to have very happy guests 100% of the time and I feel very badly that we failed in your case. All of the units in the Outrigger rental program are individually owned and as such, are decorated by the owner.... More 

North Battleford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Beautiful place. Condo with two bedroom each with their own bathroom. Washer dryer, AC, kitchen fully stocked with cooking utensils. Ocean view, short drive to shopping and restaurants, or good walk if you choose. Staff was fantastic and very helpful with questions about the island. Had a late flight out, let us store our luggage and come back to shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review at TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger. I'm so pleased that you discovered the snorkeling that is so close to the property - no need to drive 45 minutes when the best snorkeling beach is fewer than 3 miles away!! We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

240 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities