We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Karen R Cameron Park, California
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    112
    32
    30
    12
See reviews for
81
105
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Cameron Park, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff was fantastic!...Rick, Cynde, Carol, Josie!! They always give you the most! Facility and unit were cleaned and spacious. Very comfortable, beautiful landscapes, with GREAT ocean views! Very private and quiet! Every night we would sit on deck (there were two of them!) and watch the sunset!! In the morning, we could watch the whales!...Even saw one of them with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff for seven nights in February. We stayed in units on the 5th floor. I say units because there was an issue with the first unit and we were moved to another. The first unit had an issue with water backing up into the bath tub when using the washing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted each day by a mother and calf whale about 200 yard off shore from 109 royal sea cliff. One of the most peaceful and relaxing places we have ever stayed. Breath taking sunsets each night from the lanai and the decor in the unit made you feel like it was home. Next time we travel to Kona... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the a Royal Sea Cliff. This is the 4th time I've stayed at this resort and will most likely return next year. The unit I was in was beautiful, clean, and spacious! Grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful! The only complaint that I have is in regards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your confidence in us and are so pleased that you are officially part of our o'hana (that occurs after your third visit!). I also appreciate you mentioning that we don't have any additional fees for our amenities - the tennis court, WiFi, cultural activities, parking... More 

Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Our large one-bedroom condo was absolutely beautiful. We reserved a Garden View condo that still had a sliver of ocean view. This is the third reservation we've had at a Wyndham Time Share, and it was absolutely top notch. the staff with whom we interacted were pleasant and very helpful; yes, there are some presentations but they were optional. Because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Royal Sea Cliff. Just as a clarification, we have 76 Wyndham Timeshare units and 51 vacation rental units that are individually owned and managed by Outrigger. It sounds as though you may have booked through Wyndham; however, the same staff services both entities and we all strive to make your... More 

Ridgetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

I never write a review on Tripdvisor unless it is very good, or very bad. And I never give my reviews a perfect rating, because I have always thought there was room for some improvements. In this case, I have to make an exception. My wife, Joan, and I just got home from the vacation of a lifetime, and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha John and Joan, Wow - I can't thank you enough for all the wonderful things you described and for sharing so much of your experience with the world!! It was delightful having you with us and I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy that special time with your family. Unit 108 is our only three bedroom/three bathroom unit... More 

Okotoks, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I booked through Outrigger hotels, room was not as shown on website, very outdated and when we arrived everything was Wydham Time share. If you weren't a Wyndham time share owner or willing to sit through their presentation then you had to pay more for any excursions and In fact I paid $25.00 less for an excursion booking at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha! I do appreciate your observations and I am so sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. The Royal Sea Cliff Resort is made up of a total of 154 condominium units ranging in size from studio condos to a 3 bedroom unit. We have 76 units that are Wyndham Vacation Owners and these are managed for Wyndham by... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Highly recommend this hotel. We were very pleased with our one bedroom condo. The grounds are gorgeous and our condo was very clean and nicely decorated. The staff work like a close knit family and are willing to please all guests fast and efficiently. Walking distance to shops and fun. While we were there they offered a free renewing your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo nui for posting a review for the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to participate in our fourth annual Valentine's Day Vow Renewal ceremony. We feel so fortunate that we have such a fabulous oceanfront backdrop for the sweet, touching ceremony just love... More 

Campbell, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

The web site we looked at had pictures of typical condos but warned that yours could be different. That was the case for our unit. We were disappointed that there were queen size beds, though they were comfortable, and the furniture seemed shoddy. Our view included another unit's roof, owing to the pyramid shape of the building. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Please accept my very sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I know that it doesn't help to tell you that all of the renovation was completed on February 14; nor does it help to let you know that we were experiencing issues with the solar panels that heat the South Pool and that has also been... More 

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

This is a quiet, well kept property consisting of condos. Always nice to fix your own food sometimes. I have noticed though, that it depends on each individual owner how much they care about the units they rent. We were lucky and had a great condo at the sea-side of the complex. Everything was new/newer and being top-floor, no bugs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

240 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question