We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Kailua-Kona accommodations

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jamie M Calgary, Canada
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    112
    29
    29
    12
See reviews for
78
100
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (267)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a quiet, well kept property consisting of condos. Always nice to fix your own food sometimes. I have noticed though, that it depends on each individual owner how much they care about the units they rent. We were lucky and had a great condo at the sea-side of the complex. Everything was new/newer and being top-floor, no bugs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfectly located on beautifull but quiet Ali'i Drive, by the sea. This was our first ever trip to the Big Island. Our kichen was so well equiped so I could prepare the same meals as I do at home, an essential option for an athlete like myself. We had 2 balconies ( lanai), perfect for stargazing or topping up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in October 2014 four nights while on the island for a wedding. Both the staff and the property were great. We stayed in one of the less expensive "garden view" units, while my parents had a condo with an ocean view. Both units were very nice, clean and well maintained. The grounds are lush and well-maintained. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for your kind comments regarding your stay with us several months ago. Hawaii Island is a beautiful place for a wedding and I'm so pleased that we were able to provide comfortable accommodations for you and your family. We hope to see you again for the couple's first anniversary!! More 

Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second stay, again for ten nights. We split our visits between south Kohala and Kailua. Like others, for many years we stayed at the Outrigger Keauhou. Last time we had a ocean view room on the 4th floor, this time a 5th floor garden view just across from the main desk. No complaints on the view, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff seemed to have "don't bother me attitude." Property grounds well kept. We stayed in "garden level" room that looked like it hadn't been rented out or cleaned in months. (Staff said entire hotel booked so we couldn't change rooms when we came back from dinner the first night and found the place crawling with garden insects.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I am very sorry that you were not pleased with the accommodations and I assure you that I will be contacting the owner to share your disappointment with her unit. We have shampooed that carpet more than I can begin to tell you; however, it is at a place... More 

Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

condo was clean , and fully stocked , in the distance there was a ocean view from the patio. the reason for the average review , we booked this hotel for the quite pool and hot tub . This was closed for our entire stay (11 days). we were not told this until we went to use it , also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my very sincere apologies for the lack of notice on the renovation of our hot tub at the Quiet Pool. This was a project that had been scheduled later in the year; however, the outside company that performed the work had an opening and so we... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Room had a very musty, moldy smell on check in. Requested other room and was told there were none available. they brought in a very noisy humidifier that I had to turn off couldn't sleep because of smell I checked in at 3 pm. Guests leave at 11 am they could have dehumidified or...? way before I came there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Sea Cliff. It is certainly our goal to have very happy guests 100% of the time and I feel very badly that we failed in your case. All of the units in the Outrigger rental program are individually owned and as such, are decorated by the owner.... More 

North Battleford, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Beautiful place. Condo with two bedroom each with their own bathroom. Washer dryer, AC, kitchen fully stocked with cooking utensils. Ocean view, short drive to shopping and restaurants, or good walk if you choose. Staff was fantastic and very helpful with questions about the island. Had a late flight out, let us store our luggage and come back to shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review at TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger. I'm so pleased that you discovered the snorkeling that is so close to the property - no need to drive 45 minutes when the best snorkeling beach is fewer than 3 miles away!! We... More 

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We just finished a thanksgiving stay at Unit #418 at the Royal Sea Cliff. We had a fantastic week. This condo is great, with amazing views of sunset and ocean, right on the water, and unbelievable deck (I think it's about 600 sq ft or more, with excellent lounge furniture). We didn't want to leave the deck all week (but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you choose the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger to celebrate Thanksgiving and also so pleased that you had a great time!! Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! More 

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I was traveling with a group of 4 friends and we stayed in a two-bedroom condo here for two nights. The property is close to the "action" in Kailua, but is a quiet spot. The condo is spacious. clean, and "beachy." The views from the terrace (we were on 7th floor) were amazing. I slept on the roll-away bed (drew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CarolHanna, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff on Trip Adviser. I know that expectation can be very high when traveling all the way to Hawaii - especially from as far away as New York City, so I'm pleased that we met your expectations! I'm also pleased to hear the our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (178)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay