We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Hotel website
Hotel deals
75-6040 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    96
    119
    33
    30
    14
See reviews for
83
111
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (292)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Pirae, French Polynesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a 2-bedroom unit for 2 nights, with young children. It was a good choice, as the fully equipped kitchen enabled to stay in and eat light and early for dinner. The unit was large and conveniently located near the carpark. However, you could tell that the furniture was really worn: some cushions showed some tear and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I loved this place because it was a little home away from home. I think we might have been the youngest people there though - it's not as lively as I had hoped. The excursion desk is super helpful and lovely to talk to. Pools are lovely Location is good though not really walkable to the town unfortunately.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great apartment with all we needed and a bit more :-) Only thing we were missing was a Bar where we could enjoy the sundown. There are areas where you can sit and enjoy it, but no Bar. We had a great time here, but be observe on the information meetings, we missed them all since we were not informed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 3 weeks in a 2 bedroom 2 bath ocean front room with some friends. I've read some of the recent negative reviews of this location and had no such issues. While the furnishings in the unit were indeed dated, they were clean and fully functional. There were a couple of malfunctions of things, like the toaster,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha! I so appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger. I agree that having a full kitchen can really save a family a lot of money - even if it is only used for breakfast!! We all know that things can go wrong - even when on vacation - but... More 

Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were booked here for the second part of our 11 day vacation in Hawaii. This place was rated 3 stars. That's ridiculous!! We had a two bedroom two bath unit (4 adult travelers). The first bedroom was situated so that anyone in the breezeway could see directly into the room. But what's worse is the unit was extremely musty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience at our resort. I am truly so sorry that the accommodations were disappointing. It is true that the building was erected in 1982 and it isn't modern; however, we maintain the all white concrete structure and landscaping and receive many positive comments on the upkeep of both. Each of our vacation rentals... More 

Liverpool, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The unit we were given was simply....inhabitable. We wanted to escape but there was nothing available around....despite clear health hazards we were forced to stay for 5 days (16.06-21.06.2015) Just few reasons: (i) infested with cockroaches and other pests, (ii) no air conditioning until the following day (when repaired), (iii) no hot water (until repaired at 21.00), (iv) table/armchairs on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to post a review at Trip Adviser. I am sorry to hear that you experienced a pest control issue. Since we are in the tropics, we do have an aggressive pest control program whereby every unit is serviced once a quarter. Regrettably, the ground units do present more of an opportunity for pests... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

what a beautiful hotel we had a 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen they had excursions we could do all day swimming pool with hot tub we need to definately come back everyone was very helpful & knowledgeable recommendations were spot on even took a plane ride over the island

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

So pleased to see that you still remember your visit with us so well! Please do come back as we have renovated the hot tub and Quiet pool since your last visit. The whole staff is still here and we would love to see you again! More 

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

We have stayed at this property three times. The condos are great but this time we were made aware of a US$125 charge that would be imposed upon check out. We always leave the premises clean, remove all rubbish, all dishes etc & all the staff have to basically do is change Linen & wipe bathrooms... Reception told us owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Mahalo for posting a review regarding your recent stay at the Royal Sea Cliff Kona by Outrigger and thank you for bringing up the check out cleaning fee so I could address the issue. The reason that the check out cleaning fee has been incorporated is to allow us to remain competitive with our pricing and low nightly rates. A... More 

California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

We stayed in room 106. Our lanai looked over the south pool and ocean. The room was a nice two bedroom condo, it was spacious and clean. It had enough supplies in the kitchen(pots/pans etc) to easily get by with cooking your own meals for a week or more. The biggest complaint is one of the twin beds in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I know that the owners of that unit are pleased to see that you enjoyed their unit as they are always asking me what they can do to make it comfortable for our mutual guests. I'm sure they will look into the comfort of that bed... More 

Folsom, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Just returned from the Royal Sea Cliff in Kona Hawaii. Now, I can only speak for our unit which was a one bedroom ocean view #203. It was gorgeous. Not sure if all units are as lovely however, Outrigger does maintain a certain standard and we've never been disappointed with them. The staff was helpful and very friendly. The unit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Carol H, General Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

And we will look forward to welcoming you back!! Please feel free to give me a call after you have made your reservation for your return in order to request this particular unit. We will do whatever we can to honor your request. Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

244 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (182)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.7 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.0 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
Wyndham Royal Sea Cliff
#13 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay