We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Kailua-Kona accommodations

Castle Kona Bali Kai

3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castle Kona Bali Kai to your Saves list
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
57%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
teacher_syd North Bend, WA
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    76
    66
    41
    34
See reviews for
82
113
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Imagine sitting on a huge lanai (or lounging...this lanai accommodates both nicely) and watching waves breaking all along the shore, surfers (right next door to Banyan Surf Beach), turtles in the waters below, and an occasional canoe or kayaker paddling by as you relax to the sound of the surf. This condo has it all. Renting from Carol using VRBO... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort McMurray Alberta Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rented unit 405 a luxury 2bdrm 2 bath penthouse Oct 1st for a two week stay Jan 20 to Feb 03. Paid thru VRB0 (3565821ha) after speaking with the owner. Arrived late to be told by security that there were renters there and to return in the morning at 0800. Another owner told us to call the owner that this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
shickscastle, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha, Your recent booking through VRBO must have been very disappointing, arriving at 11:30 pm night and having other people in the unit you reserved. Castle Resorts & Hotels was here in less than 30 minutes to provide you with substitute accommodations. I have talked to my team about your concerns and we are working to improve our cleaning procedures.... More

Fairbanks, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in room 201 and really loved it. The view from the lanai was the best part. We watched a surfing competition from the lanai too. The master suite was great. In the other rooms you could hear a little bit of noise from the road but it wasn't too bad. The unit was well stocked and the kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Judging by our experience and the experiences of others it is important to have confidence in the unit you select. We had unit 212 and on balance our experience was very good. The unit, as is the development in total, is somewhat tired. That shows in nicks on walls and doors and some marginal furniture. Beyond that the kitchen is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Kona Bali Kai is a very nice facility, pool and grounds are fantastic. Very close to everything. Unit 312 is an absolute dump. Use caution renting here as many units are not renovated. This unit was very old, extremely filthy, and worn out. Everything metal was rusty. We rented this unit through Elite Property Management Services and I would strongly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 312 is a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests to choose from. When booking at Kona Bali Kai, go with... More

North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have been back to this complex 3 Times now. After this visit, I would hesitate a bit to recommend Castle Bali Kai. The oceanfront apartments have a fantastic view and layout of the building is pretty good as far as the swimming pool and parking. Here is the danger; every unit varies greatly in how it is maintained. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns about your stay at Kona Bali Kai. Unit 317 in a private rental unit and is not part of Castle Resorts & Hotels rental program at Kona Bali Kai. Castle Resorts features over 60 units for our guests. We have the largest selection of units and staff on site... More

Normandy Park, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This place is not worth the money. The unit (367) hasn't been updated, no dish washer, no laundry, dishes and cooking utensils were dirty, carpet was stained, stained and old tub, and the worst was the apparent urine stains on the bed spread.... Will NEVER stay here again and couldn't recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. I have reviewed your comments with my team. Our property does have Laundry facilities, our mountain side units do not have dishwashers. However all of our ocean front unit have this feature. Our linens are sent out regularly for cleaning. Again thank you for letting us... More

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Unit #306. We and another couple were late evening arrivals, service did not have our booking because Front Desk hadn't notified them we would be arriving after 11:00 p.m. Manager (Stephen) was called out to confirm our booking and let us in - he was apologetic and friendly. Unit 306 was very disappointing as it was dirty, very dated, moldy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. Unit 306 had new carpet and bedroom furniture installed in September of 2013 at this time the Sofa Sleeper in the living room was completely re-upholstered. We are continuously working with our owners to upgrade units; it is disappointing the recent upgrades in this unit did... More

Artesia, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We are avid travelers to Hawaii, this being our first time on the Big Island (we're usually on Maui). We find it greatly convenient to stay in a condo, on the islands, as opposed to a hotel. And, being that we had our 10 month old daughter with us this trip, a condo was all the more convenient. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to let us know the details that we missed in your unit. I have reviewed our procedures with my team and assured them that we have the supplies needed for the units and we need to make sure that we replace items as needed. The Bayan Market is visited by many, tourists and... More

Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We were initially excited about returning here having stayed in an ocean front condo some years ago and loved it then. This time we were not so happy. It is pricey for very basic accommodation. The unit was very dated, we had to repeat requests for supplies to clean dishes (which weren't there initially), staff had to fix WiFi and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRHHNL, General Manager at Castle Kona Bali Kai, responded to this review

Aloha, It is disappointing that our property did not meet your expectation and that due to our high occupancy we were not able to accommodate your upgrade request for an Ocean Front unit. Our owners are continuously upgrading their units and although some items may appear dated we maintain them in good condition and in proper working order. I have... More

Been to Castle Kona Bali Kai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Kona Bali Kai

Also Known As:
Kona Bali Kai Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Kailua
Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hotel
Castle Kona Bali Kai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Address: 76-6246 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Specialty lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Kona Bali Kai 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona Bali Kai is a condominium resort located on the ocean's edge, displaying an uninterrupted vista of magnificent Kona sunsets. Choose from studios, one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites with full-kitchens, private lanai, and ocean or mountainside views. Amenities include a swimming pool, barbecue areas throughout the resort, and a laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Castle Kona Bali Kai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Kona Bali Kai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.