We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Kailua-Kona accommodations

Aston Kona by the Sea

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Aston Kona by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008
GlobetrotterScott San Diego, California
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    143
    28
    26
    9
See reviews for
150
144
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (90)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (104)
All months
There are newer reviews for Aston Kona by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

I stayed in unit 308, which has a full oceanfront view. The condo was spacious and clean and the views from the living room , lanai, and master bedroom were top-notch, especially at sunset. The front desk staff was helpful and courteous. The grills by the pool are great for cooking fresh fish and then enjoying a meal under the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha from Kona by the Sea! It sounds like you had a fantastic Hawaiian experience! The unit you stayed in, #308, does have a spectacular view, and cooking on the grills and eating under the stars -- especially shooting ones! -- is something special to remember when you're far away from Hawaii. We are always working with the condo owners... More 

NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

We just stayed at Kona by the Sea for the third time and we were as delighted this time as we always were before. (See my Nov. '06 review, our first stay.) We intentionally requested the "partial ocean view" building this time because the view is more than adequate (it's just at an angle instead of head-on to the shore)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha from Kona by the Sea! Your description of Kona by the Sea as a "slice of heaven" really does capture the feeling here! I'm glad we were able to provide you with a wonderful Hawaiian vacation home experience. As an oceanfront property, all of our units do have an ocean view. Personally, I prefer the units in the area... More 

Healdsburg, Ca.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

First-We didn't complain to manangement. We knew they were full from talking to one of their employees (Thank you Sue for all the great info). We had a wonderful view of the ocean from our lanai. We also got the room at a very good price,. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. We were in room 107 and it badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor! You begin by saying that you did not complain to management, and I'm very sorry you did not. While it is true we were full, our goal is to make each of our guests feel as though Kona by the Sea is their vacation home in Hawaii.... More 

New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Kona by the Sea is an average condo. However, if you are booking in advance, I would suggest asking for one of the renovated condos. We had trouble w/ some clogged drains in the shower. For the price, it was good. The location was across from a smaller open air market. It's about a 7 min drive from town. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha from Kona by the Sea! I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. The condos here are spacious and the views are amazing. And Kona by the Sea provides a value vacation experience with our full -- and fully stocked! -- kitchens, 2 full baths in each unit, and plenty of space to kick back in the... More 

Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

Overall i really enjoyed my stay there mainly because the rooms were extremely spacious (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms shared between 2 people) and the views were magnificent. But what ruined the stay was when our dryer broke (the day before we were to fly the next morning for a 7am flight) and we were told that they could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fomatkbs, Front Office Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha! I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay at Kona by the Sea. The rooms are indeed spacious and our views are magnificent! I apologize for the dryer not working on your last night. As you may know, all of the condos at Kona by the Sea are individually owned and therefore things like the appliances are different in... More 

River Falls, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

This was our first trip to Hawaii and the Big Island and this property made it a wonderful experience. Our 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit (222) was extremely spacious and had a great view of the bay. It was in need of a few minor repairs, but overall it was very clean and exceeded our expectations. We loved the sound... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nova Scotia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at Kona by the Sea in March 2008. It was One of our first times going to a non all inclusive resort, so we were not sure how it would be. It was wonderful. The rooms are very newly updated with all the ammenities. They have thought of everything, we didn't need anything while we were there. They... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Hawaii. We stayed for a week in August 2008. It was everything we wanted and more. We booked a 2 bedroom oceanview, but it was more like an oceanfront. Our master bedroom was right off the lanai and we went to sleep every night to the sound of crashing waves.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montana
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed at ResortQuest Kona by the Sea October 24-27, 2008. The front desk staff and the concierge were our first contact with the property, and they set the tone for a great stay. We had a one bedroom, two bath oceanfront room that was clean and very nicely decorated. Both bathrooms were full baths. The view of the Kona... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milpitas, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at kona By the Sea and loved it the second time also. Stayed in one bedroom, 2 bath, unit 205 which was refurbished in March 2006 but looked brand new, Unit was clean and had daily maid service. Furniture was comfortable and new. Nice to have second bathroom even there was only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

284 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay