We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Kona by the Sea

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Aston Kona by the Sea
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010
vernwa Burlington, WA
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    201
    152
    33
    27
    11
See reviews for
162
155
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (424)
  • Mar-May only
    (104)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
There are newer reviews for Aston Kona by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Burlington, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed here for 10 days in Nov, we had some friends of ours from CA, come with us. We had a 2 bedroom oceanfront, it was great, my wife and I had the master bedroom with our own bath, and our friends had another bedroom with their own bath, so everyone had plenty of privacy. Nice size kitchen, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay. it is always great to hear that we were part of your special memories you have taken home with you. Our oceanfront property is great but it is our staff that makes the difference. Please remember you will always have friends and family here... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We booked a stay at the Kona by the Sea via Aston properties. The room was reasonably priced, but I might reconsider booking directly through Aston in the future. From what I can see online, the rooms greatly vary and we definitely got one of the dated rooms. The carpet was stained, the walls were a disturbing color of mint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. Your coments is appreciated it will help us to continuously improve our product and services. Our property are condominium type units that are individually owned and we find the diversity of each unit provides great choices. Please in the future let us help you find a unit that will meet your expectations... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I was very disappointed with this condo! I had paid a good amount of money to get a 2 bedroom oceanfront view suite for 1 night and all I received was a partial ocean view suite! The whole condo was just not working for me! First of all, the parking garage had compact sized stalls and wasn't very well lit.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding the unit you received while here at Kona by the Sea. it will help us continously improve our product and services. I sincerely apologize that we did not provide you a great vacation. I am disappointed that you were not given a choice of our units that I am sure would have been to... More 

Eugene, Or
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

We had booked an oceanfront condo unit 5 months ahead and when we arrived we were given a room which had an ocean view, but the carpet was very dirty and badly in need of being replaced and updated. We felt that we had a beautiful view, but with more stains on the carpet than we could count it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We wish to extend to you our deepest apologies if you received a unit with carpet stains. We are concerned we are not able to address your concerns without more details such as the unit number and dates of your stay . Our staff are trained in customer service to address situations that has guest satisfaction as their first priority.... More 

Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We booked our vacation through a travel agent and were promised and paid for an oceanfront condo with our package. When we arrived our unit was the one of the ones facing sideways, so our oceanfront condo was actually a view of the real oceanfront condos lanai's (the true oceanfront condos) and the other properties going down the coastline. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
eagle10, General Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for your comments. We’re sorry you feel the unit you were in was not an ocean front view. We have posted a picture of the view from unit 120 located in the website section on the right, click on photos then all photos choose the management photos category. Much like unit 120, we have an assortment... More 

portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Arrived on Wednesday, planned on BBQ on Friday, but BBQ area taken over by a party, apparently there was a Wedding the next day. We were never advised that there would be a wedding during our stay. On Saturday, the entire public area was under construction for the upcoming event in the evening. We were out until 5:30, but when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

I am happy that we were able to resolve any misunderstanding of our Wedding event held over the weekend you were here. Again we apologize and understand the confusion that our facilities seemed unavailable during the event. The preparations could have been seen as over whelming. Please be assured all facilities were available before and during the wedding. I appreciate... More 

Palo Alto, Calif
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I and our two teenagers (boy and girl) stayed in a two-bedroom condo unit here for a week in late July 2010. We liked everything about the place. It's quiet, clean, modern, comfortable, very spacious. The property is on the ocean -- rocky lava at the water's edge, just below the sea wall from the property's pool/courtyard.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Providing a great vacation is our goal but when we exceed expectations it makes our efforts worth while. Thank you for taking your valuable time and highly reccommending us. We hope to have you and your family back with us for you now have an extended family in Kona, Hawaii. Guest Service Manager Brian Hirata More 

Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Exactly what we were looking for...Ocean front condo, clean, friendly, maid service, and great location. Sitting on our lanai, having coffee, and watching the surfers was awsome. We stayed in #307, 1bdrm-2bath, that was in a great location. Asia, which is one of the tour planners there, was so nice and helpful. The Paradise helicopter flight was expensive, but worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha from the Aston Kona by the Sea Staff, We are so proud that we were part of your fantastic Hawaii vacation. What you described is why our visitors come here. Great accommodations with fantastic ocean views, a staff that is here for you and unforgettable experiences. We will defintely pass on your great comments of our staff. Thank you... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

This was our first trip to Hawaii and we were quite satisfied with our stay at Kona By The Sea. It was well worth the cost and very convenient for any sight seeing tours you wanted to do on your own. Make sure you rent a car at the airport. If there was a problem, it was that you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha , Thank you for choosing Aston Kona by the Sea for your first visit to Hawaii. You selected the best Island to represent Hawaii. Our Island is the most diverse with Volcanos to green forests with beautiful waterfalls and a history second to none. As you mentioned Aston kona by the Sea is convenient with oceanfront views, spacious units... More 

So Cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Wife & I stayed here Sept. 7 thru Sept 14, 2010 and it was great. Total ocean front room (unit 403) After viewing a beautiful sunset from our beach and having a nice dinner we let the crashing waves put us to sleep every night. There are no restaurants near by , so we went to market and stocked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for staying with us. We are very happy that you took advantage of our great sunsets and ocean front views. The Big Island is diverse with a Volcano National Park to great restaurants nearby, beautiful water falls and at the right time snowy mountain views. When you return let us know and we can direct to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

304 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (287)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay