We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Kailua-Kona accommodations

Aston Kona by the Sea

3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Aston Kona by the Sea
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Kona by the Sea to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
JKB605036 Powell, Wyoming
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    147
    29
    26
    11
See reviews for
153
148
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (404)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Powell, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for 6 nights. Originally had booked for a 2 bedroom unit to share with our friends. When we arrived the front desk had upgraded and gave us each a unit...no extra charge. Nice rooms. Ours was a bit dated, but clean. our friends was very nice..new appliances, etc. We were on the third floor..think 313. perfect view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The buildings are set up so all the rooms have a view of the ocean either partial or full view. T Most rooms you can see full view of the beautiful ocean, but some you have to sit on the deck angled to see the ocean. For those rooms, if you were inside the unit you'd be looking at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very pleased with our stay at Aston Kona By the Sea. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the place was very clean and well maintained. The view of the ocean and the sunsets from our room 112 lanai was fantastic. We especially appreciated Laura, our Expedia Local Expert at the concierge desk, who helped us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We appreciate your great review especially of our staff and Laura at our activity desk. It is typical that she goes out of her way to assist you in having a great stay. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was very disappointed that this was the first time we had stayed there and were given such a below standards room. The vents were filthy. The walls needed painting. The bathrooms had paint peeling off the walls and rusted toilets and shower rods. The carpet was stained in several places. There was mold on the ceiling. The place smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

I apologize you did not receive my voice mail I left in your room. I do not recall making that comment but sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding and offense it may have caused you. Please reconsider returning for I am confident if given the opportunity we can provide the great service you expected. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Loved the sound of the waves breaking on the shore. Fantastic views of whales passing in the afternoon and wonderful sunsets. Located within walking distance of restaurants on Alli'i Drive. Down side of this is that you can hear the traffic from the bedroom during the day although this does quieten down at night. Condo- average. Sofa and bed were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your review. We hope you return soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do Not Stay Here. The staff put us in room 115 fully aware it is moldy and mildewed. There were bugs in the room. The manager, Brian, and staff are aware of these problems with this and other rooms yet continue to put customers in these rooms. Do not waste your money here. There are many other resorts that provide... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate the opportunity to continuously improve our services and product. We sincerely apologize that our unit 115 was not up to your satisfaction. Please be assured we will address the situation. I am happy that we were able to offer another unit to your satisfaction. I understand it met all your expectations. We hope... More 

Placentia, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at Kona by the Sea many times over the years, it is our favorite place because of the great views, lovely condos that are always updated and good service and good location. Sarah is so nice, always ready to help. The sunsets are spectacular, and they are FREE !

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your loyalty. Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Newburgh, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our third time staying at Aston Kona. This year we stayed in 308, a two bedroom oceanfront. We love this place since it is centrally located, the condos are comfortable, and the staff is helpful and friendly. I didn't give this a five star because we had issues with the people in the condo above us. We love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your love for our property and apologize for the disturbance. Our security will always be happy to quiet late noises. We hope you return very soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

This place is AMAZING! Sarah was just terrific and found us a stunning condo with an absolutely jaw dropping view! We walked into this gorgeous condo, went to the balcony and literally the whole family dropped their bags and stared in disbelief! The ocean was literally right in front of our balcony complete with the top surfers on the island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review. Our readers will appreciate that their decision will made with confidence of making the right choice. We have many amenities to offer and fortunately our beautiful ocean is one of them. Please return soon our staff and especially the ocean will be waiting. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We arrived here for a one night stay from a resort down the road. Aston Kona had previously been booked by our travel agent. Accomodation was very basic and not what we had been expecting. We were on the 4th floor and elevators were broken. We asked the person on the front desk to call a taxi for us and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We apreciate the opportunity to improve our services and product. We sincerely apologize that our service was not up to your expectations. We have new hires that I will personally address calling a taxi for you instead of giving a number. We hope the elevator was not a great inconvenience. A one night stay is not long enough to truly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aston Kona by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Kona by the Sea

Address: 75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Kona by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Kona by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Kona By The Sea Hotel Kailua-Kona
Kona Sea
Resortquest Kona Sea
Kona By The Sea
Aston Kona By The Sea Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

284 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay