We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Kona by the Sea

Hotel website
75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Aston Kona by the Sea
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
james s Peru, Illinois
Add Your Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    147
    30
    26
    11
See reviews for
157
148
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (409)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Peru, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The condo complex is well kept and east to get around. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and take care of the quests needs. The pool area is always kept clean and tables and loungers are always available. The complex is close to town and ocean front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This beautiful location and accommodations was our favorite during our 2 week stay on 4 different islands. The condo was very private, yet open to the ocean views with balconies off the living room and master bedrooms. We want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to let our readers know we are the best of the Hawaiian Islands. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Clive, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful condo on the sunny Kona coast. Close to Kailua-Kona town center with it's shops and restaurants. Nice pool and hot tub with plenty of lounge chairs, even a sandy area for a beach feel. Well kept grounds and facilities. I can't imagine a better oceanfront view anywhere on Kona Coast. Attentive staff for a condo complex. If you need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you and your family and thank you for the great review. Please return very soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this condo through a travel agent. The photos online were beautiful and looked inviting. We had a late check-in and were given a temporary room key so nobody was available to talk to until the morning. The condo was ocean view but not exactly ocean front. We were very disappointed to find the condo to be quite dated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned I am always willing to provide different options until we find the unit you are happy with. Moving is inconvenient but we offer assistance to make it as easy as possible. I believe if given the opportunity we can provide the Hawaiian vacation you expected. I hope to hear from you soon.... More 

Green River, WY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

our favorite place to stay in Kona. Spacious room for 5 adults and located just far enough away from downtown. Good kitchen amenities could use a pizza baking sheet but really didn't affect the overall experience. A great view with its own private patch of sand and even a second pool at the seas edge fed by the ocean tides.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Our readers appreciate the help making a great choice. mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Powell, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for 6 nights. Originally had booked for a 2 bedroom unit to share with our friends. When we arrived the front desk had upgraded and gave us each a unit...no extra charge. Nice rooms. Ours was a bit dated, but clean. our friends was very nice..new appliances, etc. We were on the third floor..think 313. perfect view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We are happy your room situation worked out very well for you. We appreciate your review and the opportunity to provide you a great Hawaiian vacation. Please return soon! Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The buildings are set up so all the rooms have a view of the ocean either partial or full view. T Most rooms you can see full view of the beautiful ocean, but some you have to sit on the deck angled to see the ocean. For those rooms, if you were inside the unit you'd be looking at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review it will definitely help our readers make Kona by the Sea the right choice. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

We were very pleased with our stay at Aston Kona By the Sea. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the place was very clean and well maintained. The view of the ocean and the sunsets from our room 112 lanai was fantastic. We especially appreciated Laura, our Expedia Local Expert at the concierge desk, who helped us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We appreciate your great review especially of our staff and Laura at our activity desk. It is typical that she goes out of her way to assist you in having a great stay. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I was very disappointed that this was the first time we had stayed there and were given such a below standards room. The vents were filthy. The walls needed painting. The bathrooms had paint peeling off the walls and rusted toilets and shower rods. The carpet was stained in several places. There was mold on the ceiling. The place smelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

I apologize you did not receive my voice mail I left in your room. I do not recall making that comment but sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding and offense it may have caused you. Please reconsider returning for I am confident if given the opportunity we can provide the great service you expected. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Loved the sound of the waves breaking on the shore. Fantastic views of whales passing in the afternoon and wonderful sunsets. Located within walking distance of restaurants on Alli'i Drive. Down side of this is that you can hear the traffic from the bedroom during the day although this does quieten down at night. Condo- average. Sofa and bed were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us we appreciate your review. We hope you return soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

284 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (267)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (80)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question