We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Kona by the Sea

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Aston Kona by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
M M Denver, CO
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    148
    30
    26
    11
See reviews for
159
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (413)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were five of us (three adults, two kids ages 4 and 7). We could not have been more pleased with Aston Kona by the Sea. We had Unit 106 which was 2 bed and 2 bath. Advertised as an 'ocean front' unit, however it's really just a first floor unit (the lanai does not open on to the courtyard)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing what was perfect for you I am sure our readers will find it the same for them. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been told of this place by our friends and we decided to try it ourselves after their recommendation. We were not disappointed - it was great. We booked a 2 bedroom ocean facing apartment and found it well appointed, large and spacious. The resort is located 2 miles from town and whilst there is a local trolley service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

The great review you left for us is greatly appreciated. Please return very soon Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Aston Kona-by-the-Sea is a good base for a visit to the west side of Hawai`i. We had a one-bedroom/two bath "partial ocean view" apartment (#216) in the north building for a week in January. Units in the 200 series are on the 3rd floor, as the ground-level parking lot is not counted as a floor. Unit 216 was spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review our readers will appreciate your help making their decision to stay with us and the view they should select. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Peru, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The condo complex is well kept and east to get around. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and take care of the quests needs. The pool area is always kept clean and tables and loungers are always available. The complex is close to town and ocean front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review especially of our staff. We hope to see you soon. mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This beautiful location and accommodations was our favorite during our 2 week stay on 4 different islands. The condo was very private, yet open to the ocean views with balconies off the living room and master bedrooms. We want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to let our readers know we are the best of the Hawaiian Islands. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Clive, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Beautiful condo on the sunny Kona coast. Close to Kailua-Kona town center with it's shops and restaurants. Nice pool and hot tub with plenty of lounge chairs, even a sandy area for a beach feel. Well kept grounds and facilities. I can't imagine a better oceanfront view anywhere on Kona Coast. Attentive staff for a condo complex. If you need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you and your family and thank you for the great review. Please return very soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We booked this condo through a travel agent. The photos online were beautiful and looked inviting. We had a late check-in and were given a temporary room key so nobody was available to talk to until the morning. The condo was ocean view but not exactly ocean front. We were very disappointed to find the condo to be quite dated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned I am always willing to provide different options until we find the unit you are happy with. Moving is inconvenient but we offer assistance to make it as easy as possible. I believe if given the opportunity we can provide the Hawaiian vacation you expected. I hope to hear from you soon.... More 

Green River, WY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

our favorite place to stay in Kona. Spacious room for 5 adults and located just far enough away from downtown. Good kitchen amenities could use a pizza baking sheet but really didn't affect the overall experience. A great view with its own private patch of sand and even a second pool at the seas edge fed by the ocean tides.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Our readers appreciate the help making a great choice. mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Powell, Wyoming
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We stayed for 6 nights. Originally had booked for a 2 bedroom unit to share with our friends. When we arrived the front desk had upgraded and gave us each a unit...no extra charge. Nice rooms. Ours was a bit dated, but clean. our friends was very nice..new appliances, etc. We were on the third floor..think 313. perfect view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

We are happy your room situation worked out very well for you. We appreciate your review and the opportunity to provide you a great Hawaiian vacation. Please return soon! Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

The buildings are set up so all the rooms have a view of the ocean either partial or full view. T Most rooms you can see full view of the beautiful ocean, but some you have to sit on the deck angled to see the ocean. For those rooms, if you were inside the unit you'd be looking at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review it will definitely help our readers make Kona by the Sea the right choice. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

298 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (281)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
View from room (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question