We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aston Kona by the Sea

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
75 - 6106 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly ResortQuest Kona By The Sea)
Aston Kona by the Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
JerseyGirlWashington Washington
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    148
    31
    26
    11
See reviews for
159
150
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (102)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's hard to find a reasonable hotel in Kona at the last minute, and this one came through. It was fine for a night, but if you're looking for a vacation stay, keep looking. It was clean and pretty comfortable. I spent the night on the sofa bed so I could sleep with the lanai doors open. (The bedroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, PA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We picked this condo property for the location. After reading other reviews and taking note that any complaints were addressed promptly I felt confident that this place would be okay for us. Not only was it okay it was wonderful! From the moment we got there everything was perfect. The check in was easy and the woman was pleasant and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and thank you for choosing us. Your detailed review makes Kona by the Sea an easy choice for our readers. Please return very soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

There were five of us (three adults, two kids ages 4 and 7). We could not have been more pleased with Aston Kona by the Sea. We had Unit 106 which was 2 bed and 2 bath. Advertised as an 'ocean front' unit, however it's really just a first floor unit (the lanai does not open on to the courtyard)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing what was perfect for you I am sure our readers will find it the same for them. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

We had been told of this place by our friends and we decided to try it ourselves after their recommendation. We were not disappointed - it was great. We booked a 2 bedroom ocean facing apartment and found it well appointed, large and spacious. The resort is located 2 miles from town and whilst there is a local trolley service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

The great review you left for us is greatly appreciated. Please return very soon Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The Aston Kona-by-the-Sea is a good base for a visit to the west side of Hawai`i. We had a one-bedroom/two bath "partial ocean view" apartment (#216) in the north building for a week in January. Units in the 200 series are on the 3rd floor, as the ground-level parking lot is not counted as a floor. Unit 216 was spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review our readers will appreciate your help making their decision to stay with us and the view they should select. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Peru, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The condo complex is well kept and east to get around. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and take care of the quests needs. The pool area is always kept clean and tables and loungers are always available. The complex is close to town and ocean front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review especially of our staff. We hope to see you soon. mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

This beautiful location and accommodations was our favorite during our 2 week stay on 4 different islands. The condo was very private, yet open to the ocean views with balconies off the living room and master bedrooms. We want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to let our readers know we are the best of the Hawaiian Islands. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Clive, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Beautiful condo on the sunny Kona coast. Close to Kailua-Kona town center with it's shops and restaurants. Nice pool and hot tub with plenty of lounge chairs, even a sandy area for a beach feel. Well kept grounds and facilities. I can't imagine a better oceanfront view anywhere on Kona Coast. Attentive staff for a condo complex. If you need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

It was a pleasure having you and your family and thank you for the great review. Please return very soon. Mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We booked this condo through a travel agent. The photos online were beautiful and looked inviting. We had a late check-in and were given a temporary room key so nobody was available to talk to until the morning. The condo was ocean view but not exactly ocean front. We were very disappointed to find the condo to be quite dated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you mentioned I am always willing to provide different options until we find the unit you are happy with. Moving is inconvenient but we offer assistance to make it as easy as possible. I believe if given the opportunity we can provide the Hawaiian vacation you expected. I hope to hear from you soon.... More 

Green River, WY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

our favorite place to stay in Kona. Spacious room for 5 adults and located just far enough away from downtown. Good kitchen amenities could use a pizza baking sheet but really didn't affect the overall experience. A great view with its own private patch of sand and even a second pool at the seas edge fed by the ocean tides.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
eagle10, Guest Relations Manager at Aston Kona by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Our readers appreciate the help making a great choice. mahalo Brian Hirata Guest Service Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (285)
Viewed
View from room (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities