We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kona Resort

75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Kona Resort
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    795
    397
    193
    130
See reviews for
343
965
76
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1964)
  • Mar-May only
    (543)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (451)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (460)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (510)
All months
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Our Partial Ocean view room was ok, but very disappointing to end up with two double beds in the room, instead of a queen size. Considering the rooms have recently been refurbished, the interior seemed dated, tiny bathroom and a very noisy airconditioner - sounds like a truck! The most disappointing thing was after being on a tour and being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA readers, please make sure when you have issues, like wrong bedding, noise, excessive phone charges etc. that you bring it to the attention of the front desk. the majority of the time, they can rectify immediately. Better to address it when its discovered, then let it ruin your stay. As for the turtles and signage, great point, I'm... More 

San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My honey and I stayed at RKR three nights before heading to Ko Olina for a week and we had a great time. The corner king room #507 in the Alii Tower was spacious and the view from our huge lanai was spectacular overlooking the pool and the ocean. The bathroom was small, but very clean. Jay Rubenstein, the Sales... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA fans, More happy customers, It's called doing your homework. We all spend a lot of time on the computer, Next time you travel, spend that time you'd normally be surfing the net to good use, research your destination, location, accommodation, all the "tions" and I guarantee you'll have just as good a time as these guests did. I... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the second part of our honeymoon from September 9th to September 12th. There are some things that I loved about this hotel and some things that I didn't like so much. Check in: Check in was not fast or efficient. We had to wait about 30 minutes in line before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA readers, just to clarify a couple things, we try very hard to accommodate all guest “requests” though unfortunately sometimes we're not able to, as in this case. Also, we do not have a resort fee of any kind, so I'm thinking they got us confused with the other half of their stay. lastly, they made great points about... More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My sister and I were there 20-23 Aug 11 - the room was nothing special, however the view over the ocean was lovely. It is an old hotel, but the service etc were great. It is close to a whole heap of different restaurants - much cheaper than eating in the hotel restaurant itself. It does need a bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed here as part of a tour, stayed in one of the towers overlooking the lagoon (can't remember the name) I thought the hotel was good but some of our tour group had problems with rooms near the elevators which were very noisy (because of the elevator noise) It's not in a particularly great location as it's quite a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA Gang, in a PM conversation with kathp320, she travelled with one of our amazing groups that comes to visit us regularly. Unfortunately, one of the members was disturbed by elevator noise. Traveler TIP: if you are not happy or comfortable when you first arrive, let the front desk know, they'll do their best to make things better!! Honest!... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We moved to this hotel after 5 days at a "5 Star" resort on the Kohala Coast proved to be 2 Star in reality. At check-in the desk clerk asked how we heard off the hotel since my husband mentioned it was our anniversary. I told her of the the previous hotel and we were upgraded 2 room grades. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA fans, more super satisfied guests, we were able turn around a so so vacation at a 5 star resort, and make it amazing. We always try to take care of our honeymooners and anniversary guests, early check in, late check out, all based on availability. As I said before, do your homework, and my favorite TIP: Be kind... More 

Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We found the hotel on orbitz. Ann at the front desk was the most helpful person I have ever encountered at a hotel. The room were nice the view was great and the staff was friendly. Nice location lots with in walking distance. The luau is a good show and the food was yummy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA readers, more happy guests, met the great staff, were well taken care of, loved their room, views, location, and our wonderful luau which offers a great Hawaiian show and amazing authentic Hawaiian buffet with kalua pig and open bar. Come check it out, even if you are not staying here. Warmest Mahalo!! More 

Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I just stayed here for the second time. I jad a corner room on the 4th floor in the Alii (main) tower. Wonderful view of the ocean with a wraparound lanai. Could not have had a better view, but the room itself could have used some help such as a new carpet. I appreciated the flat screen TV with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA gang, Nancy33208 has travel down. Knows what she wants, and how to get it, and has a great time. The Royal Kona offers her everything she requires to have a perfect stay, great location, staff, amenities, rooms with world class views. Food and beverage with great value. Plain and simple, my key words, does her homework before she... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Royal Kona Resort is over looking the ocean. It is a beautiful spot and the restaurant is a wonderful place to eat and to take in the view. While on the Big Island we did a dolphin encounter at Hilton Waikoloa Village and it was a wonderful experience. We got the DVD mailed to home and it arrived and works... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at Royal Kona for four nights, having booked it as part of a package; flights, car hire and accommodation. The room was very inexpensive, and so we got what we paid for; a view over the car park. That was the worst of it. Everything else was great. The room was large and well designed. A very comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,718 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1263)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (137)
Viewed
View from room (163)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (340)
Viewed
Room/suite (226)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (289)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Garden View Room (17)
Viewed
Kailua Bay Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question