We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kona Resort

3.0 of 5
75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Kona Resort
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    790
    395
    193
    128
See reviews for
340
959
75
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1953)
  • Mar-May only
    (532)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (451)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (460)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (510)
All months
There are newer reviews for Royal Kona Resort
See the most recent reviews
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's conveniently located within walking distance of many restaurants and shops, though the location is quite touristy. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful. But the room and the facility is showing its age, especially, the bathroom. The swimming was closed for our 5 days there. Overall good value if you are not picky on details. By the way,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Royal Kona just a few days ago for 2 nights. The hotel is right on the beach, very central, but very quiet. Clean, provided all the amenities in the room, no free wifi, provided payed parking, but around the hotel plenty of places to park for free as well. We had a comfortable stay, and if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the perfect location for a quiet get-a-way. The staff was pleasant and efficient, property was beautiful, and the location was convenient for everything I wanted to do. I had visited the island over 15 years ago, and remembered the property. I was hesitant at first to book an older resort, but was pleasantly surprised. The ocean view room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colorafo Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unlike most of the newer, fancier places up the coast The Royal Kona has a nice island feel to it and is much better located if you want to get out and about. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a little dated and, I believe, all have great views as ours did. The resort grounds are mature, well landscaped and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, glad to know they found us to be a terrific value. Having the best location in Kona, at the best value, it's our goal to be number one, providing great view, clean rooms, maintained grounds and terrific staff. Disappointing to hear their didn't enjoy the food and beverage we offer, perhaps it was an off day for... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few days as part of a trip to Kona. Great location, clean, friendly staff. Excursion planner at front desk could have been more knowledgable - e.g. didn't know much about Waipi'o valley hike options. I would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, awesome to know our guest from Toronto had a great stay. Happy to know they enjoyed the best location in Kona, along with our clean and well maintained rooms and friendly staff. Interesting to know the Activity Agent wasn't up to their par, hopefully that didn't put too much of a damper on their stay Glad they... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good room with a nice partial ocean view. Our view also included a view of the pool area. Unfortunately, the pool was getting a maintenance upgrade. Just bad timing...it is good they are keeping things in good shape, though. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to their luau and enjoyed it very much. A little disappointed that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, glad they enjoyed their stay with us, even though our rooms appear a bit dated. Clean and well maintained I must ad too. Love hearing our staff treated them with Aloha, and also enjoyed the luau one night. Pool is back up and running after a short 6 day re-plastering. We don't include breakfast (full or continental)... More 

Great Plains
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
57 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price, this is a good resort choice in Kailua-Kona. It's a bit worn in places, but still has lovely commons areas and the view of the ocean is fabulous. It's right on the beach but it isn't a sand beach - more rocky black boulders. But the pool area is nice, and there are spots on the lawn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA fams, how refreshing to know this well traveled guest had such a pleasant stay with us. Finding us to be the best value too. Glad they enjoyed the warm welcoming public areas, lounging at the pool, under a coconut tree, enjoying the sunset and ocean view. Alii Drive is an old school tropical "village" lots of great dining... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was a bit dated, but extremely comfortable. This is not 5 star, but the location and comfort more than makes up for this. A short walk to the shops, restaurants and bars. Thai Rin has the best food and it almost just across the road. Sit in the bar with a Mai Tai and watch the sun go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, what a great review, I'm so glad they enjoyed their stay with us. Yes, location allows us to offer the best location at the best value hands down. So pleased to know they found our rooms extremely comfy, even though a bit dated. They are clean and well maintained, its our goal to ensure all guests have... More 

Adeaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 17/3/15 - 22/3. Requested a sea view room, and not disappointed with a balcony overlooking the ocean with a black lava rock shore line. Able to watch the sunset,. and boats in the bay. Room was.good, but as in all our different resort rooms during our trip, no kettle, which was provided upon request. Hotel service great, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, really glad to know these guests had such a nice tim. glad they we're NOT dissapointed with their ocean view room, most rooms have a partial ocean view or better. Just choose based on budget, Glad they loved the views, amazing sunsets, the great service too. glad they shared some helpful tips too, True, we charge a... More 

California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We usually stay at local B&Bs, but decided to splurge this time and chose the Royal Kona for the great location and walking distance to town. Although we had a parking lot view and there were issues with the loud gurgling sink in the middle of the night, we enjoyed the hotel and amenities it had. We especially enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,714 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1259)
Viewed
View from room (162)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (340)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (135)
Viewed
Room/suite (226)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (289)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Garden View Room (17)
Viewed
Kailua Bay Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question