We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Kona Resort

75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Kona Resort
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    776
    390
    193
    128
See reviews for
336
946
73
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1931)
  • Mar-May only
    (510)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (451)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (460)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (510)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Great Oceanic view and excellent location which is near the main areas to grt around easily. The rooms are old and need some remodeling overall but if you are going to be outgoing its not an issue. Good price for location and view if you tend to be active throughout the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with my family over the March break for 4 days - had a corner suite in the main building. The room itself was a little dated, but adequate for our needs. Wifi was an extra $10/day for up to 4 devices - better than I thought it would be. The pool was great, no complaints and the bar/restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We got room 255 in the lagoon tower. It is a corner room with a balcony on 2 sides overlooking the ocean. The room itself is not bad, but a little dated, and the television is fairly small, but we didn't watch it anyway. The view from our room was second to none. You hear the waves crashing loudly, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Murwillumbah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were upgraded to an Ocean View room. Fantastic views from our balcony. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Close to lots of restaurants and a nice bar area. The only issue we had with this hotel was that the advertised free internet in the bar area was not working for the duration of our week stay. There was a cost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, great to know our friends from AU enjoyed their stay with us. Sorry to know the complimentary wifi we offer in the bar was giving them trouble, we are actively working to resolve and improve the wifi signal at our resort. Nice to know they loved the views and location, and felt the rooms we're clean and... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found the resort to be generally good until we tried to go to sleep. There was a late night bar that played horrid live music (I even walked to the bar to see if it was decent, perhaps after 10 or so drinks...) that echoed all the way to our room. We changed rooms for the second night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, sorry these guests encountered a little inconvenience on their first night with us, glad to know that we were able to find them a more suitable room. Sometimes our neighbors have music into the evening that we cannot control. I'm glad they enjoyed the location and the pool, hopefully they were able to see the whales and... More 

Calgary
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tired, but still a great place to stay. Although the rooms are tired looking, they are very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly. We arrived earlier than check in time, but were able to get into our room. We booked an Aloha Garden special room, but were very disappointed with our view. We overlooked the roof of part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, I'm glad to know these guests had such a great experience with us. Remember when booking we offer a variety off room categories, from Aloha Standard, a basic room with views that vary, to the ocean front. As they mention, they didn't plan to stay in their room much, so didn't need to pay extra for the... More 

Epping australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our 3rd time in Hawaii and the 1st time staying on the Big Island. We couldn't check in when we arrived as check in is at 4pm, later than most hotels I thought. Our room was not ready but offered an upgrade to a ocean view ,we declined and was glad we did. Our room was ready within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, nice solid review from our guests celebrating their anniversary with us, all the way from Down Under! Really great to see they loved the views from their partial ocean view room. It's great knowing they loved the sound of the waves hitting the rocks as they enjoyed from their room. We do offer complimentary wifi in the... More 

Chepachet, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is my fourth visit here and the place is sparkling clean and comfortable and convenient. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. The Bar is the perfect place to meet and watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Royal Kona was once a beautiful resort but needs updating. The rooms probably haven't been updated since the 70's. We loved the outdoor bar area and enjoyed happy hour Mai Tai's. The Royal Kona has a great location making it an easy walk for shopping, bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, great to know these guests enjoyed the happy hour Mai Tais at Don's Mai Tai Bar, daily from 4p-6p. I'm glad they took advantage of our great location, so close to dining, shops, galleries, farmers market, historical sites and the Kailua Pier for water activities. We'll look forward to their next visit with us, glad they shared. More 

San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed one night in the Royal Kona Resort upon we arrived in BI, before headed to NVP. The hotel is in the ocean front location where also is close to restaurants, stores, and Kona airport. We could see the ocean from our balcony. It's beautify and peaceful in the morning. The room is in good size and clean. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DofSales, General Manager at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review

Aloha TA family, I'm happy to know these guest enjoyed their sort stay with us, loving our location and our views. We strive to be the best value for the best location in Kona, offering clean, well maintained rooms serviced by kind caring staff. Remember, we don't charge a "Resort Fee" like most the other resorts do, so if you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,708 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1253)
Viewed
Room/suite (226)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (338)
Viewed
View from room (161)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (132)
Viewed
Dining (70)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (289)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (424)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Garden View Room (17)
Viewed
Kailua Bay Junior Suite (34)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (28)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (21)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question