We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kona Seaspray

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
78-6665 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kona Seaspray
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second trip here! The view from the third floor is a couple power lines away from perfect. The ocean is the whole wall. Across the street is Kahaluu Beach Park. This is super place to snorkel, especially for beginners. The unit is in good shape. Two bedrooms are both decent for two adult couples. The twin is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in unit 4, very nice, relaxing and thoroughly appointed. We totally enjoyed our 2 week vacation. Especially great were the views of the waves and surfers. We even watched whales swimming by just beyond the surfers while having breakfast on our lanai. Alii Drive is a great place to join in in the Kona fitness activity, we enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
Thank AKMMCJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in apartment 201 during the Year-end holiday season through New Year for over a week. As a single family apartment, it was quite comfortable. The sunsets were amazing and the place is walking distance from one of the best snorkeling beaches on the island. Bob has done several upgrades in the past months in this apartment including Bathroom... More 

Helpful?
Thank sundar121
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Sea Spray over the Christmas holidays and had an excellent stay. We booked 2, 2 bedroom units, for a total of 8 people, for 11 days. It was awesome!!! We didn't want to leave! 302 has the best views. The Owner is updating the complex, and seems to really care about making everyone comfortable. We drove... More 

Helpful?
Thank TTlizbet
Robert J, Owner at Kona Seaspray, responded to this review

Aloha Tanya, This time of year is always special and when I get a family like yours it makes me feel as though my family is with me. Please come back soon! Mahalo, Bob Johnson-Owner Kona Seaspray More 

Springfield, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

We reluctantly left and can hardly wait for a return visit to this wonderful spot on the Big Island! Bob Johnson was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the raised portion of the deck by the pool for morning coffee and evening drink while watching the surfers as well as the local geicos. A lot of time was spent at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenda J
Robert J, Manager at Kona Seaspray, responded to this review

Aloha Glenda, It is people like you that make my job a pleasure. I am as sad to see you go as you were to leave. More 

Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

We loved our vacation stay here! The units are very spacious, with lots of room to lounge, eat, cook, and even do laundry. The location itself is within walking distance of Kahaluu beach, an excellent location for beginning snorkelers and surfers. It's also only a few minutes driving away from Kona downtown. The beds were large and comfortable, with fans... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jose T
Fort Bragg, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

After reading Kansas C's review I had to write something. We are going back in a month for our 2d stay at the Kona Seaspray unit #4. The property is lovely in a great location with a well stocked kitchen. The owner was gracious and we didn't see him much even though he lives downstairs. There are a lot of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CathyMendo
Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. The location is prime, but I would have rather been in a trash can. I did not like the way that I was treated by the owner. They insist you give them 5 star reviews and offer you free stuff after your 5 star review. I wouldnt accept the fact the way I... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Kansas C
Robert J, Owner at Kona Seaspray, responded to this review

Aloha Kansas C, I have responded to you horrible review in the past and you have not seen fit to even suggest what condo you stayed in or the time frame of your visit! It has been almost a year since your suspect visit so I can and I hopefully think others will see that you truly never stayed at... More 

Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The rooms were spacious. The units were very dated and could us a major face lift and some deep cleaning. The manager was trying his best to accommodate our complaints on the unit. The washer was not in working order when we arrived, the toilet in the main bathroom leaked water on the floor, and beds were not comfortable at... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Janet J
Robert J, Owner at Kona Seaspray, responded to this review

Aloha Janet, Based on your review i have been very busy addressing some of the things you mentioned. First I have addressed the bedding issue and replaced most of the questionable beds with tempur-pedics. All of the condos that had older toilets have had replacement Kohler's installed. I have redone almost all of the lighting in all of the condos... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We had a lovely two bedroom apartment across from the famous snorkeling beach on Alli Drive There are surfing lessons at this area too. Apartment is a litte dated but very clean and comfortable the kitcen is well stocked and the view is great we can see surfers on the ocean. We share the swimming pool with the sea sea... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.5 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#6 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#14 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
The Beach Villas at Kahalu'u
#5 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#4 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay