We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kanaloa at Kona

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kanaloa at Kona
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    208
    44
    30
    12
See reviews for
251
218
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (675)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
toledo, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although we had been to other Hawaiian Islands, this was a first trip to the Big Island. We were very confused as to where we wanted to stay? I used Sunquest Vacations to help book this condo and they were very helpful. Almost booked a couple of condos closer to town and were very glad they we chose Kanaloa at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Some of the condos in this complex are magnificent, especially the oceanfront ones. They are poised on a beautiful, lava-rock coastline. Very Hawaiian-feeling grounds, too. We loved these aspects. What we didn't like was the lax service at the front desk. We arrived at 615 pm on 11 May to find no one serving the desk for registration. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pepeekeo, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family decided to get away for Memorial Day Weekend. Condo 1004 is beautiful and well kept. The 3 bedroom was perfect for perfect for our family. Location was great and a shopping center close by. We had a nice time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice condo, nice area . . . but they stuck our group with a near $200 cleaning charge. We did not have any room service, did our own laundry, ran dishwasher, etc. This fee was not listed anywhere that we saw and was a poor way to end a nice vacation! We had to request additional paper products (ie. toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fourth trip to the big island. Third stay at this resort. Wasn't expecting $180.00 cleaning fee at check out. Aperently this was added since our last stay. Although On your itinerary it claims your stay is paid in full except for " incidentals" cleaning is an incidental I guess. Eccept for the typical laundry (towels and wash cloths) and unloading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Sorry that the cleaning fee were not clear. It is a one time charge at $125 for a one bedroom $175 for a 2 bedroom unit, and $195 for a 2 bedroom with a loft. There is a lot that is done with this check-out cleaning, and it is still a very good value to get a unit that is... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in 2502. It was a one bedroom, ground floor, ocean view unit overlooking the "ocean pool" to with views of the ocean beyond it. Since our flight didn't arrive until 8pm, the office was already closed when we arrived, but we had no trouble contacting the security guard who gave us keys and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are appreciated, and helpful. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will be able to visit with us again in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha More 

SLC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When my family got into the condo, they were all wowed. Nice and spacious one bedroom condo, with pullout sofa to accomodate kids, full sized kitchen, wifi, balcony with oceanview, all for under $200 per night. There is a pool/hot tub and tennis courts on the property. Beware though that there is no ocean access; the property is on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your comments, yes, not all units have a/c and the charges range depending on the size of the unit. A 1 bedroom unit's a/c charge per day is $20, a 2 bedroom unit is $25, and a 2 bedroom with loft is $30. This fee is paid directly back to the owner of the unit... More 

West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would have given 5 stars but the carpeting was dated (but clean!) in 1504. We had a unit that looked out to the ocean and the old golf course (but still maintained). We had five in our party and we all slept comfortably...we were expecting 2 bedrooms but we were happy to have the 2 spacious bedrooms AND a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I like that location too. Sorry the pool hours are set by the owners of the complex. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully you will be able to visit with us again in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha More 

Kingston, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The location and view from this condo were amazing! That being said, the entire condo is in need of renovation. Peeling paint. Obvious water damage in places. Tile about ready to fall off the shower in the master bath. There were very few places to hang towels, etcetera. Had to buy some basic suplies not provided in sufficient quantity. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I will make every effort to work with the owner on the items described. Yes, the view is pretty special, and hopefully you will make a return visit and see the changes. We appreciate the comments, and use them to better our services to all guests. Aloha and Mahalo. More 

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Property had nice grounds. Check in was easy. We had the 2 bed condo, which was very spacious and comfortable. The owner had all of the usual utensils for the kitchen, but was nice enough to include beach supplies like boogie boards and picnic items. No AC however, fans were decent enough for comfortable sleep. They advertise no wifi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha from Kanaloa, thank you for your comments and appreciate the great review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here and hope you will return some time in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

616 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (400)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
View from room (63)
Viewed
Room/suite (128)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (112)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (197)
Viewed
Fairway View 2 BR (50)
Viewed
Ocean Front (58)
Viewed
Ocean View with Loft (53)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay