We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kanaloa at Kona

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kanaloa at Kona
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    207
    44
    30
    12
See reviews for
250
216
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (672)
  • Mar-May only
    (166)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (182)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (164)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (160)
All months
Greenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice condo, nice area . . . but they stuck our group with a near $200 cleaning charge. We did not have any room service, did our own laundry, ran dishwasher, etc. This fee was not listed anywhere that we saw and was a poor way to end a nice vacation! We had to request additional paper products (ie. toilet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

fourth trip to the big island. Third stay at this resort. Wasn't expecting $180.00 cleaning fee at check out. Aperently this was added since our last stay. Although On your itinerary it claims your stay is paid in full except for " incidentals" cleaning is an incidental I guess. Eccept for the typical laundry (towels and wash cloths) and unloading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Sorry that the cleaning fee were not clear. It is a one time charge at $125 for a one bedroom $175 for a 2 bedroom unit, and $195 for a 2 bedroom with a loft. There is a lot that is done with this check-out cleaning, and it is still a very good value to get a unit that is... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in 2502. It was a one bedroom, ground floor, ocean view unit overlooking the "ocean pool" to with views of the ocean beyond it. Since our flight didn't arrive until 8pm, the office was already closed when we arrived, but we had no trouble contacting the security guard who gave us keys and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, they are appreciated, and helpful. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will be able to visit with us again in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha More 

SLC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When my family got into the condo, they were all wowed. Nice and spacious one bedroom condo, with pullout sofa to accomodate kids, full sized kitchen, wifi, balcony with oceanview, all for under $200 per night. There is a pool/hot tub and tennis courts on the property. Beware though that there is no ocean access; the property is on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your comments, yes, not all units have a/c and the charges range depending on the size of the unit. A 1 bedroom unit's a/c charge per day is $20, a 2 bedroom unit is $25, and a 2 bedroom with loft is $30. This fee is paid directly back to the owner of the unit... More 

West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would have given 5 stars but the carpeting was dated (but clean!) in 1504. We had a unit that looked out to the ocean and the old golf course (but still maintained). We had five in our party and we all slept comfortably...we were expecting 2 bedrooms but we were happy to have the 2 spacious bedrooms AND a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I like that location too. Sorry the pool hours are set by the owners of the complex. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully you will be able to visit with us again in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha More 

Kingston, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

The location and view from this condo were amazing! That being said, the entire condo is in need of renovation. Peeling paint. Obvious water damage in places. Tile about ready to fall off the shower in the master bath. There were very few places to hang towels, etcetera. Had to buy some basic suplies not provided in sufficient quantity. You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I will make every effort to work with the owner on the items described. Yes, the view is pretty special, and hopefully you will make a return visit and see the changes. We appreciate the comments, and use them to better our services to all guests. Aloha and Mahalo. More 

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Property had nice grounds. Check in was easy. We had the 2 bed condo, which was very spacious and comfortable. The owner had all of the usual utensils for the kitchen, but was nice enough to include beach supplies like boogie boards and picnic items. No AC however, fans were decent enough for comfortable sleep. They advertise no wifi in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha from Kanaloa, thank you for your comments and appreciate the great review. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here and hope you will return some time in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo. More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

My wife & I stayed there for 5 nights in March. We were right on the waters edge with great views & sunsets. Only a short drive or walk to restaurants & shops. A very quiet place to stay. Well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha from Kona, Thank you for your comments and excellent rating. It is always nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at Kanaloa at Kona. We will look forward to a return visit in the near future. Aloha and Mahalo. More 

Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Our trip was funded by my awesome brother but looking at the costs I can't see why not stay here in the future. We had a great ocean front condo, two bedrooms plus a loft for what amounted to $250 a night, a price you're going to pay for any decent hotel if not more. We were literally feet from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to rate us. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation. We hope that you will return for another visit in the near future. Mahalo and Aloha. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We were disappointed on arriving at our accommodation due to the room we were allocated not looking like any of the pictures we had been presented on booking. I had done quite a bit of my own research before we arrived and knew that each of the Condo's were individually owned and maintained - therefore it was a hit or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review

Aloha from Kona, I am sorry to hear of the unit not being to your liking. Some owners choose a antique look, other take a pastel decor, some a hawaiian theme, and yet other may choose a complete modern upgrade. I the Outrigger rental program we have the flexibility to offer other units that may be more compatible to a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

610 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (394)
Viewed
View from room (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (128)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (26)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Other (111)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (197)
Viewed
Fairway View 2 BR (50)
Viewed
Ocean Front (58)
Viewed
Ocean View with Loft (53)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities