We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 56 Zell am See B&Bs / inns

Schmittenhof

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Schmittenstrasse 109, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Hotel amenities
Schmittenhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Schmittenhof to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 56 Zell am See B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014
Sam_Emma55 Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I booked this hotel for a last minuet get away from rainy old England. Im sat typing this from our lovely balcony overlooking Zell am see and the lake, the woods to the right and the hills behind. The placement couldn't be better if you don't mind the walk. The quality of the room is great with a nice clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed in Schmittenhof for our golf weekend. The location is perfect, whether you want to stay there in winter or summer. For winter, it's actually at the bottom of (quite difficult) slope, walking distance from hotel, about 150m. For summer, there are several golf courses within short driving distance (we tried 4, liked Urslautal the most, but all were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Location, room, facilities, food and above the friendly staff made this an excellent holiday Its a great hotel and place to ski for families and couples etc. The hotel is ski in and ski out. It has everything a 4 star hotel should have.The food was fantastic a good selection, good quality and plenty of it . Absolutely beautiful hotel,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danijela_Bojanovic, Front Office Manager at Schmittenhof, responded to this review

Dear Vesna, thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you could enjoy your holiday to the full extend. We will let our employees know about all the positive points you mentioned. Of course we will not rest on our laurels but continuously improve ourselves. We hope that you will be our guest again in... More 

Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel has a huge potential to give you a good and pleasant stay, but it always misses smth. 1. Location At a first glance a location may look very good, but as you stay you understand it's not that good. It's pretty close to Trass X-press, but still you have to travel with your gear rather a way to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danijela_Bojanovic, Front Office at Schmittenhof, responded to this review

Dear Denis, Thank you for your very detailed feedback, we are always eager to get new input to improve ourselves continuously. We will extend all your comments to you employees also we will try to implement as many points as possible. However there are some points of your review that we would like to comment: During the New Year’s Eve... More 

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

when we booked a room for 5 days, the offer was with FREE WI-FI but then the receptionst asked us to pay around 3 euro per hour, she claimed that maybe the policies had been changed, so we paid for it because we need it, until the third day when we printed the booking details to show her it's free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danijela_Bojanovic, Front Office at Schmittenhof, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Hayar, Showing your confirmation stating the free Wi-Fi right from the beginning would have sorted out this misunderstanding from the start. We now offer a standardised solution to all our guests, that is a flat rate of EUR 3,00 per room for the stay, not depending on length of stay or number of devices, which we think is... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Where do I start?It was very easy to find We arrived early as we drove (4 hours before check in), it was not a problem in fact the staff could not have been nicer or more friendly and accommodating!! Its a great hotel and place to ski for families and couples etc. The hotel is ski in and ski out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danijela_Bojanovic, Front Office at Schmittenhof, responded to this review

Dear Ramsden family, we are very pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay with us this much. We make sure your positive feedback will be addressed to all our staff. We would be more than happy to welcome you back again in our hotel anytime. More 

Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
86 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

WE broke our own rule of always checking with Trip Advisor before booking an apartment here, and believed the web site for Schmittenhof, silly us. We booked a “Prestige” apartment which promised a kitchen, views of the lake, internet and being at the bottom of the mountains. The kitchen is basic but fine for small meals, there is however a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danijela_Bojanovic, Front Office at Schmittenhof, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. We are sorry your stay did not live up to your expectations, however we would like to respond to your statement. Our fire alarms are transmitted directly to the local fire brigade and we get billed for false alarms, we thereby inform out guests about the possibility as... More 

ROMANIA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a request to change the room we reserved, as we had to pay 60 euros for cleaning after 1 night stay and we called the reception but we were advised to ask them by e -mail. We sent a request by e-mail 3 days before our arrival, the same day when we called. Answer received only after a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days during the start of winter (end of Oct 2012). The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the station (wouldn't recommend walking as its all slopes to the hotel and would luggage it could be tough). There are buses which run from the station to close to the hotel, but the frequency... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dorset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one week in March 2012 with my husband and 3 of my children (3 teenagers aged between 15 & 17). Absolutely beautiful hotel, with lovely big rooms and equally large en-suite bathrooms (we had interconnecting rooms). Spotlessly clean, wonderfully decorated throughout with lovely little finishing touches everywhere all over the hotel, wooden hearts and quaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Schmittenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schmittenhof

Address: Schmittenstrasse 109, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schmittenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Schmittenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay