We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans-Kappacher-Strasse 7-9, Sankt Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Hotel amenities
Alpenland Sporthotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenland Sporthotel to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
isellev Perth
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    80
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
72
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Perth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here in December 2014 through Interval International. We have stayed before and enjoyed it. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere was great. The hotel decor is seriously in need of an update. The rooms are clean, but the benchtop in our room had a large crack. The carpets are threadbare in places and the cupboard door could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a really good time the second week in January staying at this hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, thanks to Robert and Peter for their attention to detail in ensuring everyone had a good time. The facilities were excellent and much appreciated after a day on the slopes.I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to anyone and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked through our timeshare company, and knew in advance that our room would not have a kitchen. We flew to Salzberg and travelled the rest of the way by bus and train, at a cost of circa 12 euro each- Much cheaper than by taxi. The accommodation was clean and in a typical alpen style of lots of knotty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Hello Penfold_2015, Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am glad to know that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Do come and stay with us again soon! Best regards, Robert Schimak Manager More 

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Prior to arriving we emailed the hotel re 'What to do'. They sent us their weekly program which we were looking forward to. We also asked about a kettle which they supplied on arrival. However, the weekly program did not happen as it was winter! This village is about an hour south of Salzberg by train (€20.40 return to Salzberg).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Dear Jude690, Thank you for your honest and balanced feedback and we truly appreciate and value our guest comments. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our talents. I hope we can look after you again in the near future. All the best Robert Schimak Manager More 

Diamond Bar, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Nice rooms, great location right in the center of the town. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Onsite gym was very nice and the gentleman who worked there was very help and friendly. Locals use the gym which keeps it active and lively. There is very nice parking below the hotel. The rooms have large balconies with postcard views of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

dear mikewglaser, I was pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with us and found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you liked our guest rooms, and our talents! We pride ourselves on exceptional service and it is pleasing to learn you enjoyed this. Cannot wait to see you again soon! Best regards Robert Schimak Manager More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We enjoyed a our stay at Alpenland. The rooms are dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The whole hotel has a cosy Alpen charm. The fitness/leisure centre is a great facility. We ate at the Italian restaurant in the hotel once and it was not good. We didn't return. Breakfast seemed expensive so we opted out. Across the road is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Hello EE2012, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! I am indeed thankful to read your review and for sure I will share your feedback with my Team. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best regards, Robert Schimak Manager More 

Hillsboro, Oregon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I chose this resort for an RCI exchange, because I had read a previous review that it worked to stay here without a car. After booking, I read other reviews that stated “a car is a must,” so I was a little concerned, but it worked fine to stay here without renting a car. We arrived by train at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Hello jcdtraveler, We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We continuously strive to meet your needs and expectation. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to... More 

Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

I arrived by train for a week's respite. There was a taxi at the train station that took me directly to the hotel. The front desk staff was great, and I got a room on the 3rd floor (343) with wonderful views of the mountains out back. Bed was comfortable, and the restaurant delicious. I'll definitely come back if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Hello jcdtraveler, Thank you for our lovely feedback. I am glad to know you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Do come and stay with us again soon! Best regards, More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Stayed here one week for work. Quiet big and clean room with terrace. I love to sleep with terrace open at night and breath the fresh mountain air (no smell of wood burning in the night in Sankt Johann). After work, relax in the swimming pool and sauna and then get off to one of the little resto's in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Dear Francis v, Thank you for you lovely feedback, I am glad you had a good time with us and I am happy to read that you enjoyed the room, our services and our location! I will share your feedback with my team, I am sure they would love to know and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Do... More 

Cary, north carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 8pm , the room was nice and clean, the bed is different compare to the beds in the U.S. theirs are firm like foam no springs, which I'm not complaining it's good for my back. and the view is beatiful over seeing the mountains and I believe they do not have A/C which during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harald O, Manager at Alpenland Sporthotel, responded to this review

Hello Travellers8787 We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with my team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Best regards, Robert Schimak... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alpenland Sporthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenland Sporthotel

Address: Hans-Kappacher-Strasse 7-9, Sankt Johann im Pongau 5600, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Sankt Johann im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenland Sporthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpenland Sporthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenland Sporthotel Hotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau
Alpenland Sporthotel Sankt Johann Im Pongau, Austria - Salzburg Region
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sankt Johann im Pongau
#6 Family Hotel in Sankt Johann im Pongau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sankt Johann im Pongau

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (23)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay