We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Custer hotels

BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   310 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
60%
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Custer
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013
Sand_Blasted Denver, Co
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    51
    43
    16
    7
See reviews for
50
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We reserved our room on Hotwire and paid approx. $100. When we arrived, we were told that the room was smoking. We asked for a non-smoking room. They did have availability but said that we had to pay a $20 fee since a non-smoking room is considered an upgrade. I had no choice but to pay the fee. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry for the confusion with your Hotwire reservation, it seems that they book the best available rate through there system regardless of smoking preference. This is something we are addressing and hope to have it taken care of soon. Sorry for... More

Denver, Co
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The room was spcaious, clean, beds were comfortable and the shower hot with plenty of pressure. The breakfast was delicious, with a large variety of food: eggs, meat, hot and cold cereal, fruit, yoghurt, assorted pastries and breads, and a wonderful waffle maker. The staff was so friendly and helpful, anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and also happy to hear that our employees care about our guests. We hope to see you the next time you visit the Black Hills. More

Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
5 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you like Wolf spiders, this is the place to stay. Had to kill two of the aggressive beasts in the bathroom. Flies are also a major problem. The room was in the old wing, and was run down, with furniture broken. When operating the shower, both the shower head and the tub faucet operate at the same time. Housekeeping... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very sorry that your stay was not up to standards. This is not the way this property operates on a regular basis and we will be taking every step to correct these issues. Sorry for the inconvenience. More

Sandwich, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Driving across country and back we stayed mostly in Best Westerns recommended by AAA. After traveling 8 hours a day we looked forward to a small dinner and a restful night. Most were fine but this one awful. WE arrived arround 7:00 exhausted. We found the side entry and hallway very worn and dirty. Our room had not been vacuumed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable stay. We take pride in our hotel and will be taking steps to correct these issues immediately. Again, thanks for your feedback. More

Sioux Falls, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It is always a pleasure to stay at Buffalo Ridge Best Western in Custer SD. We go there at least once a year, take family and friends. Never had a less that great stay. When the area has events going on and we need to leave early, they make sure breakfast is ready. A mighty fine breakfast it is. Always... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again in Custer. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We are also very happy that you like us enough to come back every year. Thank you for being great returning customer. Thanks for taking the time to comment on our hotel and we hope to see you again next season. More

Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Well located in Custer with clean, modern and comfortable rooms. Shower was excellent and the rest of the room left very little to be desired other than a fridge and microwave. The pool and hot tub were a long outdoor walk away so we didn't bother checking it out. Breakfast was better than average continental and included a waffle maker... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our Hotel. Sorry to hear that the internet was not working properly, we will be looking into that. We do use Farmer Brothers coffee and will check that also. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the Captains Table as they do a... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Checked in after a long day of sightseeing. We were looking for a good nights rest. Opened up the door of the room and the mildew and extreme mustiness hit you immediately. Within a few minutes my throat became extremely sore and it became hard for me to breath. They clean these rooms they must spell it, can't figure out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. Sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience with us, we take these comments to heart, and will be checking into the problem asap. Again, sorry and we hope you will give us another chance in the future. More

Foster City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were looking for a nice, centrally located hotel from which we could explore the Custer area (Mt. Rushmore, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave) and we found it in the Buffalo Ridge Inn. We have usually had good luck with Best Western Hotels and were very happy with the Buffalo Inn. The room was very clean and the king bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Nice to hear that our staff met your needs as well. Hope to see you again the next time you are in the Black Hills. More

Denver, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We make this trip about once every year. Like to check the progress of Crazy Horse blasting and see the evening ceremony at Mt. Rushmore, Hotel was convenient to use as home.. traveling companions enjoyed walking to differene retail stores and just setting out in the clear morning air, something we do not see very much in Denver.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip to the hills and spent time with us. Hope to see you again in the near future. More

Flatonia, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is not the newest or fanciest place in Custer but it was a very good 4 day stay. There wasnt a fridge or microwave but that wasnt a problem. The layout was very good and the rooms were clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made sure there was plenty of food in the mornings as the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve O, Manager at BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed our accomodations and our staff helped make your stay pleasant as well. We hope that the next time you are in the area, you will choose Best Western. More

Been to BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western
Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Buffalo Ridge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.