We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Welikit Family Campground

Certificate of Excellence
24992 Sylvan Lake Rd, Custer, SD 57730
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fort Welikit Family Campground
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    40
    17
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Hanover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family and I were pleasantly surprised by this excellent campground in the woods in the Black Hills. The staff was very helpful and the campground is very quiet. After looking at several other campgrounds in the area it was nice to find one that was actually in the woods and you felt like you were camping instead of parked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elyria, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at this campground! Very nice area, friendly and helpful staff, clean, quiet/mostly wooded area! Our children had lots of fun on the play fort/swing set. We will definitely visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forest City, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights over 4th of July weekend. We had some engine trouble with our RV, and the folks checking us in were helpful and accommodating. Bathrooms and showers were nice and clean ... quite different to have a self-contained room all to yourself. It was a VERY busy holiday weekend, and it was a nice place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flintville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here a week right before Sturgis bike week, and we're lucky to get a spot. Camp ground is heavily treed and very large. Bath houses are unique because they are all in one, shower , sink, and potty all in private room. My biggest gripe is they really need to clean showers. Lots of mold in chalking, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This campground is nestled in the hills, with lovely views, and is SO quiet and peaceful. Lovely showers that are constantly kept clean and easy laundry facilities. My kids had a wonderful time bonding with other kids in the area built specifically for kids with a covered seating area and a replica of a fort. Located VERY conveniently to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were referred to Camp Welikit by the first place we called. They were full due to Sturgis Rally. We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor but after 2 nights here we did not feel the same way as negative Nannies. We felt all our interactions with the staff & owner were positive. The only regret I have is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Plenty of shade. Best bathrooms we have experienced at a campground (all private bathrooms with sink, toilet, and shower). industrial size washing machines and driers available 24/7. Owners extremely nice and helpful. Literally fixed our car for us to avoid getting a tow truck. If you're looking for somewhere in Custer to visit the black hills area, this is your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have stayed at Fort Welikit several times with no problems, but this last time our kids decided that they wanted to sleep in the tent because our camper is kind of small. The next day we had a notice on our door and they charged us an extra $11 for the "unauthorized" tent. We tried to explain why we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

The only think I can complain about is slow internet. But it worked well enough to get my emails. Hey. I should be enjoying the Black Hills instead of surfing the net anyway, right? Competent, helpful staff. Very quiet, individual shower/bathrooms that are heated on cool mornings. Owners very responsive to any issue that comes up. 2 miles from Custer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in the Black Hills. We do have a variety of sits and some are tighter than others due to natures placement of trees. We hope to see you for a return visit and just let us know you prefer a more open site and we will be more than... More 

Rockville
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Nice campground to go see all that the black hills have to offer. Camped in a fifth wheel with full size crew cab dually truck. Our site was a somewhat cramped but we were only there in the evenings. Very friendly staff, they even had someone come and help us figure out our cable hook up on our tv as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
8.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#10 of 11 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#5 of 19 in Custer
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 19 in Custer
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
6.0 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#3 of 11 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities