We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort Welikit Family Campground

Certificate of Excellence
24992 Sylvan Lake Rd, Custer, SD 57730
Fort Welikit Family Campground
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were referred to Camp Welikit by the first place we called. They were full due to Sturgis Rally. We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor but after 2 nights here we did not feel the same way as negative Nannies. We felt all our interactions with the staff & owner were positive. The only regret I have is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Plenty of shade. Best bathrooms we have experienced at a campground (all private bathrooms with sink, toilet, and shower). industrial size washing machines and driers available 24/7. Owners extremely nice and helpful. Literally fixed our car for us to avoid getting a tow truck. If you're looking for somewhere in Custer to visit the black hills area, this is your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Fort Welikit several times with no problems, but this last time our kids decided that they wanted to sleep in the tent because our camper is kind of small. The next day we had a notice on our door and they charged us an extra $11 for the "unauthorized" tent. We tried to explain why we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The only think I can complain about is slow internet. But it worked well enough to get my emails. Hey. I should be enjoying the Black Hills instead of surfing the net anyway, right? Competent, helpful staff. Very quiet, individual shower/bathrooms that are heated on cool mornings. Owners very responsive to any issue that comes up. 2 miles from Custer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and time in the Black Hills. We do have a variety of sits and some are tighter than others due to natures placement of trees. We hope to see you for a return visit and just let us know you prefer a more open site and we will be more than... More 

Rockville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice campground to go see all that the black hills have to offer. Camped in a fifth wheel with full size crew cab dually truck. Our site was a somewhat cramped but we were only there in the evenings. Very friendly staff, they even had someone come and help us figure out our cable hook up on our tv as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancleave, Mississippi
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the worst campgrounds ever visited. Site was not level, hard to back into without a 4 wheel drive, trees to close and low water pressure Tore my spare tire off the camper pulling out of the site. My wife backed my truck into a tree trying to get out. Now a new bumper and tailgate when I get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ftwelikit, Owner at Fort Welikit Family Campground, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you had issues with maneuvering your rig and getting out of your site. We are a heavily treed campground which is why we send an escort to assist you in backing in and insuring you are comfortable with the site and your rigs location in it. Had we been made aware of your issues we... More 

Salina, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this campground after Memorial Day in 2015. It is a great place to go with the family and the owners are very nice and personable. The camp workers at this place were also very considerate. If you stay in the 2015 season be sure to say hi to Jonathan. The shower and bathroom facilities were always clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 4 nights in an RV w/full hookups. The staff pays attention to the grounds and were really helpful to us as guests. Facilities are nice. Plenty of space for elementary aged kids and early teens to play and run around. Campground even provided some athletic equipment (football, baseball gloves, etc.) About a mile from downtown Custer (restaurants &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,484 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travel in a Class A RV so we cannot comment on the bath or laundry. Our site was a long pull through #36 very level and lots of space between our neighbors. The wifi was better than average and met our needs. Full hook-ups with cable. The park is near Custer State Park and a few miles from Mt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Menard, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this is a big campground with a friendly, helpful staff who even watered the roads to keep the dust down. Most of the sites were shady. They even had teepee and covered pad sites for tent campers. We wanted 4 nights and they worked hard to make it happen, but we ended up having to move for the last night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
8.6 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#10 of 11 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hill City
1.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#4 of 19 in Custer
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities