We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Custer hotels

State Game Lodge

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added State Game Lodge to your Saves list
State Game Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
69%
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Custer
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
activetravelerusa Evansville, Indiana
  • Overview
  • Reviews (223)
  • Photos (116)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • More
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    70
    43
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the motEl rooms adjacent to the historic lodge. I would not recommend this choice. Space was cramped. The room did have a fridge and microwave which was nice and the room was quiet. The restaurant in the main lodge was excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would stay here again definitely. The general manager made-up for the fact that the Eisenhower Room, our room, unfortunately.. was "used" by someone before we arrived. Evidently they leave the Eisenhower hotel room open all day for anyone to see because it is a historic room. Well on the particular day we stayed, someone had left the toilet and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback, as we take our guest comments very seriously as it helps us facilitate you better. We were glad to read that you had a good time and enjoyed the experience at the State Game Lodge. We appreciate your patronage and look forward... More

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a Creekside room for three nights, attending a wedding reception at State Game. The room was very comfortable, including the bed and pillows. We were on the first floor, and if I knew better, I would have requested the second floor. The rooms essentially either look over the parking lot or the highway, but you really aren't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent review. We take the comments of our guests very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. We are very proud of our Banquet and Catering team here at the State Game Lodge, and they work really hard for guest satisfaction and we are glad you had... More

Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour. The rooms need a facelift but the bed and pillows were comfortable and the heating was good - it was extremely cold. Make sure you do the buffalo safari. It's a great afternoon with lots of wildlife to see.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback. We were glad to read that you were able to take advantage of the many activities we have to offer at the State Game Lodge. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again to our resort. Best Regards, State... More

Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel due to the location and Creekside was all they had. The Creekside rooms were large with couches and balconies. The sink was a long area outside of the shower or toilet. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Ask for a room with a balcony on Creekside unless you want to overlook parking lot. We took a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time and reviewing our property, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at SGL. We truly appreciate your comment and hope to have you visit us in the near future. Best Regards, State Game Lodge, (605) - 255 - 4541 cgill@custerresorts.com More

chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

it is in need of a facelift, at least in the attached sections. Did not stay in historic part. Mattresses need to be replaced. Also the fly swatter they provide gets used ALOT. Very small bathroom. Good restaurant on site. Compared to other places in the area it is ok and major benefit is that it is in the park... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus, Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Due to rain, rather than camping we grabbed a room at the Game Lodge last minute. We were fortunate they had a room for us. The location was VERY quiet. The rooms were clean. Towels were plush. A nice paved trail from the lodge to the little "general store" made for a nice stroll. Very close to the wildlife loop... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We were glad to read that you were able to take advantage of the many activities we have to offer at SGL and enjoyed the wildlife experience of Custer State Park. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again to our resort. Best... More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The kids and i arrived late in the night after a long night from Indiana. When we got there they were very friendly and accommodating . We had our reservations (highly recommend) a few months before. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Had breakfast at restaurant next morning and was very good…

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and writing a feedback for our property. We appreciate you taking time and commenting about your experience. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you again at SGL. Best Regards, State Game Lodge. (605) - 255 - 4541 cgill@custerresorts.com More

st. louis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Creekside Cabin #20. Beds are horrible. Old, sagging, back breaking beds. Bathroom toilet would not flush. Bathroom door was filthy. So so filthy. Rodent traps surround the cabin. Spiders everywhere inside. Rustic would be a compliment. What a huge disappointment after looking forward to our stay at this over hyped state park facility. Stay anywhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sglmanager, Manager at State Game Lodge, responded to this review

Dear NWmmerson, Thank you for taking the time to reviewing your stay here at the Game Lodge, we truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We have looked at the issues you have pointed out and are tying to resolve it. Again thank you for you feedback, as it helps... More

Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We booked late and got 2 nights in room 217 of the lodge. At checkin at roughly 4 pm we were told to drive around and park in back, but the road was entirely blocked by 3 tour busses and several jeeps unloading senior citizens right in front of our car in the lot for the lodge. My husband was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage State Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to State Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Game Lodge

Address: 13389 Us Highway 16A, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — State Game Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your State Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Game Hotel Custer
State Game Resort

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (26)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Custer State Park, this family accommodation once served as housing for the state's game keepers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer