We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ambassador Hotel)
Special Offer
Celebrate! Save 25%.
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #113 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
TriniDJ Herndon, Va
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    165
    113
    81
    78
See reviews for
71
165
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (567)
  • Mar-May only
    (221)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (148)
All months
Herndon, Va
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just ended my stay at this hotel and have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by overwhelming hospitality of the staff and the accommodations. I was apprehensive after reading some of the most recent reviews but have to say while some points were valid 're items such as signage and the maze of hallways...the hotel once finished in its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tempe, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here one night. I booked through HotelTonight. The restaurant was under construction, but there was breakfast in the morning that was rather generic. I thought the place had a great deal of charm. Someone has gone to a lot of trouble to update the rooms. It was clean and quiet. The staff was friendly. The only criticism I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smiths station, AL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was such a cute, very hipster historic hotel. Our room has hardwood floors, a great view, and was much more spacious for the price then I'm used to in a historic hotel. The staff was very helpful and the amenities were extensive. I kind of missed having a continental breakfast, but the hotel does have a restaurant and barista... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I looooved this hotel! Stayed here the first night of a road trip on the way to Alabama. Was so pleased with it that we stayed here on our way back too. The room was so comfortable. Can't wait to go back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Homer, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I thought that the hotel was very nice. The old/rustic look and feel of the place was great, and the non-perfect floors in the building just added to the character. The beds were incredible. the only thing I would change is that there wasn't any lighting in "closet" area, But, I will absolutely come back and stay here again. Loved... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_AMB, General Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

830spencerc Thanks for the great review - much appreciated. Come see us again soon! John More 

Walls
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Bar not open, restaurant not open, hotel at capacity, and one poor guy with an espresso machine. Really? Did you forget it was a holiday weekend? Apparently not after looking at my bill. Should have delayed opening. No maid service one day out of 3. Why do VIP's not staying at the hotel get food and beverages at the restaurant,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_AMB, General Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

davidH387TF Sorry about the bar and restaurant. We did a few practice nights with friends and family and while it was regrettably over the holiday weekend, we think practice makes perfect. Happy to make it up for you on your next visit. John More 

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a nice option for a night in New Orleans because it was reasonably priced and close to everything. Our only complaint was a loud banging noise coming from the pipes early in the morning- it woke is up.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_AMB, General Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Q5097GJmaryc Would you believe it if I told you the loud banging on the pipes were a pack of unruly ghosts? No? Sorry, we had a recent plumbing malfunction - sorry the repairs disturbed you. Thanks for the great score and I hope you make it back to see us again soon! John More 

Lafayette, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Cute boutique hotel very close to aquarium, Harrah's and French Quarter. Has a pay-to-park lot right across the street, which is awesome! Loved the hardwood floors in the room & friendly staff. A++ :)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_AMB, General Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Olivia M Thanks for the great review. I think our location is incredible for experiencing the local attractions - so glad you enjoyed it. Those hardwood floors are over 100 years old - thank you for appreciating them as we do. John More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The front desk staff at night was friendly and helpful. Everything else about this place was horrible. From the "fitness center" to the maintenance people and house keeping and the hotel itself. I can't even write all the things that were wrong but we ended up leaving the hotel. I really wish this new owner luck he is going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_AMB, General Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

Courtney I'd love to make amends if you'd care to share some specifics about your experience with us. John More 

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautifully decorated hotel. Friendly staff, great service. easily walk to the quarter. they were still working on the restaurant, but it looked very cool. We did enjoy the coffee shop. We will be back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_AMB, General Manager at Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery, responded to this review

ladydemonte Thanks for the great review! Our restaurant opens 6/2, so now you have a reason to head back down! John More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay