We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 153 New Orleans hotels

Ambassador Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
47%
Ranked #111 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jamesy64
  • Overview
  • Reviews (407)
  • Photos (69)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (121)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    111
    88
    66
    58
See reviews for
46
116
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently stayed at the Ambassador hotel to celebrate my birthday with family and friends. Big mistake choosing this hotel! We checked in the late morning of 8/28. The lady that checked us in obviously had a really horrible attitude and made us feel like we were a problem, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL! That was not was ok! Once we arrived to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

my husband and I stayed here in July I chose this hotel because of the pictures of the room I liked the high ceiling and the wood floors and brick walls however when we got there the room looked nothing like the pictures there was not even a fridge in the room or a microwave is the tiles in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A bit of a late review but my friends and I stayed at the Ambassador for Mardi Gras. The location is actually really good. It's only about a 10min walk to the French Quarter but the parades actually pass in front of the hotel. It's a good location if you want to stay away from the madness of the French... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Richie Aquilar - GM at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Though I'm happy to see you appreciate our location, Amy, I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the accommodations. A lot of guests appreciate the historic charm of our hotel, but as you can probably understand, an older place inevitably comes with it's quirks. Having said that, I'd like to let you know that we began renovations this past... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was hot in New Orleans so coming back to a well air conditioned room was very much welcomed. Make sure you set your thermostat before leaving the room. The ambience of the place is cozy and well kept. Keeping some of the old with the new--awesome! Loved the decor in and out of the room. It's an old warehouse.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I just love hearing how much you enjoyed your time with us, Dara! We want to be a relaxing oasis in the city for you, and it sounds like that's what you found here. The staff will be so excited to hear your compliments, and I can't wait to welcome you back again. In the meantime, take care. Richie Aquilar... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at hotel, tried to stay optimistic about the weekend. Hotel staff isn't unfriendly, not friendly, just middling I suppose. Walked into room, extremely underwhelmed. Yes it's an older building, and yes I understood it would be a unique room since the building was transformed from a coffee warehouse. Didn't expect the dirty, poorly-maintained experience we had. Noise from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I apologize if we didn't deliver the experience you were expecting, Trey. We are in an older building as you know, and we're currently working on some updates to improve your overall experience here. Still, I'll keep your feedback in mind as we move forward. I hope you enjoyed the fun area we're located in. Sincerely, Richie Aquilar - GM More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great staff was very helpful room clean the décor was perfect touch of southern charm in the heart of the warehouse district . We needed a place to stay a family member took ill drove from Houston the hotel was close to the hospital also close to the Harrah's casino within walking distance 1 block and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so happy we could be there for you and your family, Eraina. I love hearing that you appreciated the charm of our historic building, and I'll make sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the team. We're glad to welcome you back anytime you're in NOLA. Take care, Richie Aquilar - GM More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a room at the Ambasador online months ago and forwarded the confirmation email to my boyfriend. My boyfriend and I had broken up later but he still had that email. They let him check into my hotel room by showing that email without checking any ID and his name was not on the reservation in any way. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, Kristen, I assure you that your safety is always our top priority around here. It sounds like we really dropped the ball on your reservation, and I sincerely apologize. When you stay with us, you should feel comfortable and relaxed at all times. I don’t take your concerns lightly, and I’ll be talking with the staff about... More

Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Im a no frills kind of person, so this hotel was fine to me but I could totally see how others would have a problem with this hotel and Ill be honest when I checked into another hotel later in my trip I felt like I had checked into the ritz coming from this hotel lol but I feel like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you liked your stay with us -- thanks so much for taking time to leave this review. I'm concerned about your comment regarding the cleanliness of the room though. We clean regularly to make sure everything is in tip-top shape when you arrive. It sounds like something got looked over by the staff, and I'll... More

De Queen, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has a lot of history there. It was in walking distance of the French Quarters so that was nice. The breakfast as very good! Parking will cost you $30. Didn't see that coming, but I still felt it was a good location. It's just down the road from the Port of New Orleans if you are going on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I love hearing that your stay with us was so great, Cynthia! The city has a lot of history, and we're happy you think the charm of our hotel fits right in. Thanks so much for taking time to write us this review -- I'll make sure to pass along your compliments to the rest of the team. We're happy... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful. But, hotel and room did not exactly have the old coffee warehouse charm I thought it would. However, hotel was under renovations, had to use "temporary" lobby. Walls/doors were thin in room which made for noisy stay. Room wasn't as clean as I would've liked. Mold in bathroom - no vent. Will most likely try... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy that the staff was so helpful during your stay, but I'm disappointed we didn't quite live up to your expectations. Let me first assure you that your safety is our top priority, and we clean regularly to make sure everything is in tip-top shape. It surprises me to hear that you found mold, and I'd like to get... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in New Orleans with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel is a French Quarter hotel located in New Orleans' thriving Arts District, just four blocks from the world-famous French Quarter! We're only three blocks from the New Orleans Convention Center, adjacent to Harrah's New Orleans Casino, and seconds from the Odgen Museum of Southern Art, the World War II Museum and Louisiana Children's Museum. The Ambassador is just steps from the finest art galleries and restaurants that the city has to offer, shopping, the cruise ship terminal, Riverboat and the Riverfront Streetcar. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
165

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer