We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel

3.0 of 5 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ambassador Hotel
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    117
    88
    70
    65
See reviews for
49
121
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (426)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (95)
All months
New Haven
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although rustic and without a pool, this adorable hotel was in a perfect location to Bourbon Street, the street cars, the Casino and every other popular destination in New Orleans. I loved the old-style brick building with the indoor French apartment doors and windows on each room. Our room had no view to the outside; but the shrimp poor boys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over 300 a night for a dump. Extremely unhappy. False advertising! Came to see Paul McCartney. Hope he's better. Nasty! Nasty! Nasty! I will probably get asthma from the dust. Thank goodness I am up to date on my shots!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve H, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear you were so disappointed in your stay with us. We do have some renovations going on that might be creating a bit more dust and chaos than usual, but keeping our hotel clean and safe even during the renovations is our number one priority, and I apologize that you found it to be anything less.... More

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 nights for a conference at the convention center. It is within close proximity to many sites. The hotel was nice and gives a good impression about the history of the city. Rooms are nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve H, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope that the conference went well and that you were able to see a bit of the city while you were here. We'd be happy to have you back next time you find yourself in the Big Easy. Best, Steve Hoida - GM More

New York City, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a night because of a great online deal. In short, it was horrible. Before even arriving at my room, I confronted darkened corridors, a man loitering in the hall and an atmosphere of heavy construction. The room itself was small, had no window (except to the corridor) and an air conditioning unit in the bathroom that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations when you stayed with us, David. We want to be as clear as possible about the construction with guests, but it sounds like we dropped the ball when you were booking. I'll touch base with the staff about communicating this better, and I hope you'll consider coming back when the... More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was under renovation and should have been closed until renovation was completed. I killed a roach in my room. I was originally assigned a room on the first floor which smelled worst than a wet basement. I was then given a room on 3. They need to just close up until they can do better. In the middle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Let me first say that although we're in the middle of construction, we would never want you to be uncomfortable here. The team cleans every room on a regular basis, and I'm shocked to read that you found a roach. I'll make sure to look into this further with the rest of the staff. As for the rest of your... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I do not recommend this hotel at all. At least until they finish with the remodeling. Fail in every way possible. I had a tour group there this September 2014. Most windows face the hallway. Very small rooms. And no handles or anything for handicapped in the rooms. They are planning to change the name to number 77. And they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm disappointed that we didn't impress you and the tour group, but I appreciate your honest feedback. We are undergoing construction, as you said, but I'd never want that to interfere with the quality of your stay. I'd love to have you back when we're finished so we can hear your thoughts on the new space. Until then, Steve Hoida... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice hotel thats undergoing renovations. I had no issues as far as construction, they seemed to have everything organized. However, the nicest part of my experience is the service I received by Latasha, the front desk worker. She is professional, friendly and was extremely welcoming of my family and I. She gave my two boys and I,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that Latasha was so welcoming and so helpful -- I'll make sure she hears your awesome feedback. Thanks for taking time to leave us this review. We can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in the city. Take care, Steve Hoida - GM More

Temple, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was so excited when I booked a room at the Ambassador. The pic's on the website makes it look so enchanting and beautiful. Let me tell you the hotel is anything but that! I understand being under renovation and our room was newly painted and was clean BUT the door to the rooms are glass with a OLD mini... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

I'm disappointed that we let you down, but I always appreciate candid feedback. We are going through renovations, as you said, and I think you'll really love all the updates when they're done. Would love to have you back sometime to give us another shot. I know we can really impress you. Sincerely, Steve Hoida - GM More

Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As stated in other reviews, the hotel is under construction so work is being done all over. Staff was really nice and accommodating. Upon entering, there was a water leak issue in our room but staff quickly called someone to work on it and we were immediately switched to another room. The rooms were neat and clean but the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Glad our hotel gave you an authentic NOLA impression, Tammy! It sounds like the staff was very helpful, and I'll let them know your compliments. We can't wait to have you back after all the renovations are finished. We'd love to know your thoughts, so I hope you'll stop in for another visit. Until then, Steve Hoida - GM More

Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pretty Great Hotel. The doors have trouble closing in our tower so you would hear slamming or doors at all hours of the day or morning. Aside from that the rooms were clean and tidy. Nice Hotel. Just out side the French Quarter it was close enough for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richie A, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you loved the location and the atmosphere of our hotel! Sorry about the doors slamming -- we'll look into that as we move forward with our renovations. Thanks for all the compliments and feedback. Can't wait to see you again soon. Best, Steve Hoida - GM More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 535 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel New Orleans
Ambassador New Orleans

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay