We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

Hotel website
Hotel deals
100 Rue Iberville, New Orleans, LA 70130-1106
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Add Your Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    302
    190
    77
    40
See reviews for
160
226
36
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (862)
  • Mar-May only
    (224)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (221)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (175)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (242)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
See the most recent reviews
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Loved the location and the views from room and lobby overlooking the Mississippi River. Rooftop pool area was really nice too (didn't swim since we stayed here in December). Rooms were nice and spacious and they had nice comfy bedding. One complaint is the odd configuration of the hotel. Lobby is on the 11th floor so you have to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We chose the Westin despite its $270 per day price, because of the brand and the hotel's location near the French Quarter and Riverwalk. The hotel actually begins on the 11th floor. We were impressed by its sweeping views of the French Quarter and the Mississippi River. Unfortunately, most of the chairs and sofas in the lobby were heavily stained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Franklin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the Westin Canal Place. The location is unique as it's directly on top of a very nice, luxurious shopping mall. We were in town for a convention, and it's about a 15 minute walk to the farthest end hall of the convention center (we were in "D" I believe). So, not too bad. The concierge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Try to take advantage of their special rates. We found it on a blind bid. I have seen this property for years and was totally surprised at how The Westin out performed in every category. A first class facility and a super location for ease in seeing the French Quartet. Staff was friendly and most helpful. Service was prompt. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Yes the elevators seem to be an issue loud guest in the halls at all hours and drunk doesnt help i had to park my SUV across the street and for$30 a day verses $18 at the hotel it would not fit in their parking low 6-4 clearance . The hotel location is great and the room was nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The lobby and rooms are very nice, the rooms are a good size with nice decor, super clean, with a good size bathroom but the lighting in the bathroom is the worst for a woman that I have ever seen. They use super bright florescent lighting which shows every flaw! The A/C uses an old water cooler type of system... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

During our recent stay in December 2012, the elevators were being repaired and had not been in full servcie for the past month. There were waiting times as long as 20 minutes for the elevator, and hotel management avoided any discussion of the problem. Rooms are in the average range; clean, a bit dowdy. Breakfast buffet is quite nice. Location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baytown, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a reservation for a busy Saturday; Arrived at 2PM and had to wait until 5PM for a handicapped accessible room to be cleaned. Entered the non-smoking room to be overwhelmed by stale cigarette smell and a bathroom door difficult to open. Trying to clear out the smell with the AC only to find it did not work. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about the experiences you encountered. We have a 100% smoke-free policy and when it is violated we do all we can to refresh and create a safe, smoke-free environment. We appreciate your feedback on our air conditioning system.... More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
48 hotel reviews
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am platinum for life with starwood and have 100 nights in their hotels this year so I know what a hotel is supposed to be. I was invited back to this hotel by the management to make up for the bad experience I suffered here in September. I stayed here 5 nights and It was worse this time! There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the disturbances you experienced on your recent stay with us. We understand that our guests want to unwind and relax and we understand your disappointment by not being able to do. Your business and continued loyalty, as a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest, are very important to us. We would like to do all... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Do not go to this hotel until they replace their old elevators. They have replaced one, but on a recent stay at the hotel, the other three constantly malfunctioned (not stopping at floors to pick up passengers primarily). The elevator lobby would fill before an elevator would stop. Guests started getting on when one stopped without regard to the direction... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestinCanalPlace, Public Relations Manager at The Westin New Orleans Canal Place, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your recent experiences with our elevators. We are currently undergoing an elevator modernization project which will drastically improve their speed and consistency. We appreciate your patience during this time of progress. Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Warmest regards, David Rosenberg General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • French quarter(50)
  • Great location(12)
  • Very nice(9)
  • Mississippi river(6)
  • Rooftop pool(5)
  • Bourbon street(4)
  • Room service(4)
  • Pool area(3)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

635 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (225)
Viewed
Room/suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (379)
Viewed
Amenities (45)
Viewed
Bienville Suite (44)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Double Room (38)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (36)
Viewed
Pool (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (23)
Viewed
Riverside Suite (67)
Viewed
The Hotel (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question