We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Charles Guest House

1748 Prytania St., New Orleans, LA 70130
St. Charles Guest House
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    41
    11
    9
    24
See reviews for
13
32
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Is it a 5-Star place? No, not at all. So why do I give it that rating? Because it's a place with unique "real New Orleans" character and great people. It's an old, old building in the lower Garden District. There are cracks in the wall, loose tiles in the bathroom, and the bed feels at least fifty years old.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The good: EXCELLENT location. Steps from both St. Charles and Magazine, and not far from the CBD. Plenty of food, shopping and coffee/cocktail locations each way. Beautiful homes nearby, felt very safe, and the convenience of the street car stop was perfect. Avenue Pub and Hivolt Coffee are some of my new favorites. The place was sanitary - obviously vacuumed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Bloomington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here again, and noticed quite an improvement. While still warm and friendly, the details are better looked after. I love this place! It is convenient to the streetcar and thus the whole city. 1 block to the streetcar and a couple of blocks to Magazine. It is the least expensive place I've found to stay. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhilton111, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

Suzanne is our type of guest. She is an allocentric traveler and likes to get to the heart of a place She seeks out those places that provide a slice of life especially a slice that is very "New Orleanian" . She is a former business owner and knows what it takes to run a business. She is a single... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I don't need T.V., etc. when I am traveling but I need a comfortable "bed" and " decent breakfast", only if it is continental. There were neither. Toast, packaged baked goods, my husband had to make coffee ...bowls and no cereal. We only ate there once out of the 4 day stay. We changed rooms after the toilet backed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhilton111, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

I want to thank the reviewer for staying at the St Charles Guest House. The reviewer mentions that I call our place "no frills" and that is true. We do not have tvs or phones in rooms but we do have a very nice pool and patio area along with free wifi and a complimentary bakery breakfast that we serve... More 

mobile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

This place was in a great location. It was a block from the parades so could walk back and forth w/o issues. It's a block away from a park, though not an actual playground but my son liked throwing the football around. The guest house was decent, my hubs wanted something more fancier but for the price during Mardi Gras,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhilton1, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

The reviewer responds about their experience during Mardi Gras . This year 2015 was exceptionally busy for the Guest House. We were full during that time period and it is always a challenge to meet all the guests needs. Guests come to Mardi Gras for a variety of reasons and sometimes it does not have anything to do with the... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

I stayed in a six beds bedroom. Old house, but clean. If you can, bring your own pillow, towel and blanket. They give them, but not good ones. Friendly and helpful staff. Wirelles doesn't work in the most of the bedrooms, just in the aisles. About 1,5mi from Bourbon Street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Looking for a change from boring hotel rooms? This just might be a good choice! Not fancy, not modern, but it was an awesome place! Like staying in your great aunt's old house! Loved our 3 nights there! We had read several of the reviews and were a bit concerned....but it was a great experience! Clean rooms, great location, for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dhilton111, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

The guest speaks of character and it reminds me of what we wanted to accomplish when we opened in 1980, People who visit New Orleans talk of character and mention that is one of the main reasons for visiting New Orleans along with music , food, architecture, the French Quarter and of course the people. We had a goal at... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We stayed here 3 night, dennis the chap that owns it is awesome really helpful and interesting. The place is in its original condition, its very old, so dont expect 5 star renovations, however we found it fascinating and added to the character of new orleans. The outdoor areas are lovely, I happened to sit on the patio out the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Very nicely located in a quiet room where you can park easily but close to a stop of the green street car. The owner will welcome you and will provide you information about the city and the house. very nice owner . But the pictures of the house should have been taken 20 years ago and then nothing has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harvey York Co
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Good: reasonably priced ($75), one block from the streetcar line, quiet, pool, comfy bed, good shower, baked goods and coffee available all day. Not so good: stayed 4 nights, no housekeeping whatsoever, not even a garbage can emptied. Kinda skeevy outdated room with bad carpet, horrible ceiling tiles, a bathroom door that didn't close, no tv (but we knew that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhilton1, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

The Guest House is the type of place where interesting characters stay and visit. We encourage those visitors who are on a budget and want to experience older authentic New Orleans Houses to consider the St Charles Guest House. We tell everyone that we are a simple older kind of place that is economical, in a great location on the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities