We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 145 New Orleans B&Bs / inns

St. Charles Guest House

1748 Prytania St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (124)
  • Photos (34)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • Location
  • More
St. Charles Guest House
Ranked #68 of 145 New Orleans B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    34
    8
    7
    22
See reviews for
10
27
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I decided to head down to NOLA for a long weekend over the 4th of July. A friend had recommended the guest house so we decided to make it our home away from home for a few days. The location was fantastic. We ended up spending the bulk of our trip on Magazine street, away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Upon traveling to NOLA from TX my husband and I were looking for a safe inexpensive place to stay within walking distance to the French Quarters. This was the most wonderful place located in the Garden district. Didn't have to pay to park, safe streets, easy parking, and there is a tram just off of the main street that takes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We traveled to New Orleans for Wrestlemania XXX. We wanted to find a hotel with some character and to find a "slice of life" in New Orleans, a glimpse of what life is really like in New Orleans. St. Charles Guesthouse was the perfect place to stay! We were within walking distance to all the major tourist attractions as well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Stayed a week and found it very comfortable, clean and friendly. I felt like it was my home right away. The staff is great and very helpful. The breakfast room was like a cheerful enclosed sun porch and decorated appropriately. Coffee was very good, and lingering every morning with coffee and very interesting guests was a great way to start... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We stated three nights and were totally satisfied. The location is right near the trolley car. The price was very reasonable. It was a little chilly and there were two extra blankets in the closet. There was good coffee and lots of fresh fruit, toast, bagels, good orange juice, etc. we would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have been there 2 times last year, the second time never even thought about looking up another place, nor will we ever. St Charles Guest House, would be my choice if i go alone, in couple, with friends or with kids. The pool is incredible, the rooms are clean, the kitchen open all day is something you never find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhilton111, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

Those that work in the Hospitality industry try very hard to assist and be of service to those who come to our city and bless us by staying at our establishments. When we get compliments it really makes us feel like we are doing not only a good job but are connecting on a personal level to those who visit... More

Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed for a convention in New Orleans at st.Charles. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms are OK : clean, well equipped and have really good beds. We have slept our jet lag out and felt very good. Breakfast is little bit of a disappointment : in an small space, with half bench furniture, scarce on choices of cereals... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was the worst place we ever stayed at. Cons: 1. Dirty - floors not vacuumed, found other people's shoes and socks under the furniture, found pubic hair in the bathroom 2. Dilapidated - the window couldn't close properly and we had to fill the opening with toilet paper, wall paper stained and tearing off the walls, ceilings stained and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhilton1, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

We certainly try to do the best we can with what we have. When one charges from $35 to $45 per night per person' we cannot provide microwaves, refrigerators, tvs and such in a room. We do however have a very nice breakfast room (overlooking a pool) that has a microwave, small refrigerator for juice and such, water, in a... More

Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was my first trip to New Orleans to attend a conference at Tulane University and I couldn't have made a better choice of hotel. From pre-booking through check-out, the staff (specially the owner) was exceptionally helpful in answering questions and providing helpful information such as touristic options, lifestyle, restaurants, etc. From its fantastic location to the overall ambience, this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhilton1, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

We are especially pleased when someone from another country enjoys our place. We call ourselves a European style Bed and Breakfast Guest Houise. We are a simple place that provides a lot of service to those visiting. We are especially sensitive to those from France as it is our sister European city. We also enjoy telling those from other countries... More

Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place has been here for a while now, and you might really like its character, and dig how staying here is really is like living in an old-style hotel you'd find in a big city back in the 30s and 40s. And it won't break the bank if you stay here for seven days. That is a plus for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dhilton1, Owner at St. Charles Guest House, responded to this review

This reviewer talks about what we say to guests. We are for worldwide travelers who are un-pretentious and worldly. They will accept fewer amenities for lower prices and who want things like safety , location and friendly atmosphere. They usually stay a long time and are friendly and the kind of guest that makes life easy for an Innkeeper because... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage St. Charles Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to St. Charles Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Guest House

Address: 1748 Prytania St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
St. Charles Guest House Hotel New Orleans

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St Charles Guest House is a simple, friendly,affordable Guest House(B&B) located in the Nationally Hisotric Garden District of New Orleansjust one block from the St. Charles Streetcar stop #11. Museums, manyrestaurants, pubs, drug and food stores within walking distance. TheGuest House is over 125 years old and has been a lodging facility forover 50 years. Family owned and operated. Pool and patio area withfree wifi and complimentary bakery breakfast in the am by the pool.Economy and for the allocentric traveler. Just 17 blocks to the FrenchQuarter. Catering to international travelers with discounts to students, teachers, first responders and worldly travelers. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added St. Charles Guest House to your Saves list