We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

4.0 of 5 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
#71 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
704 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    271
    115
    42
    31
See reviews for
88
189
19
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (704)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (274)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a good hotel in the heart of New Orleans. Located just on Canal St you can walk three blocks to Bourbon St or you can go the other direction to the river district and the casino. The hotel is approximately 50 floors with great views of the river and the City. Rooms are average to above average, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Justin P, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay with us at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel! We value your experience and look forward to welcoming you the next time you're in the Big Easy! More

Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

But needs attention to detail. One of the key cards didn't work and after activation, the other card was cancelled out. The staff on the front desk needed tips on customer service. Hotel rooms very spacious with lovely views over the river. Take advantage of the green initiative, save $5 if you decide not to have sheets and towels changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Von_Smiles, Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay here at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel. We're happy you were pleased with the location of the hotel and even opted in to our Make A Green Choice Program. Your attention to detail concerns have been noted and will be forwarded on to management.... More

atlanta
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Was able to check in early here after arriving before noon. The rooms are nice and I love that the drink machines take credit cards ( and they are in working order). The restaurant was good, as well. The elevator system is also excellent for such a large hotel---important when you stay on a high floor - the system tells... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Hi dwaNtheATL, Thank you for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel experience! We are so glad you enjoyed the dining in Roux Bistro and were able to take advantage of our newly installed credit card stations on our drink machines. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and invite you back with us every time you're in... More

Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last week as part of a tour group I stayed at this hotel. I was given the key to room 1201 by my tour guide and checked into the room and left my hand luggage in the room and headed off down town. When I came back to the hotel at 8pm a porter was walking around the 12th floor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel A, Front Office Manager at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there Novena B, My please accept my personal apology for the issues you experienced during your stay. I am hoping that you we might be able to speak about the issue in more detail. If you have an opportunity I can be reached at 504-695-6232. Once again we are sorry for your experience during your stay. Warmly, Daniel A. More

Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was the host hotel for a firefighter's conference this week. I have no complaints at all, service was exceptional from the beginning to end of my trip. Take advantage of the "green program" and if you forgo the daily maid service, you get a $5 voucher usable in the hotel. I used mine at the Starbucks downstairs. I only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Hi f220, Thanks so much for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience. We truly value your feedback and appreciate you for opting into our Make A Green Choice program. Just one night of skipping housekeeping services saves over 37 gallons of water! And the $5 voucher doesn't hurt either. Again, thank you and we invite you... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wonderful location on the edge of the French Quarter, minutes from Royal Street, Bourbon Street, and the water front. The French market is also only a 20 minute walk away. Trams on your door step for only $3 a day. The room was large and well equipped but no fridge. Also Wi-Fi was only available in the lobby unless you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham L, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience. We're so pleased you enjoyed our location and our guest rooms. While refrigerators are not in the guestrooms upon entry, we can always gladly add one upon your request. Again, we truly value your feedback and hope to welcome you back every... More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in the Sheraton for a Conference -Close to the French Quarter the Casio and Riverfront - a short walk to Bourbon st etc- You'll needed a cab to get to the convention center or Superdome I liked the lobby bar esp. during the Sunday and Monday night football games- The Buffet for Breakfast was expensive - My room on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ghaziabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its an average hotel situated at a strategic location. A major corporate event was hosted by this hotel during my stay. So, a couple of service delays were experienced which were not expected. Just avoid the rooms near lift else the noise of lift can be irritating and the pressure in shower is too less to enjoy a bath. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CreativeAmit, Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed experience at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel. We truly value your feedback. While we are happy you enjoy our location near the French Quarter and Bourbon Street, we do apologize for the delays in service you experienced while here and assure you that our teams will continue... More

Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a Marriott diehard, I was very surprised and impressed by this Sheraton. I haven't stayed at a Sheraton in years. Clean. Fresh. Well appointed room; 1923. Was here for 2 nights for a conference. Even bid on and won 2 nights at this property to return later in the year -- via an auction offered by our conference organizer.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Radarcessna, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans experience with us. We truly value your feedback and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Just give us a call when you're ready to redeem your room nights and we'll be more than happy to welcome you back with... More

Rochester, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Aside from its location on Canal St., this hotel lacked anything spectacular and memorable. The rooms are cramped and with no room to turn around in. The "Green Choice" housekeeping service is a joke - I know it's a Sheraton-wide initiative and not exclusive to this particular hotel. "Green Choice" is a profit grabbing practice, and provides NO benefit to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittany D, Social Media Specialist at Sheraton New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DrJimmy14612, Thank you for taking the time to share your Sheraton New Orleans Experience. We regret to hear that our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper and room size was not up to your standards, but we truly appreciate you for opting into our Make A Green Choice program. By opting out just one night, you helped us to save 37.2 gallons... More

Do you own or manage Sheraton New Orleans Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheraton New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton New Orleans Hotel

Address: 500 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Sheraton

420 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
4:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Governors' Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
Sheraton Club Double Queen Room (55)
Viewed
Sheraton Club Room (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Sheraton New Orleans Hotel